Ratings based on 434 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bugs & Bees

Posted Jul 1, 2017
We found bugs and bees in the room we checked in pretty late so the staff was nice but, the hotel condition was really bad and the bed were not cofrtable at all. I feel like we paid 80$ for a 30$ motel kind of room. Worst experience will never be back. This was one of the picture. We couldn't take picture of the bee since the hotel staff took it away. Than we found 2 oh there bees again but it was too late in the morning. We exhausted and wanted some rest than the beds were awful as well. I couldn't sleep for the entire night. I feel like I wasted my money!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your candid evaluation. You are absolutely correct to expect a clean, well-maintained property as your home away from home when traveling, and I apologize for failing to provide that for you. What you encountered should not have happened as we have regular treatments from a professional service to ward off the type of unwanted visitors you mentioned. We have contacted our pest control provider to address the issue as quickly as possible. We truly regret the inconvenience caused, and please give us another chance to serve you with the hospitality you deserve. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville TN

This is not hotel! Look like an apt

Posted Jun 27, 2017
No service at all! No confort! We didn't like it ! They do room service once a week! Hotel?
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Please accept our sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations. We strive to provide wonderful hospitality to all of our guests, but we obviously let you down. Your feedback is important to us, and we will use it to improve our services going forward. We deeply regret the inconvenience caused, and please consider giving us a second chance in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: Very close to US Space and Rocket Center. Easy parking, clean.
Cons: Wifi was slow.
Very close to US Space and Rocket Center. Easy parking, clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
It was our pleasure hosting you at Extended Stay America - Huntsville - U.S. Space and Rocket Center. We are glad to see our convenient location and well-kept property left you with a great impression of our hotel. Your feedback is of utmost value to us as it will help us to get better. Thanks for allowing us to be of service, and we hope to have the pleasure of doing so again on your next trip. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by Bruce

Sleazy Bait and Switch

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
Upon arrival, it took longer than necessary to check in. The two guests before me were having billing disputes with the front desk. The agent acted like she didn't know what she was doing, and had a memorized script. Good thing I was pre-paid. Got to the room, it's the size of a regular hotel room. They claim it's a suite, just because it has a cooktop stove and a fridge. The kitchen IS NOT stocked as they claim. You must go to the front desk to get cookware. Basically overall, it's a bait and switch hotel, with sleazy advertisement. You'd do better with Motel 6.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Bruce, please accept our apologies as well every assurance that we will be working to address the concerns outlined in your review. Our staff typically does a job responding to our guests’ needs, so we're sorry that did not happen in your instance. I would like to inform you that kitchenware for your suite is kept at the front desk as per our brand requirements. We value your feedback and will use it to ensure we are more consistent in our service levels. We hope you will give us the chance to make it up to you on a future visit. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
by Paula

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Many thanks for taking the time to post your rating online. Impressing our guests is our top priority, so we are glad that you were left with a good impression. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you again soon at Extended Stay America - Huntsville - U.S. Space and Rocket Center. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
by Kenny

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Kenny, many thanks for taking the time to post your rating online. Impressing our guests is our top priority, so we are glad that you were left with a good impression. We hope to see you again soon at Extended Stay America - Huntsville - U.S. Space and Rocket Center. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Review

Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
You should know that you can only check in before 11 pm...that's an important detail! The room was dark, the lights would flicker. Everything was clean, maybe a little outdated. The wi-fi didn't work, that was a bummer. You also have to request if you want any dishes, you are only given two plastic cups.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at our hotel and for your feedback. We appreciate your positive comments about our clean facilities, that being said, we will certainly follow up on your constructive comments as well. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we hope to see you on your next visit to our area. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
by Leslie

Get your moneyies worth

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
Best choice of hotels in Huntsville, Alabama. Convenient to everything, clean, great price and friendly people
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad to see valued our convenient location and the affordable rates at our hotel. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
4 out of 5
by Tyler

Good value for the basics.

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel has the basics needed for a simple stay. No bells and whistles, but the value was good. Room was clean, bed comfortable and all around functional.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad to see you enjoyed the cleanliness of your room and how comfortable your bed was during your stay. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
1 out of 5
by Brenda

Worst "hotel" really motel I have ever stayed at

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
This "hotel" was by far one of the worst hotels I have stayed at before. I use the word hotel even though this establishment should not be considered a hotel but a motel. The pictures online are not accurate they are deceiving. I have stayed at many extended stays and they are wonderful to have a kitchenette in the room is very convenient. Here u had a kitchen but no utensils in the kitchen but had to go down to the lobby to get the items that were needed. The freezer didn't have an ice maker instead there were dirty ice trays in the freezer and I was informed the building didn't have an ice machine either. They stated they have continental breakfast instead all they had was coffee and grab and go muffins. The money spent for my night stay here was an absolute waste! On top of everything I even break out using the towels in the room!!! Do not waste your money and/or tI'm staying here u wI'll not get any sleep anyway the beds are brick hard if things could get any worse.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. I apologize that you did not have a comfortable stay. We will work closer with our staff to make sure guests are being well accommodated. Thanks to your feedback, we can continue to work on providing an exceptional stay for all of our guests. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.