Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 9, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Serenity

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Absolutely lovely. Amazing room for the deal I was offered.
5 out of 5
by Kathrine from Shoal Bay, Australia

Sightseeing

Posted Jan 26, 2016 on Hotels
Hillside was very comfortable with great views. The only problem would be the many stairs due to it's ecofriendly status, difficult for someone with mobility issues. Loved the story behind the motel and the overall layout.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Stunning hillside setting and personal chef.

Posted Jan 17, 2016
We did miss the turn off first time as the signage could have been better. Fabulous remote setting at top of its own high hill with 360 views including ti Waikato river. Lots of stairs with no lift (but chair lift). We were only guests dining so chef was staying on just for us. Food ok rather than great but still a very nice experience. Great room stunning vuews. Morning mists filling the valkeys and rolling up the hill. Beautiful walks around tge hilltop.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful!

Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is absolutely wonderful, it's beautifully located up on a hillside giving breathtaking views over the countryside. The rooms are large and well-furnished, the beds are comfortable, the bathroom spacious, all giving us an extremely enjoyable stay. We loved the place and are looking forward to going back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, VIC, AUS

Hotel with a beautiful view

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Wotif
Lovely, friendly staff. Room was simple but comfortable, Well heated. Fantastic view, only downside being the drive to get there is on gravel and uneven road. But well worth going off road for
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 22, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by M L from Hawera

Fantastic

Posted Aug 20, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastic. What I expected. Fabulous views, wonderful room. A climb up the hill in the car, would be better if the road was tar-sealed. But still the surface was in good condition. Only had time for the one night. Would be great for a weekend retreat. If chance arises will go for a weekend stay in the near future.
5 out of 5
by Suzi from Wellington, NZ

Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely peaceful setting in the hills above Huntly. Very comfortable bed with great views down the valley. Friendly and helpfull staff, and top quality food in the resturant. A bit more light up the ungraded track after dark would be helpfull.Little difficult to find in the dark as smallish sign pointing towards the resort, but definetly worth the effort.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aylesbury, UK

Unique hidden gem, a must stay!

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: Its uniqueness, friendliness of staff, and organic architecture inspired by Frank Lloyd Wright... the closest we will get to staying at Falling Water!
Cons: Not a real criticism, bit if I needed to be picky then an upgrade to the sanitary ware would add to the luxury feel of the rest of the hotel.
Location: Unbelievable location in the hillside, but well within reach of an enormous array of attractions a short car ride away.
Arrived late and traversed an exciting mountain track 4km into the hillside to reach the hotel, and boy was it worth it. We were welcomed by Chris the chef, who offered to help us with our luggage (be warned, pack light as there are a few stairs to climb to get to the various levels, although there is a stairlift for disabled/elderly guests) and after setling in, he took time to make us welcome and then cook a woderful meal served in the Lookout Lounge with unique 360 degree views across the surrounding scenery. The rooms were more than comfortable, and although sanitary ware could perhaps have been of higher quality for a 4 star accommodation, it was clean and everything was in working order. As for the views, they are unbelievable and totally private, so no need for curtains, just lie in bed and enjoy the sunset / sunrise in comfort. Caters for 150 people for conferences, weddings and other events, and plenty of walks around the hotel. After a truly gourmet breakfast served by Luke the breakfast chef, checkout was easy and leisurely and we met Rosemary, the owner of the hotel who shared her insights about its history. If you get the chance then stay as you will not be disappointed. My wife and I travelled from the UK and it is a shame that we will not be able to come back more often.