Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Gorgeous hotel. Very spacious and comfortable.

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Comfort
Cons: Nothing. We would definitely stay there again.
Location: Stonehenge is an easy, and very senic 35-40 minute drive.
We had a wonderful one night stay here. Our room was extremely spacious and comfortable. The beds and pillows were lovely and soft. The room and bathroom were stylishly decorated and extremely clean. The shower was spacious and had good pressure. The complementary breakfast was extremely generous and offered a huge range with large serving sizes. The pub meals in the evening were well priced and a great size. We really enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kempen

Nice cosy hotel in pretty little town

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Rooms are quite big, nice family - room. Only floor- tiles in bathroom were loose. All over recommendable!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Good town centre with parking

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Overall good. Our evening meal was good but we were a little disappointed with some aspects of the breakfast. Porridge was treated as a main course. We were unable to have porridge and kippers although obviously we could take from a selection of cereals etc and then have kippers.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Good looking hotel in the middle of the town

Posted Jun 1, 2016
The staff all very pleasant but seemed to lack training. Lots of mistakes, like taking our dinner order and forgetting it for the next 50 minutes. However, they did give a good discount on the meal bill! We asked for a quiet room when booking some months before, and were disappointed in being given one overlooking the busy main road. However, they did change it to a pleasantly quiet one. Comfy king-sized bed with good linen. Nice garden and outdoor bar area
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Comfortable and welcoming

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Pros: Our room (39) had a lovely garden view, also overlooking the river. The downstairs lounge area, and choice of bar or restaurant to eat in.
Cons: The TV remote was intermittently faulty. A box of tissues for guest use would have been a nice touch.
Location: Hotel excellently placed for the town centre. Plenty of antiques and vintage shops, and a lovely little teashop by the bridge.
An enjoyable two night stay. The room was very comfortable and well appointed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A friendly and welcoming hotel.

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Pros: It felt relaxed and personally I felt totally secure.
Cons: Unfortunately I had room 14, which is the above a wine cellar cooler.The fan noise was intrusive but I was found another beautiful room very quickly.
Location: Hungerford abounds in antique shops. Watermeadows and dedicated walks along the Dun and Kennet Canal together with wildlife sanctuary are 2 mins.
A very good experience. The staff were very professional and eager to assist. The food was excellent and served with a smile. The atmosphere in the bar and restaurant was warm and welcoming, no loud music - just a gentle murmur of happy clientele enjoying time out. An extremely relaxing environment I would willingly return to.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great price for hotel

Posted Dec 20, 2015
Daughter in law stayed and was very impressed with family room that included breakfast in price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newbury


Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: The location is lovely and the main building (bar and restaurant) has a lot of character and charm.
Cons: The rooms in the outbuildings need more sound insulation. Breakfast service
Location: If you like antiques and old fashioned English market towns, you'll love it.
The noise through the ceiling from the room from above (child screaming at 01.30, stomping feet, heavy footsteps back and forth for hours) did not allow a good night's sleep. Breakfast took 50 minutes to arrive once we had ordered, and was almost cold.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2015
Beds very hard. Carpets stained. Noisy as next to road.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Folkestone

Very pleasant

Posted Apr 6, 2015
My wife and I had a very nice time at the Bear very comfortable and helpful and pleasant staff thank you all