Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guelph, Canada

Iceland trip Nov 2016

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: Central
Location: Whale watching, what a treat!
Very nice hotel, good food, nice ambience good sized rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Very clean and good location in Husavik

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Hotel is very clean and recently renovated. We had one of the newer rooms in the 3rd floor. Heated bathroom floors were a welcome addition. Nice and comfortable bed, along with a mini fridge. Close walking distance to most of Husavik. Breakfast included is a traditional Icelandic style.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

whale watching trip

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: It was new and close the harbour.
Location: Close to harbour for whale watching tours. A 1 minute walk.
Hotel was recently renovated and and new building was opened in June 2016. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Still a bit of construction going on, but didn't bother us. Hotel is within walking distance of he harbour. Breakfast was plentiful with a wide variety of foods.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bloomingburg NY

Modern, Clean, New

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Nice hotel for Iceland... pleasant staff, great breakfast, nice rooms, great location
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Double charged

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: The experience of getting ripped-off negates any positives.
Cons: Quit ripping-off tourist.
Location: Whale watching was fantastic. Much better hotel options in Akureyri.
Prepaid the room for one night before arrival. Front-desk agent took 20 minutes and numerous phone calls just to get logged-in to the system. Told me it was his first time there and he was working alone. The first room he gave us was unbearably hot with no way to remedy. They moved us to a room that was acceptable. The next day after we left they charged my credit card for the second room. Rip-off. Next time I will stay at a non-FossHotel in Akureyri.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from J

Modern and comfortable

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Great lobby and rooms, friendly and helpful staff, central location
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Falmouth, Nova Scotia

Worst hotel room I have ever had

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: The food selection at breakfast was the best I had on the entire trip.
Cons: design your rooms to make them useable, and safe.
I was in the new section (they are adding a never section at the moment). The motif is dark wood. When I put my suitcase on the bench inside the door and adjusted it, I brought my head up right under a vertical divider. Much cursing! Luckily I came up straight under it… I suspect if I had hit the edge I would have had a serious cut. There is a small plastic piece on the "corner" farthest from the wall. The "desk" was useless for what I do. In the evening I review photographs, make handwritten notes and consult birding books. The desk has a small phone and room for a laptop and that is it. Sitting at it was difficult because you cannot push the chair back to get out as the chair hits the bed. The first time I tried to get out I "shuffled" the chair clockwise and as my left foot swung out it hit the edge of the vertical piece of wood that runs from the end of the desk all the was to the floor. I was wearing socks. More cursing.You also need to put your door key card in a wall slot to enable the lights to work. it is to save energy. Instead, why not put LED bulbs in the lights? Even worse, if you pop out the card at night to turn off the lights, anything you have plugged in to charge up overnight will get no power. Only noticed this when I noticed the change light on my camera was off. I would not stay here again even if it was free. I expected a lot better in an expensive hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenville, SC

Great location, good hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Location: Fun area. Probably best option in the North of Iceland
Good hotel. Would give it a higher star rating. Very good, clean, basic Iceland hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nicely renovated room, good location.

Posted May 22, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, good breakfast buffet, close to everything,
Cons: The shower stalls did not fit the floor properly and so water got all over the bathroom floor- had to use towels to mop up. showers were nice though.
We had a quiet, comfortable sleep. The construction outside did not start until after 9am and was stopped by the time we arrived to stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boulder, CO

Don't stay here if you don't have to!

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Overpriced!!!!! Dirty!!!!! Bad coffee!!!!!! Avoid at all costs. Nice staff in the bar. Slow internet. Drive 60 minutes to Hotel Laxa at Lake Myvatn instead.