Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Isle of Man

Great location

Posted May 28, 2017
Nice comfortable hotel with friendly staff. Well situated for exploring the coast and country of Norfolk. Beautiful garden area for eating outside and excellent menu with great food. The choice at breakfast is extensive and well cooked . Plenty of safe parking.
5 out of 5
by Richard from Oxfordshire

comfortable and friendly country hotel

Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
Really enjoyed this friendly hotel. Great staff. Good breakfast. Pleasant room. Would suggest more shampoo etc in bathroom as we were only given one small bottle between 2 people for 2 nights.
5 out of 5
by Alan

Charming, unspoilt pub/hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
Truly excellent place to stay to visit many of Norfolk's attractions. Nearby is Sandringham House, The Thursford Collection, Wolferton Station, Kings Lynn and Hunstanton
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2016
My only complaint was it was very quiet in the bar. My kind of hotel would have a pool table, music and a younger clientele. Horses for courses. It's an excellent hotel for a quiet person.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Splendid Inn

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent room good restaurant with wide choice - convenient location for major birdwatching sites as golf courses
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gt Yarmouth

A Special Anniversary Treat

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: The friendly atmosphere combined with real professionalism.
Cons: I can't think of anything!
Location: We visited: Castle Acre, Castle Rising, the beaches, Houghton Hall (We spent a good 3 hours here), Norfolk Lavender and Ringstead Stores. More to do..
We stayed two nights and used the hotel as a base to explore North Norfolk. The hotel is ideally situated to visit many of the attractions. The hotel itself appears to have been recently refurbished and everywhere, including the garden, was immaculately clean and tidy. The staff were all very friendly and the host made a point of meeting all the guests over dinner and/or breakfast. The food was not cheap, but it was delicious and the service was efficient, even when the restaurant was busy. We had the impression that the entire staff were proud to work there and eager to make their guests' stay comfortable and pleasant.There is ample parking and the furnishings and facilities in the room were a touch of luxury. We chose a superior room which, though not particularly big, was tastefully decorated and supplied with everything we needed.
5 out of 5
by Jessica

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was lovely, food really good, staff very friendly. Was great place to take our puppy and very helpful for us to take her and eat in the bar rather than the restaurant which was lovely. Only down side was our room being very very hot so I would ask to be in a different room if we went back. Overall lovely place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely hotel, location etc etc

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Cons: remove carpet from bathrooms
Easy to find, great location, close to lots of attractions
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice country pub and accommodation

Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
Its the second time we have stayed here, ten minutes from the beach, great restaurant for dinner, we will no doubt stay again next year. We also found it nice that the owner greeted us in the morning by name and made us feel like we weren't just another number.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quick but nice

Posted May 21, 2016 on Hotels
Overnight business stay. Had evening meal and local beer all very nice. Quick service quality food, all good. Didn't stay for breakfast though had to go to work! Nice room, quiet and every thing you needed.No problem returning there if in the area!