Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Secret

Excellent

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: everything was good or very good
Location: No real knowledge of the locale.
Comfortable hotel Good bar food (never tried the restaurant) Friendly and helpful staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Cons: Some proper decaf coffee in the bar rather than instant
Warmly greeted, got an upgraded room which was a good size, well decorated and warm Breakfast was very good and included in the price Staff very friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Great weekend, friendly owners and staff, lovely ambience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wolverhampton

Majestic country house with splendid views.

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Welcoming, friendly, old world comfort. Wonderful spacious room and bathroom with splendid grand view down the driveway towards the castle. Very Scotland, even saw a red squirrel rummaging around in the fallen leaves, while eating breakfast!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Room for improvement

Posted Nov 23, 2016
They don't seem used to online bookings. Receptionist declined my credit card on arrival, then had to phone me after I left for the card details. I was told I could get a continental breakfast prior to my departure at 07.00. Cereal and apples were left out but no milk for coffee or cereal nor anyone around to ask. The hot tap over the bath needed some attention. The apple was ok.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely Scottish Country House

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Castle Hotel is a lovely country house set in beautiful grounds, owned and run by very welcoming hosts. We were upgraded very generously to the Four Poster bedroom suite as it was our Wedding Anniversary which made our stay even more enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Hotel staff very welcoming. Room was excellent, comfortable and clean. Dinner menus had an excellent choice and the dinner was delicious. Whiskey bar has a superb collection!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business Trip

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: The setting, the grounds, the quietness, the scenery.
Cons: the room, the food and no lift? room was basic and my lap-top screen was bigger than the TV ?? The food wasn't great but edible and had to carry heavy luggage up the stairs. also shower had a water flow problem that seems to be standard with the hotel and apparently can't be improved?
Location: Tesco's round the corner which was great for my fuel, the town is also close by but very little there but quite nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel in a nice location. Its a big ol house. Dinner was delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Evanston,IL

Wonderful hotel. Owners are present and care.

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Location: In the midst of the whisky trail and not far from the beautiful natural wonders of Scotland.
Wonderful, caring customer service. Great food. Bar with fine selection of whisky. Highly recommended