Ratings based on 611 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to Huntington

Posted Oct 23, 2017
A little noisy as it's on Jericho Tpk. Check out time a little early!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Slippery slimy floors.

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff.
Cons: Location and cleanliness.
The bathroom tile floor was slippery, and the carpet in the room was slimy. On a very busy room with poor access.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Lower priced option with somewhat good ratings

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Cons: Personnel at the hotel could smile and greet you like a guest, not a nuisance that is distracting them from some other task.
We were put off by the overall age of the buildings although the room was clean and we were off the main highway so it was quiet. Facility is an old style roadside motel with parking in front of your room. Small room with window air conditioner that sort of worked. The second night we returned to find they had not cleaned our room, changed sheets or touched the bathroom or our pile of wet towels. "An oversight by housekeeping as the room next door had a Do Not Disturb sign on it." Not an acceptable excuse but the next day they did clean as expected. Breakfast was disappointing as well: breads to toast, cold cereal, no fruit or juices, an old coffee dispenser that made a cup to order. Also don't be surprised by the taxes in this location, approx. 30% of the room charge added on.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from hyde park, ny

Do Not Let the Site Fool You

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness, comfortable bed, and convenience
Cons: Front office sign in system, which took some time and the person on call was more excited about her shift ending than her customers.
Location: Right on the highway, near Melville and shopping, as well as Huntington. Historical sites nearby.
At first glance along Jerico Turnpike, it might appear that the Whitman is a bit rundown. Do not let it fool you. Drsive to the rear office entrance and you will be reaffirmed that you have chosen correctly. It is quaint and not overly impressive, but the rooms are very comfortable and the conditions of the rooms are more than satisfactory. Most of the staff is geared to providing excellent service, while the sign in system may leave a bit to be desired. It does serve its purpose of providing accommodations that are convenient and clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel but on a very busy street.

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: It was cheap by comparison to others.
Cons: Get rid of styrofoam in the dining area.
While this hotel was ok and the staff was ,in most instances, helpful you would not know that it is located on a very busy street from the website. We had a room on the back side of the first building thank goodness. The room while small was reasonably appointed and clean. However if I had known that it is on a very busy street I would not have stayed. Also in this day and age of trying to use recyclable products the use of styrofoam cups and dishes at the continental breakfast seems all wrong. I realize it is done to save money but at what price? I guess you get what you pay for. So having said all this.....if you want a reasonable hotel and state that you want a room on the back side of the hotel .....then it is the place for you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN.

Clean and decent rates.

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: It’s clean and good rates.
Cons: Customer service. Better Wifi.
Location: Great location. Tons of restaurants in the area as well as the mall. Go to downtown Huntington. It’s cool.
I picked this hotel since it is near my sister’s house. I had stayed there once before and felt the room rates were reasonable and the rooms were clean and well kept. When I got into the room and went to wash my hands in the bathroom I noticed the sink filling up with water and taking a long time to drain. My wife then noticed a leak under the sink in the cabinet below it. She put a towel around the pipe to keep the water from leaking out. I called the front desk and told the man there about it. This was a Wednesday and he said that the plumber wasn’t coming until Friday. Fast forward to Friday and nobody came to fix it. We were checking out Saturday anyway. Since it wasn’t leaking on the floor I didn’t make a big deal and demand another room but I thought that was bad service on their part. Also their WiFi stinks. We kept getting sporadic service and gave up a number of times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long island ny

nice.rooms love the bathroom with step in shower.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
we had a nice time nice rooms and staff. we stay in hotels everyweekend due to husbands job being on road. we would love to stay here alot but we only can when price is under 100.00 per nite
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Friendly staff and comfortable room. Good continental breakfast. Very enjoyable stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winthrop Harbor, IL

Convenient location on the Jericho Turnpike.

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: Larger parking area needed because there isn't enough room to back out of your parking stalls.
Good location as long as you aren't the other side which is right on the Jericho Turnpike. Would fear for my life if someone jumped the curb while on Jericho Turnpike. Had to switch rooms because the other wall air conditioner wasn't adequately/ cooling/blowing. Room is a little on the small side
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Andy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your response
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best when all you need is a good place to sleep.

Posted Jul 27, 2017
This facility provides a basic, quality hotel room. It's not a resort. No frills, and spoiled travelers might consider the place as "sparse". Staff was very accommodating and engaging. Parking is a little tight, and you can't park directly outside every room. No complaints, though. We checked out one of the suites, and would consider upgrading for the additional space, for a return visit to this area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Andy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate your busness