Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxury hotel in good position

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Enjoyed atmosphere facilities and restaurant. Beach out the front.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by Viskovic, Hotel Management
Thank you very much :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Good value hotel in great location

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Friendly staff, great views from balcony and very easy walk to beach and along promenade into old town. Good value hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for Your stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Beautiful setting at a great location

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Located at the western part of town just above Hula Hula beach and 15 minutes of relaxed walk to the town center. We were upgraded to a newly renovated apartment overlooking a garden and the beach. The room was super clean, spacious and modern. Breakfast is served on a balcony surrounded by flowers and trees and overlooking the ocean. You cannot ask for more. I could have stayed in this place for a few more days. We are looking for our next longer vacation at this place. Great value for the money
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much :) Hope to see you again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing, beautiful, convenient location

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
We absolutely loved this charming grand hotel. We were 3 adults..married couple in late 50's with daughter age 23. Perfect location...short walk down the hill to a beautiful beach, jacuzzi a few steps from the hotel with a view of the beach, fantastic outdoor seating area to order drinks and relax. Hotel served amazing local Croatian wines. Our room was spacious and had been remodeled, very clean, modern. One bedroom and our daughter slept on a pull out sofa bed in the living area. We ate dinner and breakfast in the restaurant...excellent. It was a beautiful walk into town...plenty to do in the town. I was concerned when I read other reviews that said this property was outdated and needed to be upgraded...I disagreed...fantastic service by all the staff..great location..we stayed Sept 2 and 3 so the main tourist season was over which was great. If you have young children this would NOT be a good choice as there was no pool..this is ideal for mature travelers who want a quiet, relaxed atmosphere and who like to walk to places. Beaches have rounded rocks.and no sand..so bring old sneakers or water shoes to wear into the water to swim. Beach is very small and you almost have to rent a beach chair otherwise you are sitting or laying on rocks. Try to visit Croatia off season as waiter told us it is very very busy during summer months. Gym was a disappointment and local beach nightclub was a bit noisy but didn't disturb our sleep. Very minor issues. GREAT choice for us!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not recommend

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Management/staff was not welcoming as displayed by a bad attitude. The hotel room was old and not clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear, thank you for review. Since you said management and staff was not welcoming, hotel is old and not clean? Why didn't you tell us that? Or write review by name, not anonymous.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Pretty hotel exterior but rooms need update

Posted Jul 14, 2016
We recently spent 4 nights at the hotel. The grounds and proximity to the water is great but reception was not friendly or helpful and hotel rooms need an update. At check in no one was willing to show us where we were at, how to walk into town, suggest places to eat or activities. It was very transactional and hardly a hello. My husband and I travel a lot for both work and pleasure and friendly or at least helpful check in is a must. The room beds, towels and linens need to be replaced. I don't need top of the line for the price we paid but they were unacceptable for a hotel. Also keep in mind this hotel is right up the path from the Hula Hula bar. The music plays very loud until the early hours of the morning requiring us to wear headphones at night because it's an old building and sound travels. We are a young couple and love lively night life but this was too much for us having to listen to until 3-4am. Positives were it was a short walk into town on a path way, breakfast in the morning and breakfast staff was great. On your own for chairs on the beach but nice spots if you head down to the water and opposite of hula hula. We will be back to Hvar someday but will not be staying at this hotel unless they invest in the rooms.
3 out of 5
by Sebastien from Montreal

Beautiful Hvar

Posted Jul 1, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice view from the hotel. Breakfast was okay. Staff was kind. Great location. Beds are not that comfortable.
5 out of 5
by Tara from IRELAND

Relaxing time in great hotel

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed in Hotel Croatia for a few days between Split and Dubrovnik. Hvar and Hotel Croatia was ideal for a few relaxing days. The hotel was quiet and ideally located overlooking the sea. The hotel was clean. I would definitely recommend the hotel for anyone looking for a few relaxing days away from the hustle and bustle. It is a 10 minute from the harbour, not the best when you've got luggage! It might be best to contact the hotel in advance to arrange a pick up at the harbour if you're travelling by boat.
4 out of 5
by Kavan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 11, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

I LOVE HVAR

Posted Sep 30, 2015
Pros: Good base, near Hula Hula, the terraces, does the job
Cons: Modernise rooms!
Location: As above
15min walk from Hvar town square (the centre), walk slightly uphill in parts. Right next to the impressive Amfora Hotel and Hula Hula Beach Bar (which is a must), perfect place to start the night, catch the sunset then head to the clubs in the centre. Hotel was a bit old-fashioned, rooms were old, 80's decoration, old cabinets, etc. Has almost it's own beach right next to it though, staff were nice, TV and Wi-fi worked very well, rooms have terraces so if you can get one facing the coast you're in for a treat. Does the job!