Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds, UK

Great bed & location, but little else

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: Enormous, comfy bed and great location
Cons: The whole place needs renovating really. At the very least switch out the TVs for HD flat screens.
Location: Hyde Park is lovely and you'll never want for anything to do. FDR & Eleanor Roosevelt's estates, the drive-in theatre, Vanderbilt, to name a few.
The front desk person was nice and accommodating whenever we spoke to them. The room overall was disappointing, though, considering the $100+/night price tag. The 2 things it had going for it was the enormous bed, which was quite comfortable, and the great-for-Hyde-Park location (right across from the FDR estate). Otherwise the size of the room was a bit cramped and the TV and bathroom all felt more "motel" than "hotel". I was just expecting less basic for the price. The all-you-can-eat breakfast was just about edible with the waffle maker being a stand-out feature. I love coffee, but the tea and coffee were so bad I just went without. Next time I visit I'll be looking elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Room was fine. Lobby was under renovation so the breakfast area was rather cramped. Breakfast choices were the typical ones. Room was clean and comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 14, 2016
The room had a smell of smoking and the cooling and heating cover was half off and the unit was very old and gross. The lamp shade was all ripped up too.......
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, United States of America

Posted Oct 31, 2016
No frills hotel. Bed was comfortable and staff was nice. Breakfast was nothing special.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfortable

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: Culinary Institute of America, Vanderbilt Mansion, Eleanor Roosevelt cottage
Convenient to attractions, full breakfast, free parking, wifi, friendly staff, all made visit to mid-Hudson Valley enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Hampton, NY

Good location and comfortable stay

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Location: Found a restaurant named Crave about 10 minutes away from the hotel (129 Washington Street, Poughkeepsie). Better dinner than our CIA experience.
This hotel worked well for us. The location was perfect for the FDR attractions and the Culinary Institute. Little disappointed that there was no elevator for our second floor room. The staff was very nice and helpful and offered to switch us to a ground level room, but they didn't have one with a fridge which we wanted, so we managed the few trips up and down the stairs. The breakfast area is small which I knew from reading other reviews, but we went early and had no complaints. The variety was good and gave us a good start for the day. Bed was very comfortable with lovely linens. The room was spotless and had new carpet. As others have said, the hall carpets are a little old and stained, but not important in the scheme of things. Will definitely go back if we return to the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2016
The rooms were clean and the staff was great! We were thereto drop our son off at college.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location and a clean motel.

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Location and cleanliness
Location: Culinary institute of America is super place to visit and have snacks/lunch/dinner.
Pleasant, price was right and ideal location. Great overall experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Good hotel, Great staff

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: The rooms are comfortable and very clean. Beds and linens are good, the bathroom and amenities are all fine. Breakfast was surprisingly good, with a wide range: eggs, sausage, waffles, bagels, toast, pastry & muffins, cereals, juice, coffee, etc... All quite tasty. This was a pleasant surprise. Great staff -- friendly and very helpful. Though the hotel is on the main road (Route 9) it is set back from the road and is quiet. Very few of the rooms face the road, the majority face the opposite direction. Plenty of parking, and easy access to the rooms.
Cons: While the breakfast was very good, the area is small and there aren't enough tables. The carpets in the corridors are a bit dirty and worn (the carpets in the rooms are in very good condition). These are minor points, the good points of the hotel greatly outweigh the not-so-good.
Location: Perfect location to visit the FDR homestead, library and museum (highly recommended). Vanderbiltt mansion is also close by. Don't miss Vall-Kill.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Roomy, clean, and quiet

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: Close to FDR estate
Cons: Breakfast was a little bare bones.
Location: Visit FDR estate and Vanderbilt mansion.
Room was very clean and comfortable. It was very quiet with mostly seniors like us staying there. Only complaint was bathroom fan didn't work so it got a little humid after showers, and stairs were too steep.