Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Good location, but infrastructure getting old

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Pros: Location
Cons: Restaurant food and breakfast can be improved.
Location: Many leisure options are close to the hotel: Otavalo's market, Ibarra, San Pablo Lagoon, Cotacachi, Cuicocha, etc.
Hacienda Chorlavi used to be one of the best locations to stay in Ibarra. Not anymore. The hotel is very well located on the Panamericana Highway, 5 minutes South to the city entrance. Rooms have been upgraded recently with new bathrooms, TVs and Internet. All this is good. But the rest of the hotel is getting old and service is not top level. Overall not worth the extra bucks you pay compared to other options in Ibarra.
4 out of 5
by Maureen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Relaxing and Historic

Posted Oct 16, 2015
It was a great place to relax with family. We had a good time even though the weather tried to keep us inside. When we decided to settle in for the night the staff came out to help light the fire place, which provided a nice relaxing place to chat for a few hours. The staff was also very helpful with our room service requests. The only complaints that we had were that the jacuzzi was closed, which would've been a great place to relax on a cold evening and the $pricey meal (meats) weren't fresh, they seemed as if they were frozen by the way they were cooked. Also, the room we almost took had old carpeting which was a bit musty, I don't think carpeting is a good idea in such a moist area. Other than that, we loved it and would recommend it to friends and family.
5 out of 5
by Martin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 23, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Living history, great experience

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: The staff, the atmosphere
Cons: Bathrooms could be made a little less stark.
This hacienda has great character and is a fine example of the people and culture of Ecuador. This place is no Ritz, but that was exactly why I liked it. It's rustic and original, not genuine-imitation like most Americans are used to. The floors creaked, the bed creaked, the bathrooms are spartan but spotlessly clean. The grounds and gardens were naturally beautiful, and the pool area looked inviting, although my schedule didn't allow for that indulgence. I'm planning on that for my next visit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

simply excellent

Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels
it is a excellent hotel
3 out of 5
by Ms. Judd

Not quite what we expected

Posted Jun 13, 2012 on Hotels
We were there in May 2012. The pool and spa were not open. Which was a dissapointment. Also the room smelled very musty. Although that is probably to be expected since it is from the 1600's. Staff however were very helpful although most did not speak any English.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Historical Property

Posted Sep 22, 2011 on Hotels
My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights on our honeymooon and had a wonderful stay. Old Jesuit hacienda from the 1620's although our room was modern. Great staff and customer service. Beautiful property now run by two sisters, educated at universities in the US, whose family has owned the property for six generations. Will definately stay here again. Most romantic dining experience of our stay in Ecuador.
5 out of 5
by Tania

excelente instalacion

Posted Jul 25, 2017 on Hotels
una muy buena opcion, las instalaciones son excelentes al igual que el servicio
3 out of 5
by Alain

Très décevant !

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
Chambre petite et qui empestait le bois et le vernis. C'est un endroit historique m'a-t-on répondu. Situé à quelques km d'Ibarra près de l'autoroute la panaméricaine, le bruit des voitures devient terrible la nuit. Des moustiques partout dans le jardin et dans la chambre sans AC. Le comble, c'est le mariage organisé dans le patio de l'Hotel et la musique qui l'accompagne. Seule note positive, le petit déjeuner.