Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F

Romantic castle overnight stay

Posted Jan 7, 2017
It was my husbands birthday and wanted to do something different. We started.with a romantic dinner. The staff was friendly and helpful. The food was better than anything I have ever tasted. After dinner we took our wine and relaxed in the elegant library. As we visited we took in all the beautiful architecture. The entire castle was brought back into the magnificence it once was. Our room and the castle with beautiful furniture. I recommend a weekday stay so you can feel the privacy of the castle without a wedding taking place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlottesville Va

A gem of American History

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: Dinner. Approach to castle. Nearby attractions. Breakfast.
Stunning castle. As beautiful as some castles in Bordeaux. Manicured gardens. Beautiful gardens. Bedroom was lovely. Food in the restaurant was superior. Breakfast was delicious and elegant and the waiter was the best! Thank you to the staff who made our stay memorable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Dinner was fantastic
Cons: Breakfast room was a bit chaotic; Room was a bit basic in terms of amenities.
Nice location; hotel service maturing - feels like hotel staff haven't really worked in hospitality industry before
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Historic Property.

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Cons: Those accustom to the services / staff of a high end hotel maybe disappointed.
Chance to live in the home of one of the most wealthy families of the gilded age. A magnificent property and unbelievable restoration. Definitively take the tour which is always available to hotel guests. Our guide, Laura provided a great deal of information in a relaxed, unhurried manner. The location is excellent for visiting other historic properties is the area. Discount tickets may be available via the front desk. The hotel has a highly rated restaurant; however, there are many other good establishments nearby in various price ranges. The only minor negative was the bed was not as firm as I like.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long island, NY

A night in a Castle

Posted Aug 30, 2016
From the moment we stepped out of the car we felt like royalty. There's valet parking as soon as you drive in. There's even a red carpet ( that could've been for the wedding taking place). Although it took a while to check in and get our room keys, there was no one at the front desk, we used that time to check out the lobby area. The staircase is truly beautiful (it had been decorated with flowers for the wedding). We enjoyed taking pictures on it. The room was beautiful, what you would expect from a room in a castle. We got the standard room and it was enough for both of us. We were provided with plenty of towels and very thick bathrobes. When we came back from dinner, we didn't eat there, the temperature was adjusted and the bed was arranged for sleeping. They even put the complimentary water bottles on the bedside tables. The night wasn't that quiet due to the wedding. We were facing the valet area and could hear the drunk guests leaving the wedding (we were on the 4th floor). But after taking a bath, with the provided toiletries, we went to sleep on the softest pillow top bed. A little too soft for my boyfriend but perfect of me. The next day we woke up and got ready for the complimentary breakfast. It was nothing fancy. Some toast, bagels, granola and cereal, Danishes and muffins, and different types of juices and teas. They prepared a table for us. Later we found out we could order hot food but we were happy with the small stuff. Later we walked the gardens
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A night in a real mansion

Posted Aug 17, 2016
We enjoyed our one night stay in a lovely mansion in a spectacular setting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SoCal

Lovely setting for a historic property.

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Oheka castle is a unique property with a lot of history that becomes more apparent as you wander around. One of the jewels of the Long Island Gold Coast, it is much like Hearst castle in California - except that you can actually stay there. Gary, the owner, has invested significant money in restoring the property to its original grandeur - and he is not yet finished but it is still a beauty to behold, not unlike Skibo Castle in Scotland. An interesting aside is this is a residence in that Gary actually lives on the property and takes an interest in ensuring your stay is memorable. The adjacent country club is available to guests and is a very nice course - and a fair test for any level of player if you play the appropriate tees. While this is a castle with a glamorous past there is no requirement for formal wear - business casual is just fine for dinner etc. Many locals frequent the hotel's restaurant for lunch and dinner as it's a very nice spot to do either. Come to think of it, "Let's meet at the castle" has a nice ring to it...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Oyster Bay

Posted Apr 2, 2016
Pros: Great food and ameneties.
Cons: Carpet in room was worn, minor matter.
Location: Close to Teddy Roosevelt's home and Bridgeport Ferry.
Fairy tale castle with everything big and interesting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with quite a history

Posted Sep 15, 2015
We had a lovely stay the staff were great and very friendly...and couldn't do enough to make our stay memorable. All areas of the hotel were very clean and welcoming...would visit again,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2015
It was nice. After the tour and dinner it reminded me of an antique b&b. More activities for over night guest would be good. But it was beautiful. It is a Castle. Good for relaxing.