Ratings based on 826 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Madrid

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Loved everything about this hotel, room service , doorman and front of house
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2017 by Felipe Turell, General manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback about your recent stay a Hotel Urban, Madrid. It is great to know you appreciated your room and the amenities within. We are also happy to hear you found the service from our team up to your expectation. We will pass on the compliment to them with thanks. We will also convey your special compliment of the doorman to him. We hope you enjoyed the interior decor of our hotel. Unique pieces of great artistic and historical value are hiding around every corner at the Urban, on display in both the hotel’s Papua New Guinea Museum and in each of its rooms and common spaces. We hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back again in the future. Many thanks,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swindon Uk

Great facilities and position to explore Madrid

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Enjoyable family experience where the hotel staff were extremely helpful. Nice small touches add to the excellent facilities
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Felipe Turell, General manager, Hotel Management
Dear Philip, Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Hotel Urban, We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your experience at our 5* Grand Luxe Hotel. Your positive comment about our iconic location near Madrid's Gran Via is gratefully received. Thank you for complimenting our facilities and room comfort. Our team will be rewarded by your kind words about the friendly and attentive service, the extra gestures and finishing touches. I certainly hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. All the best, Felipe Turell, General manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

This hotel is overrated

Posted Jul 26, 2017
I have stayed at the Urban Hotel 3 times before, so I decided to stay there once again. What a bad choice; during my trip in Spain, I stayed at 3 other hotels around the country. The Urban was the most expensive, but the worst in almost every aspect. To start, for the price the room are comical; they are way too small. The service by the pool is lapsed. I went up there a few times and the food took a good 40 mins (for a gazpacho and a sandwich) and the drinks took almost 20 mins. All and all, the staff was not very attentive as I remembered it. The hotel is getting old and it starts looking it. The worst thing is that I left my $1,200 sunglasses in the hotel room and call them from the taxi to let them know. I called them, emailed them as they requested; but surprise surprise, after just a few minutes my sunglasses were gone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017 by Felipe Turell, General manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your time at our Hotel. Your comments are valuable to us, in order to improve what is necessary. We are deeply saddened to read that your stay did not quite meet your expectations. Allow us to clarify: The week you stayed with us, happened to be an incredibly busy one, and coincidentally, all of the hotels in Madrid were fully booked, hence, the reason for the higher rates. On the rooftop Terrace, our team endeavoured to provide the best standard of service that we could, given the large number of guests we've been experiencing. We can only apologise for any inconvenience at the time, and we thank you for your patience. Regarding your sunglasses, as soon as we'd received your call and email, the person in charge headed directly to your room to search for them - however - they were not there. Subsequently, we opened up an investigation in order to prove that nobody had entered your room, following check-out. Of course, should your sunglasses turn up, we shall contact you directly and without hesitation. I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future. My best wishes, Felipe Turell, General manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

excellent location and service

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: the location,
Cons: hooks required in bathrooms. closet doors bash into the bed frame and cannot be opened fully, these should be sliding doors.
Location: very good, easy to get about.
guest relations (Candela) was superb amongst others helping with reservations and suggestions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Felipe Turell, General manager, Hotel Management
Dear Rahul, Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Hotel Urban, We are happy to receive your positive feedback about your experience at our Grand Luxe Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the convenient transport links. Thank you for your kind remark about our prime location just moments away from Madrid’s Gran Vía. We appreciate your suggestion about the hooks in the bathroom. All our bathrooms are equipped with towel rails for your convenience. We have taken your comment about the closet on board. It's kind of you to remark on the excellent service your received. Candela will be thrilled to hear that you benefited from her advice. We certainly hope we have the pleasure of seeing you in the future. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Sleek hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: The rooftop and the design.
Cons: More equipment in room - coffee machine, etc. The light system is confusing. The shower design is a bit inconvenient. The gym is too small.
A well located hotel with top-notch staff. The pool is not big, and too cold even on warm days, but it's a fun, nice space. For a hotel of that ratings, some of the facilities are lackluster: The gym is tiny and under-equipped. the restaurant closes for big chunks of the day. The things it has going for are its location and the amazing rooftop.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Felipe Turell, General manager, Hotel Management
Dear Eddie, Please accept our gratitude for your very precise feedback about your experience with Urban hotel. Indeed, we take pride in our location within the heart of Madrid, just minutes from the Puerta del Sol and the historic Madrid de los Austrias. It is a real pleasure to see your admiration of our rooftop terrace, and we thank you, kindly, for your compliments of our team. We are delighted to be of service. Just to clarify, we actually provide coffee facilities in our suites - we would be happy to upgrade, should you wish to stay with us, again. The swimming pool is 6 x 3m. As we are a boutique hotel, situated right in the middle of Madrid, our gym is relatively small, however, we do hope that you were able to make full use of our fitness facilities and enjoy your time, here, regardless. I really do look forward to the pleasure of seeing you in the near future! Sincerely,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient location

Posted Jun 3, 2017
The rooms are too small to be rated 5 star. I would definitely stay at a different hotel if i went back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Wonderful hotel

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Fabulous staff, best location for Old Twon, the Prada, within easy walking distance of Plaza Mayor! Rooftop POOL!!! Rooftop bar, chic interiors - lovely staff, great service. Unbelievable art throughout- even in your room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Elegant, modern, fantastic location

Posted May 7, 2017
Staff very helpful with restaurant advice and recommendations. Great modern design with artworks throughout.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

5Stars

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice stay. Great hotel. AC Unit in my room needs servicing cause it made a lot of noise.
5 out of 5
by Izhak

Great location

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel in the best location. Try to avoid room 548 since it's can be noisy sometimes (rooftop kitchen is attached)