Ratings based on 145 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

St. Charles Hotel: A Hudson Welcome

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Staying recently at the St. Charles Hotel in Hudson was a treat. I had heard that the hotel was recently updated. I loved it from the moment I arrived. Debbie greeted me as if I was family. The room was spacious and the king size bed beyond comfortable. Continental breakfast was a plus as well. Too, staying at the end of Warren street where the hotel is located was convenient. I felt welcomed here. The ambiance conveys quietness and a laid back feel. I appreciated meeting Sam, the new owner, who is dedicated to making your stay the best possible. Thank you, Sam and staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Warren St. And the best of Hudson.

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Biggest negative was that I had to leave one day early and "because reservations were through Expedia we can't credit you for the early departure".
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Get away

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is an excellent value. Basic accommodation, clean. Helpful staff. Rooms are a good size. Short walk to restaurants and shops.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not again

Posted Feb 10, 2017 on Hotels
The gym was the old bar..... TBH I would have rather it still been a bar and I'm not a drinker! The lack of equipment and it's placement was awful. I've seen home gyms better equipped. I also heard one of the staff being very condescending to a customer on the phone. This really is the only choice to stay at and the only reason I stayed otherwise I would have left. Also the free breakfast was scary! Go to Bobs Diner for your breakfast! It's off of 9.
5 out of 5
by Christopher

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely stay. Debbie was great during check in. Hotel is great value. It is right at the end of the main downtown strip - opposite from the river/amtrak station. Stay here for good value visiting Hudson!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for the town!

Posted Jan 9, 2017
I look Bed the staff and all the help they gave me. The bed was really hard but I had lots of pillows and requested more. I would suggest little trays to help carry the coffee up to our rooms. I will be returning as I will have much business in the area. I cannot say enough GOOD about the front desk staff!
1 out of 5
by taylor

Disgusting

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel was repulsive. Constant smell of urine mold in vents and weird brown marks on most towels that no one could explain when first arriving I smelt the urine and ignored it that night my girlfriend got extremely sick from it so we refused to stay a second night. Because we booked through hotels.com we could not receive any money back and through hotels.com the hotel was 130 if we went through the hotel itself would have been 80 will never go back to this hotel again and hotel.com is terrible will probably never use them again would not recommend this to my worst enemy.
5 out of 5
by Bryan

Affordable option in Hudson

Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Hotels
It's the affordable option in Hudson - that's it. It's an older establishment, it feels like an awesome Super 8 - everything was clean. It's not the hotel you brag about staying at. It's the hotel you stay at and smile that you've got leftover bread for some shopping. If you want luxury and quality, you gotta pay for one of those super cute B&B's at 3x the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany, Ny

Great place to sleep

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Our group stayed in a 2-queen-bed room during the Winter Walk. It was a fair price, and the best value in the area. We only needed a place to store our belongings, park the car on a busy night, and to sleep; the St Charles fit the bill. The hotel appears to have recently remodeled their guest rooms. We had both a microwave and refrigerator. There were plenty of outlets available. I liked the bathroom set up, a sink separate from the toilet/shower, exhaust fan with heat lamp, and great water pressure. Outside of the room, the elevator was quick, there was a breakfast area and a small gym. The lobby looks modern, the hallways don't appear to have gotten the remodel yet, but looked fine. Coffee (really good) was available all day in the lobby. A drug store is a short walk away, as is a gas station if you need something after hours, and you're near plenty of bars and restaurants. I do have to point out that this is not a 5 star luxury hotel, it compares to a Comfort Inn. It's an independent hotel in an old building. If you're a light sleeper you might get woken up if there are kids running around, easily solved by turning the fan on the AC unit. There are much fancier options around the corner if you need more, but they come at a premium. This worked for us, and I'll look to stay here in the future when I visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
The carpet was filthy the rooms with dirty air conditioning heating system Bailey work