Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlottesville Va

A gem of American History

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: Dinner. Approach to castle. Nearby attractions. Breakfast.
Stunning castle. As beautiful as some castles in Bordeaux. Manicured gardens. Beautiful gardens. Bedroom was lovely. Food in the restaurant was superior. Breakfast was delicious and elegant and the waiter was the best! Thank you to the staff who made our stay memorable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Dinner was fantastic
Cons: Breakfast room was a bit chaotic; Room was a bit basic in terms of amenities.
Nice location; hotel service maturing - feels like hotel staff haven't really worked in hospitality industry before
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Historic Property.

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Cons: Those accustom to the services / staff of a high end hotel maybe disappointed.
Chance to live in the home of one of the most wealthy families of the gilded age. A magnificent property and unbelievable restoration. Definitively take the tour which is always available to hotel guests. Our guide, Laura provided a great deal of information in a relaxed, unhurried manner. The location is excellent for visiting other historic properties is the area. Discount tickets may be available via the front desk. The hotel has a highly rated restaurant; however, there are many other good establishments nearby in various price ranges. The only minor negative was the bed was not as firm as I like.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what it's cracked up to be

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice hotel, but it should be "issue free" for what they charge per night. The room was very nice and spacious. The bathroom was updated and large as well. However, you cannot adjust the room temperature nor can you open the windows. It was very stuffy and we felt that maybe it would improve. After 45 minutes we called the front desk and told them the problem. They said they would send somebody to look at it. After an hour we left for dinner and still nobody. We told the front desk again, they said they would take care of it while we were out. That night my wife and I slept on and off in a stuffy warm room. When I checked out they asked about our stay and I told them again. They said "Sorry there must have been an issue with the air in that room." And that was it. So that with a terrible wifi signal that we also asked about will keep us from returning or referring. It's a shame because it is such a unique place.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long island, NY

A night in a Castle

Posted Aug 30, 2016
From the moment we stepped out of the car we felt like royalty. There's valet parking as soon as you drive in. There's even a red carpet ( that could've been for the wedding taking place). Although it took a while to check in and get our room keys, there was no one at the front desk, we used that time to check out the lobby area. The staircase is truly beautiful (it had been decorated with flowers for the wedding). We enjoyed taking pictures on it. The room was beautiful, what you would expect from a room in a castle. We got the standard room and it was enough for both of us. We were provided with plenty of towels and very thick bathrobes. When we came back from dinner, we didn't eat there, the temperature was adjusted and the bed was arranged for sleeping. They even put the complimentary water bottles on the bedside tables. The night wasn't that quiet due to the wedding. We were facing the valet area and could hear the drunk guests leaving the wedding (we were on the 4th floor). But after taking a bath, with the provided toiletries, we went to sleep on the softest pillow top bed. A little too soft for my boyfriend but perfect of me. The next day we woke up and got ready for the complimentary breakfast. It was nothing fancy. Some toast, bagels, granola and cereal, Danishes and muffins, and different types of juices and teas. They prepared a table for us. Later we found out we could order hot food but we were happy with the small stuff. Later we walked the gardens
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A night in a real mansion

Posted Aug 17, 2016
We enjoyed our one night stay in a lovely mansion in a spectacular setting.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Oheka stay

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
A luxurious night for a luxurious place
5 out of 5
by Tammy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 13, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Bill from Merrick, NY

Good experience - Oheka Castle

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
The Castle was impressive and everyone should certainly spend an night there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SoCal

Lovely setting for a historic property.

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Oheka castle is a unique property with a lot of history that becomes more apparent as you wander around. One of the jewels of the Long Island Gold Coast, it is much like Hearst castle in California - except that you can actually stay there. Gary, the owner, has invested significant money in restoring the property to its original grandeur - and he is not yet finished but it is still a beauty to behold, not unlike Skibo Castle in Scotland. An interesting aside is this is a residence in that Gary actually lives on the property and takes an interest in ensuring your stay is memorable. The adjacent country club is available to guests and is a very nice course - and a fair test for any level of player if you play the appropriate tees. While this is a castle with a glamorous past there is no requirement for formal wear - business casual is just fine for dinner etc. Many locals frequent the hotel's restaurant for lunch and dinner as it's a very nice spot to do either. Come to think of it, "Let's meet at the castle" has a nice ring to it...