Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

stunning view and surroundings

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Really enjoyed our stay we were welcome by the lovely and helpful receptionist who was most pleasant,we timed it perfectly and arrived to catch the beautiful sunset as it descended the sky just gorgeous then to witness the moon come up,we walked to the look out point and the view was amazing!our room was very spacious warm and comfortable,thoroughly enjoyed our stay
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, NZ

Quiet location with a great view.

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: Location, view
Cons: Pave the road
Location: Resort seems remote, but is easy to get to. Very serene and peaceful, with local hiking. The largest shopping area in NZ is twenty minutes away.
We were looking for a place to spend the night, before arriving in Hamilton the next morning to move into a new residence; and we found this delightful hotel less then thirty minutes north of town. It was just a short 3 km drive off of Hwy 1 up the side of the mountain; the road was unpaved, but well maintained and wide enough for two cars. This led to a beautiful rustic resort, that fit the surrounding bush perfectly and created a very peaceful environment. The hotel is built up the side of the hilltop, so there are stairs to climb; but the views are excellent. Check in was fast and friendly; the room was spacious and clean. We stayed on a Monday night offseason. About thirty minutes after booking on-line we received a phone call from the resort to warn us that the restaurant would be closed that evening, and offered to leave us utensils in the room if we brought in our own food. There is hiking around the resort. This would be an ideal place to spend a couple days after a long overseas flight into Aukland. It is an easy one hour drive from the airport, a great place to relax, and is an easy day trip to most tourist stops in the Waikato region.
4 out of 5
by Diana from Perth, Australia

Hillside Hotel in Huntly

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
It took a while to get up to it but the views were spectacular. It was a little adventure getting there. Don't expect to be located close to anything - it's the price you will have to pay for good vistas. We arrived quite late in the evening past the normal opening hours for their reception but they had stayed open for us and we were welcomed warmly and professionally. Our family room was very nice and we were well accommodated for. It had almost everything we needed. However, be prepared for a tiny shower recess that can be quite claustrophobic and steamy if you have hot showers. We were also situated on the fourth floor next to a deck that allowed us excellent views of the sunset. Immobile people need to be aware that this hotel is full of stairs and there did not seem to be any lifts anywhere. You may need to let them know during time of booking that you need something on the ground level because you will end up carrying your own bags up the many flights of stairs otherwise. The staff were incredibly attentive and the hotel even provided a laundry area for us to do own our own washing and drying which came in very handy. Breakfast was very ordinary but it was served by a very congenial (and overworked) staff member. I would not recommend paying the price that they are asking for. May I suggest that you buy something to eat in room or go to Hamilton for breakfast?
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful surroundings , relaxing place to stay
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 9, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Serenity

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Absolutely lovely. Amazing room for the deal I was offered.
5 out of 5
by Kathrine from Shoal Bay, Australia

Sightseeing

Posted Jan 26, 2016 on Hotels
Hillside was very comfortable with great views. The only problem would be the many stairs due to it's ecofriendly status, difficult for someone with mobility issues. Loved the story behind the motel and the overall layout.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Stunning hillside setting and personal chef.

Posted Jan 17, 2016
We did miss the turn off first time as the signage could have been better. Fabulous remote setting at top of its own high hill with 360 views including ti Waikato river. Lots of stairs with no lift (but chair lift). We were only guests dining so chef was staying on just for us. Food ok rather than great but still a very nice experience. Great room stunning vuews. Morning mists filling the valkeys and rolling up the hill. Beautiful walks around tge hilltop.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful!

Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is absolutely wonderful, it's beautifully located up on a hillside giving breathtaking views over the countryside. The rooms are large and well-furnished, the beds are comfortable, the bathroom spacious, all giving us an extremely enjoyable stay. We loved the place and are looking forward to going back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, VIC, AUS

Hotel with a beautiful view

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Wotif
Lovely, friendly staff. Room was simple but comfortable, Well heated. Fantastic view, only downside being the drive to get there is on gravel and uneven road. But well worth going off road for