Ratings based on 221 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Average hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Average hotel with nothing outstanding.
Cons: Doors! Staff could communicate more with customers.
Location: Plenty places to visit and location of hotel excellent.
Evening menu could be better with a greater choice, breakfast was good with all the normal choices. Room door needs to be improved,had to pull the door hard to ensure closed, hence noise disturbing others.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hard to find

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Cons: Reception staff could be more welcoming and cheerful
Our sat nav took us to a old entrance that is now closed off.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Crowthorne, Berkshire

Good location

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: It's location, the building itself, the food and the nice quiet and bright bedroom. The corridors are also lovely and quiet due to the thick carpets
Cons: Wardrobe space was minimal. OK for a business person staying 1 or 2 nights but for a couple staying four nights, as we were, there was not enough.
We stayed in the hotel as we were visiting elderly relatives in Anlaby, so the location suited us well. Our bedroom was nice and bright, quiet and overlooked the garden. The restaurant food was good, both breakfasts and dinners. Only complaints were having to wait quite a time to be seated in the restaurant, especially at breakfast time and we were not offered porridge on any of the four days we were there and only found out we could have it when I overheard someone else asking for it. Apart from that we had a very successful stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2017
We were looking for somewhere to stay as or house had lots of water damage, this was a local hotel. The staff were very helpfull, the rooms were spotless and very comfortable. We wold recommend this to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Good experience

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Convenient for Hull and Beverley
Cons: Reduce the price of drinks over the bar. Very expensive. £3-00 for a small portion of mixed nuts was a bit OTT as well
Location: Convenient for Hull and beverley
Great that we were given an upgrade to an executive suite in the quiet part of the hotel by the receptionist because we may have been disturbed during the night by guests who were attending a wedding reception. Very thoughtful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wirral

Very convenient for Hull

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Cons: Staircase Banistesr are sticky to touch
Location: Near to Hull and Beverley
General impressions good A few details could be improved Some of the Staff could improve with training.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the city of Hull

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Ebookers
Stayed one night as visiting relatives. Lovely room. Spotlessly clean. Enormous comfortable bed, and tasteful decor.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Paul

Needs investment.

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
I had room 11. Meant to be one of Mercure's "Privilege" rooms; it had a very large footprint, which was nice. However, the bathroom was very small, the TV was attached to the wall while the sofa to sit on was in the window, approximately 45degrees on to the TV. It made viewing a unique experience. The desk space was tiny (could barely fit my laptop on it, let alone work at it!) and then the clothes-hanging provision couldn't even hang a pair of trousers without them bunching on the bottom. The bed was very comfortable and I slept very well on it. The room just felt utterly disjointed and like they had more space than they knew what to do with. Bathroom looks like something from the 1980s. The gym is in desperate need of renovation. It was exceedingly hot (around 26-27degC) on the Monday when I arrived, and the only AC in the gym was a small fan. This made doing any sort of strenuous activity very unpleasant. Equipment was also very old and not very well maintained (Rowing machine was approximately 15 years old). Room service; I'm on a strange diet and they dealt with my request very well. Service was prompt and the staff member who brought my food was very polite and friendly. Breakfast; stood waiting for a member of staff to tick me off the list for about 5 minutes, at which point I decided to just serve myself. Cooked breakfast was fine - better quality sausages would be nice! Pastries were in desperate need of improvement. Lovely gardens.
4 out of 5
by luke

would stay again

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly staff, lovely hotel ģreat service, would stay again. Rooms great and beds comfy, very clean. Breakfast was very tasty and lots of it