Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and clean

Posted Oct 16, 2017
We stayed with our 9 year old son for two nights. The staff was very friendly and the room was very clean and newly remodeled. The ONLY downers were there is no elevator (we were on the 3rd floor) so trekking our luggage and stuff up the stairs was difficult, and the parking is limited... but it’s free so I won’t complain to much!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Heart of Sunset Beach

Posted Sep 22, 2017
recently remodeled, im guessing new staff. very nice and accomodating. across the street from Sunset tower 22. beautiful ...the old Surfside area. plenty of restaurants...surf shops..diners and coffee shops. i will be back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Very good and solid stay for a very good price

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: The value.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Close to Long Beach with many things to do.
Can't beat the price, comfort and location. I stayed at a Sheraton in Los Angeles for more and Surf City was just as comfortable for less.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Blackfoot ID

Loved staying here

Posted Sep 21, 2017
My family loved staying here (myself, my wife and our 3 and 4 year olds). The facilities were nice, the staff was amazing and very attentive, and the location was amazing. It was very close to the beach and several good restaurants. The rooms have all been recently renovated so any reviews you read that are older than a few months old are not accurate. There are several thing to do in the area. Huntington Beach and Long Beach are close by and you can get to Sunset Beach on foot or in a 2-3 minute drive. I would absolutely recommend this hotel, and if we return to the area we will stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2017
The room was really clean! Front guy was AMAZING! Everyone was super friendly and helpful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from reno, nv

Great location, safe, very clean

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Recently renovated, super comfy beds, office staff keeps extra close eye on everything with cameras monitoring all who enter making you feel safe and your car is within eye distance of them which is a plus. Color scheme is gray and sea blue, very relaxing and pleasing, staff very helpful, rooms good size with all needed amenities and very clean. Walking distance to many restaurants and beach, easy to find, would highly recommend this place!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Excellent staff!

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: View, cleanliness, staff, location
Cons: They said they are getting an elevator, but we were happy to have the exercise!
Location: Sunset Beach, Don The Beachcomber, Pelican Isle, Taco Surf
Ana was a wonderful hostess at the Surf City Hotel! She was super friendly and helpful every time we spoke with her. The staff was happy and smiling at all times. The location is perfect to walk to Sunset beach, Don the BeachComber, Taco Surf, Pelican Isle and more! Great, clean, newly remodeled. We will definitely be going back.
4 out of 5
by Brian

Good stay. Door doesn't work

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
The stay was very good. The room had new furniture and felt fresh from a renovation. The bathroom was very nice. There's a mini fridge and microwave for snack and leftovers. It's really close to great parts of the city, including Seal Beach. I'll definitely be going back for a Disneyland trip. Only con: the door would not lock probably unless someone pulls the door from the outside. So when we slept that night, it felt odd not having a secure door.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Deb, Hotel Management
I am sorry you felt unsecure while you were here. We have fixed a couple of the doors since you were here so hopefully that has solved that kind of a problem. We look forward to you coming back.
5 out of 5
by sophia

Soothing stay

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful colors in the room , rainshower in the tub and super comfortable bed. Who could ask for more
5 out of 5
by Daren

thumbs up

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
Great clean place and awesome location.