Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Nice hostel

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Orbitz
It was near a nice location, Very nice section of the city of Madrid, it was a fantastic stay at this hostel wit no problems. I enjoyed my stay at the hostel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Excelent location. No frills hostel. Clean and coz

Posted Dec 18, 2016
The location is the best. I was within walking distance of everything in my itinerary. Less than 20 minutes walking. The room is clean, has the basic features. If you are looking for a base camp in Madrid, this is it. Staff is great and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nottingham

Short break in Madrid

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Location: Nearby you have Prado museum, navy museum and hard rock cafe is bout five minutes away.
Had a week in Madrid. Just wanted basic accommodation (bed, washing facilities, wifi), this place fit the bill the perfectly. Close to Prado museum, and not far from anywhere else. It's up a side street so not too noisy, I would recommend taking ear plugs tho as it's still in city centre (you can't escape traffic noise). Would stay here again if in Madrid, convenient and well placed. I had a private bathroom, don't do sharing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland, USA

Nice stay

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
The location is perfect. You can walk to almost all attractions. The staff is very friendly. The bathroom is quite small, even by European standards, and the beds are hard. Overall, it was a good stay for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Close to the city centre

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Location Clean Staff
Cons: A redecoration to freshen it up would be ok
Location: Bars, places to eat, shops, bus routes etc - all you need
We had a lovely welcome from the staff. It was a small and basic room but had a reasonable shower, tv, air con and a decent bed. The view was just an internal courtyard but all we needed was a bed and a shower so for our stay it was no problem at all. Happy to go back
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay here if you can't afford a better hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: It has a good location.
The room was small, looked like it was stuck in the 70s, and the bathroom is extra small. I luckily wasn't in my hotel room for the most part. No one speaks English, which wasn't that big of a deal for me, but might be for others.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Great location near art museums

Posted Jul 5, 2016
The hostal is very basic. The room was clean, but spartan. However, we did have our own tiny bathroom. The water was hot, plentiful, and with good water pressure. The staff was very helpful, although one man did not speak any English so having some knowledge of Spanish would be very helpful. Given its great location within walking distance of the Prado, other art museums, and the Plaza del Sol on a fairly quiet street, it was a very good value.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed over the weekend and so knew prices would be higher. However, the a/c didn't have a control and although the staff were helpful in resolving the problem we felt that the room was over priced.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Bare Bones in a Great Location = Don't expect much

Posted May 22, 2016
Pros: Almost perfect location for sight seeing.
Cons: Need better TV - some English stations would be nice and how about some soap for the bathroom ! Also, should not charge for using the in-room safe.
Location: Great location. Easy walk to the major museums and dozens of good restaurants.
This is really a hostel with a private, extremely small bathroom. You have to climb 3, very difficult flights of stairs. Really has almost no sign (Look for El Porto sign) and no lobby. Room needed a good makeover. Not much of a hotel at all but is in a very convenient location for sight seeing. Major museums are just 5 minute walk away. But, beware, you will likely be pretty disappointed about the quality of this hotel, even with the low rates.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent for the price

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Close to main attractions in nice neiGhborhood though not fancy room was clean, quiet and comfortable