Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, would definaty stay again!

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Had a great stay at this Hote. Lovely sized room, very clean and the bed was so confortable! Also all staff where very helpful & friendly. Only down side at first glance was I would have loved a breakfast service but due to the position of the hotel there where many other places to chose from so it didn't effect me in the end. Overall I would definatly recommend & stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Tonyh, Hotel Management
Hi Sophie, Many thanks for your review and comments, we will be offering breakfast in the new year when our refurbishment program has been completed. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cumbria

No frills comfortable hotel in a nice town

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: For the price, it did what was needed. This is not a luxury place to stay but a 'stop over' hotel which is pleasant.
Cons: Better internet
Location: Huddersfield is a nice town. Quiet, pleasant and plenty of places to eat and drink in. I enjoy coming here!
Stayed two nights here and enjoyed them both. There's nothing flashy about the hotel or conveniences but it was clean, staff friendly, comfortable and nice. I will stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Hudds Hotel, Hotel Management
Good Morning, Many thanks for your kind review, we are consistently improving our facility's for our guest and we look forward to seeing you again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

worse hotel ever

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Really disappointed, has to be one of the worse places I have ever stayed in. There was no wifi, although they said it was being fixed. Wooden sash window was left open and impossible to close, the glass window that was supposed to slide across was broken. Show unit did not work full as water leaked everywhere, resulting in low water pressure. There was no hot water in the morning to shower. Would never recommend this to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Hudds Hotel, Hotel Management
Good Morning, We are going through a complete refurbishment and can only apologize that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. We have installed a complete new wifi system and replaced the broken windows when it was brought to our attention through out the building. I cant answer the comment regarding water pressure and lack of hot water as this was an anonymous review, but would like to than you for taking the time to comment.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ideal for a night out

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely reception staff and ideal area in the town centre and cheap price! The room wasn't the best condition with scratches all over the walls and badly damaged furniture, but to be fair the bed was comfy and fresh made and clean and the bathroom was clean.
2 out of 5
by Mike

The New Huddesrield Hotel, 27th June 2017

Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was being refurbished which is much needed as it is tired and shabby. Some of the rooms on my floor appeared to be undergoing rewiring and redecoration. I had to climb over one of the workman as I was leaving. The entrance is up steep steps and someone with mobility problems might have difficulty entering. The room was satisfactory though basic. I had to ask for the lights in the bathroom to be fixed. The window had rudimentary double glazing and the outside widow was cracked. It was noisy outside as it is on a bus route used by many buses going into the town centre. The room was very hot though there was a large electric fan on one of the two bedside cabinets. The reception staff were pleasant and helpful. There is no breakfast available at the hotel. There was much noise from the club next door though to be fair it ceased around 11pm. The band had quite a good drummer. The room was clean and tidy though its furniture was jaded. I paid a reduced rate for the night so perhaps I should not complain too much. It is in an excellent location in the centre of Huddersfield. It did feel like the hotel was in transition and perhaps they should not have accepted my booking until the work had been done.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2017
Room was good, rest of décor and facilities left a lot to be desired no breakfast facilities apart from kettle in room
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 9, 2017
Hotel undergoing refurbishment, though no sign of any builders actually doing any work. Mattress was appalling, springs totally shot. No breakfast facilities. Bit of a rabbit warren, wouldn't fancy my chances if there was a fire. Window panes and frames filthy and panes cracked and window unable to be opened.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Hotel Has poential

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: The room i slept in was comfortable and clean. I can only hope that is how tthe hotel will be eventually when it is completely refurbished
Cons: Need to make things a bit more quiet from the clubs outside. They should not be taking money from customers before they can provide proper facilities.
Location: Did not really find any. No decent restaurants that i could find.
To be honest it was not good. The hotel was going through renovations admiittedly, but it was not a nice experience.The lobby was a mess, the approach to the rooms were a mess. There were disco clubs outside which were noisy and rowdy. At times quite scary. There were no breakfast facilities and no hot water in the morning. A real "Faulty Towers"
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Comfortable and cheap good location valueable. Water is not big enough
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very basic

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
had to ask for a different room due to the size wifi was terrible will not stay here ahain