Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff and facilities

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Just a great base for the surrounding wineries etc. Would be great for a group
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well established B&B

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast offering could be improved.
Location: Very central to Pokolbin wineries
The location was very pleasant in a garden/vineyard environment. The building, consisting of around 8 bedrooms separate from reception was well established and in good condition. Verandah area was common to all rooms with little opportunity for outdoor privacy. Breakfast is brought to your room. It was cereal, rolls and muffins which is fine, but a cooked breakfast was expected, given the price. WiFi not available in the rooms - another disappointment. Overall, the impression is of a place which has changed little over many years and is being overtaken by more modern establishments.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from central coast NSW

Wine country oasis

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Beautiful grounds,gorgeous country styled room featuring open log fire place, spacious and very comfortable. Peaceful hidden getaway. We loved it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Stockholm

Worth a detour

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Very nice, personal small B&B type hotel, personal touch, beautifully renovated. The Carriages has its own small vineyard with high quality wine. We recommend dinner at the Roberts 1876 restaurant next door, best dinner we have had in a long time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very cosy place

Posted Nov 3, 2014
We had a lovely time in this small vineyard with a lovely room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by G from Terrigal

Definitely going again !

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: The leg on the chair on the veranda is broken and need fixing so you don't feel like it is going to give way - just outside room 6.
Location: All fantastic
From the minute we turned up we felt like we had left our busy lives behind. The music playing in the back ground as we strolled towards the reception area and looked across the sun drenched vineyards - Wow ! Reception were extremely welcoming and informative about the facilities but also the local area. FREE wine tasting on arrival was a very nice get into the mood idea too. The super breakfast basket that appears at your door around 8 am is sensational. Then eating on the veranda at you own unwinding pace to sound of NOTHING AT ALL was just the best. This place is located in just the best little hide away ever yet so close to everything the Hunter has to offer. If you want to relax and unwind and forget the world and eat beautiful food and drink lovely wine and do it all over again and become refreshed like you wouldn't believe then just get there . :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rachel from Sydney

Great weekend at Carriages.

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: Room comfort & cleanliness Privacy Scenery Location
Location: A short walk to Peppers Winery, Roberts Restaurant, Kevin Sobel Winery and the local markets. Blaxland Inn, Tempus Two & Hope Estate nearby.
Carriages is a lovely little hotel that is perfectly located in the Hunter. We stayed here whilst visiting on a concert weekend and found that it was very conveniently located for events at the Hope Estate, and is about a half hour stroll to the venue through beautiful scenery. We stayed in a Verandah Room which was clean and comfortable, with a nice view of the gardens and dam. Would definitely recommend to anyone planning a trip to the Hunter, especially for an event at the Hope Estate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Peaceful, beautiful but a bit isolated

Posted Jan 18, 2014
Pros: Peaceful, in a beautiful spot in the vineyard, great verandah and lovely breakfast. Very relaxing.
Cons: No wifi apart from reception. Bathroom in need of refurb, leaking taps and old.
Location: Wine tours (book in advance). Quite isolated location with limited eating options and no transport if you have been drinking wine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Christine from London, UK, now Sydney

Beautiful place amongst the vineyards

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Pros: Secluded, nice country feel. Log fire in the room. Amazing nature surrounding it.
Cons: Leave it as it is.
Location: Vineyards, Robert's restaurant, wine tours, hot air balloons
Lovely, secluded , small hotel. Vineyards only a couple of minutes from your room. We stayed for 3 nights but could have easily stayed longer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by cathy from Belleville Canada

Beautiful, serene setting

Posted Sep 14, 2013
Location: Wonderful location near wineries and restaurants. We had outstanding meals at the Cellar, Muse, the Verandah and Robert's.
Really lovely break from the madness of everyday life. There are birds everywhere and their calls fill the air. Staying at Carriages is like visiting friends in the country. Breakfast on the parch in the morning is a real treat.