Ratings based on 328 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Getting worse

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pool area was closed (which was not indicated online). Fan in the bathroom broken---room smelled musty. Hotel staff eager for us to check out. Came and knocked a couple different times to see if we were still in the room. Really outdated. I've stayed here 2 or 3 times but it keeps getting worse. I won't stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2017
The staff was extremely nice. The room was comfortable but not very new or updated.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Value and convenient location!

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
Full bar and DJ on property. Excellent front desk staff. Minutes to the National park. Good complimentary breakfast. Clean and comfortable room. Affordable price.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Housekeeping knocked on door three times at 7:45 a.m. to clean room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Pretty Gross

Posted Nov 8, 2016
We arrived late on a Saturday night and were given a smoking room. No efforts had been made to alleviate or lessen the smoke smell, it was like sleeping in an ash tray. We opened the pull out couch and a half smoked cigar and other garbage were on the floor under it. No sheets or blankets were in the room for the pull out. When I went to the front desk I had to wait a few minutes for someone to come out, this happened each time I went to the front desk. I went to the "workout room" in the morning. I had minimal expectations but it was pretty bad. It consisted of a treadmill that wouldn't turn on, a Precor that would not adjust resistance, and a stationary bike that made a banging noise. The water cooler had something plastic floating inside of it. The universal weight machine seemed fine for something that was built in the early 80s. The breakfast buffet was relatively pitiful and they had "Reserved" signs in the restaurant in 2 large areas to keep people out so they didn't have to clean or bus those tables. Take my advice go 5 more minutes up the highway and stay at a much nicer and cleaner hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

On the Decline

Posted Oct 31, 2016
I have stayed at the Clarion several times and it seems that the hotel is going downhill. It is getting dirtier and more run down. My room had musty smell that may have been cigarette smoke, there were stains on the chairs, soap scum on the bathroom counter and the toilet had a smell like it had not been cleaned recently. And I found out on day 2 of my stay that the toilet was not anchored down -- surprise! Upon closer inspection, the tiles under the toilet were missing so either a repair was not completed or it was a shoddy job. In addition, the room did not have a desk, refrigerator or microwave. I spent very little time in the room so let a lot of this go but I did report the toilet situation on day 2 but nothing was done. At breakfast, I had to go find a server to get coffee and she never came and asked me for a refill; in all of my past visits, the servers were very attentive. In the past, this Clarion was good value for the money -- a decent hotel that was relatively cheap. But now it is a rundown hotel that is relatively cheap. I don't think I will return.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
Bed and pillows were terrible the situation was not what I was looking for or expecting.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
I booked a room with a refrigerator and microwave but when I checked in they gave me a room without them. I informed them and they told me that they would move me as they cleaned another room. Six hours later when I went back to the front desk they basically told me that I could go to another hotel if I didn't like it. The staff was very rude to say the least. I asked them to call the manager but they said she would be in in the morning. They eventually did bring the refrigerator at 11:30 pm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Convenient to visit Cuyahoga Valley NP.

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Pool and spa
Location: No restaurants within walking distance. Busy area.
We had 2 rooms. One smoking and one non-smoking. Smoking room was pretty tired but non-smoking room had been nicely updated and was much cleaner. Pool area and spa were nice. Buffet breakfast was disappointing. There was a large function at the facility and we encountered some inebriated guests in hallways.