Ratings based on 427 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bugs & Bees

Posted Jul 1, 2017
We found bugs and bees in the room we checked in pretty late so the staff was nice but, the hotel condition was really bad and the bed were not cofrtable at all. I feel like we paid 80$ for a 30$ motel kind of room. Worst experience will never be back. This was one of the picture. We couldn't take picture of the bee since the hotel staff took it away. Than we found 2 oh there bees again but it was too late in the morning. We exhausted and wanted some rest than the beds were awful as well. I couldn't sleep for the entire night. I feel like I wasted my money!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your candid evaluation. You are absolutely correct to expect a clean, well-maintained property as your home away from home when traveling, and I apologize for failing to provide that for you. What you encountered should not have happened as we have regular treatments from a professional service to ward off the type of unwanted visitors you mentioned. We have contacted our pest control provider to address the issue as quickly as possible. We truly regret the inconvenience caused, and please give us another chance to serve you with the hospitality you deserve. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville TN

This is not hotel! Look like an apt

Posted Jun 27, 2017
No service at all! No confort! We didn't like it ! They do room service once a week! Hotel?
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Please accept our sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations. We strive to provide wonderful hospitality to all of our guests, but we obviously let you down. Your feedback is important to us, and we will use it to improve our services going forward. We deeply regret the inconvenience caused, and please consider giving us a second chance in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: Very close to US Space and Rocket Center. Easy parking, clean.
Cons: Wifi was slow.
Very close to US Space and Rocket Center. Easy parking, clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
It was our pleasure hosting you at Extended Stay America - Huntsville - U.S. Space and Rocket Center. We are glad to see our convenient location and well-kept property left you with a great impression of our hotel. Your feedback is of utmost value to us as it will help us to get better. Thanks for allowing us to be of service, and we hope to have the pleasure of doing so again on your next trip. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by Brenda

Worst "hotel" really motel I have ever stayed at

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
This "hotel" was by far one of the worst hotels I have stayed at before. I use the word hotel even though this establishment should not be considered a hotel but a motel. The pictures online are not accurate they are deceiving. I have stayed at many extended stays and they are wonderful to have a kitchenette in the room is very convenient. Here u had a kitchen but no utensils in the kitchen but had to go down to the lobby to get the items that were needed. The freezer didn't have an ice maker instead there were dirty ice trays in the freezer and I was informed the building didn't have an ice machine either. They stated they have continental breakfast instead all they had was coffee and grab and go muffins. The money spent for my night stay here was an absolute waste! On top of everything I even break out using the towels in the room!!! Do not waste your money and/or tI'm staying here u wI'll not get any sleep anyway the beds are brick hard if things could get any worse.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. I apologize that you did not have a comfortable stay. We will work closer with our staff to make sure guests are being well accommodated. Thanks to your feedback, we can continue to work on providing an exceptional stay for all of our guests. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
3 out of 5
by James P

Wifi problems,no ice machine, no hair dryer

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
No ice machine available. No hair dryer. Wifi log on should have been simple (last name+ Room#0, but did not work. Was referred to an 800 number, but at 1130pm I just went to bed. Was reasonable deal and comfortable enough for one night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not on par with other Extended Stay America Hotels

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Orbitz
The room was not very clean and the shower curtains smelled like a dirty old rag
4 out of 5
by Mark

Good stay

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Clean spacious room & comfortable bed but practically non-existent breakfast bar. The kitchenette was nice but didn't really need it since i was only staying 2 nights. If i was staying a week or longer then it would have really been a benefit.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad to see you enjoyed hos spacious your room accommodations were, yet disappointed that our grab-and-go breakfast did not meet your expectations. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
4 out of 5
by Kenneth

The Stray Cut Strut

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel itself is reasonably clean. Good value for the price. Not in the best area of Huntsville, but close to Redstone Arsenal and that was what I was there for to be on Redstone. The free "Breakfast" is if you are there right at 630. By 7 they are out of the food items, which is really only some small muffins and granola bars. Breakfast is a stretch, but the coffee was good. The "free" internet is USELESS. Even the $3.99 was nearly useless. I was doing some work online and with the free internet it would rarely even load a page, sometimes it just loaded the text of a page with no formatting. So I paid the $3.99. That was something like 2001 internet from AOL. It was VERY VERY slow. The hotel was full and I am sure that slows the rate a lot. Staff was nice. There is nothing at all in your kitchen when you arrive to include a coffee pot. You could sign out a coffee pot for your room if one was available but there weren't and if there were it is a standard coffee pot not a by the cup type so you would have to guy coffee and filters and such as well. If you were there long term may be worth it. My last comment the place is OVER RUN with stray cats..not the cool rock band either. There were plats of food put out for them so they are all over. Every morning one met me as I tried to get to my car, which the first night was near the dumpster, so lots of prints where they hopped from or to my car.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: The room rate was very reasonable and bed was comfortable.
Due to my not looking at the map closely, I found that the hotel was not very close to I65 which meant that we had to drive 20 miles off our main route.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am pleased to read your bed was comfortable and that our affordable rates were suitable. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
5 out of 5
by Johnny

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Not enough parking at all. Lots of contract and construction vehicles taking up most of the parking lot.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad to see you had a pleasant stay at our hotel; however, please accept our apologies that parking was n issue for you. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.