Ratings based on 231 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2018
We had a lot of fun. The parking should have been in a covered area. Hotel needs to be updated. Could have been a little cleaner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2018 by Therese H, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. We are getting ready to start renovations throughout the hotel and in the meantime will be addressing the issues that you mentioned
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from west virginia

$50 value at a $90 price

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Very old building, run down, lacked basic cleanliness. Plumbing was noisy and had some issues. I would argue you’d be better off staying at a 2 star hotel with decent reviews rather than this.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2018 by Therese H, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. The hotel is getting ready to go through a major renovation and in the meantime we are addressing the issues that you mentioned
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Due for a major renovation,

Posted Jan 13, 2018
No parking, had topark in Street,keys did not work and had to be changed 3 times, old hotel really needs renovation, one elevator out of service, river view is not really river view on 6th floor, room was 41 degrees when we entered, heat was off, no restaurant open in the hotel. Just really old and would not recommend it until take over but Hilton hotels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2018 by Therese H, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. We are addressing the issues that you mentioned and are excited by the upcoming renovations
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Disappointing hotel. Very nice staff.

Posted Jan 12, 2018
This hotel needs to be put out of its misery. Common areas not clean. Everywhere has way too much delayed maintenance. Hotel is sub leasing rooms to a sleep clinic, social security office, etc. If you're just in town to meet old fraternity brothers for a game and place to pass out after the party...this is your place! Free breakfast in the dining room: The coffee was good, food was fair, the floor was disgusting around the food area, and we were the first people there that morning. Come on people....vaccum the floor more than once/ week! NEVER AGAIN!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2018 by Front desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review . We are addressing the issues that you mentioned . The hotel will be undergoing a major renovation this year
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbus, Ohio

Living on their laurels

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Pros: it met our needs
Cons: The clerk stated that they were in a state of remodeling and becoming a major chain hotel, can't remember which one. THANK GOODNESS IT NEEDED IT.
Location: Downtown Huntington aprox 10 blocks from Marshall University and all University activities. We were there for a family activity.
This hotel in downtown Huntington was once a destination location, but not any more. Hopefully when it is remodeled and updated, it will be so again. The room was adequate and clean, bed comfortable and TV worked. The breakfast buffet was good and included in the price. The staff, front desk and restaurant, was very friendly and accommodating. There were no amenities but all we were looking for was a good night sleep close to our activity. I did choose the hotel for the price and location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review - we appreciate your comments. We are excited about the changes that are happening and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location close to downtown

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Very nice location, very friendly staff and quite comfortable room
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Therese H, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 star review of your most recent stay at the Pullman Plaza Hotel. We truly appreciate it, and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Therese H General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bluefield,WV

Nice

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Great place to stay. Staff was really nice and helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 star review , we appreciate the kind words.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Could use a remodel, everything just felt old and outdated. Otherwise, beds were comfortable, room was clean, definitely worth the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Therese H, Hotel Management
thank you for the review. We are excited about 2018. Our renovations will begin and by years end we will be a Double Tree by Hilton
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from memphis, Indiana

Close to downtown activities

Posted Nov 26, 2017
We have stayed twice in the last year. Both times the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Love the location, being in the heart of downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by Therese , Hotel Management
Thank you for the review - we appreciate the kind words.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atl Ga

needs Update IMMEDIATELY

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Maybe it’s a bad review because the staff stated that they will be doing a complete renovation starting in December. But, the only positive from this was the hotel staff. Everything in and about the hotel was out dated. The carpets were bubbling everywhere One elevator working, and was a scary one I may say. My room .. i slept in it.. the bathroom was clean, the room was uncomfortable. I can’t wait for the updated version to begin and end, I will revisit. It’s in a Great location!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by Therese, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we appreciate your comments and are very excited about the renovations that will be starting soon. The hotel is definitely in need of a major makeover. Renovation is due to be close to completion Oct 2018