Ratings based on 842 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Elevator Not Working

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Excellent staff. Nice breakfast. Clean room, comfortable bed. Elevator not working so they put us on the 1st floor as we are both handicapped. The hallway was unkempt & shabby. Stayed 2 days but don' t think we'd stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ok

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: the staff
Cons: fix the elevator
The staff was kind and helpful . the breakfast area was clean and food was good . the big problem there was we were on the 2nd floor and my mom had a hard time with the stairs the desk told there was an elevator when we got to the elevator there was a sign on it out of order.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

old place

Posted Jul 20, 2017
room was cleaned but really looks old. breakfast very basic.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't Stay There Until New Management Fixes the Pr

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: The main attraction in Idaho Falls is their river walk, but if you're there on a Sunday, most of the businesses lining the river walk are closed
The good news - they have the fastest hotel wifi ever and they had guest laundry facilities. The bad news - check in time is 3:00 pm. I arrived at 4:30 pm but was unable to get into a room until 5:45 pm. The toilet and bath tub had not been cleaned - I had to flush the toilet. Side exits were "out of order." Sauna was "out of order." Hot tub looked like a washing machine with soapy water. The door to my room had clearly been broken into - lock and deadbolt did not fit - chain lock had been moved - appears to be from being broken before. The hotel is under new management. Most employees stated they were new - they need time to get a system going.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Valued Guest, It is displeasing to hear that your experience during your stay, was made up of such matters. With input such as your own, we are able to fix items such as the locks you mentioned, and train staff on what to look for in the surroundings so as to avoid damages like the ones you described. Our newly appointed Head of Housekeeping is working diligently with each Room Attendant to ensure quality care is being taken when preparing a guest room for occupancy. We appreciate your understanding in regards to new management and the processes that go along with. We are working on getting all staff trained properly, so they are better equipped to assist you, our guest, no matter the occasion that arises. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, and we look forward to having you back with us in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible Customer Service

Posted Jul 18, 2017
They told us check in would be at 3:00 PM. When we arrived at 4:20 PM they didn't have a room clean for us. We finally had a room for us an hour later. The staff was more concerned about their smoke breaks than working.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, We are sorry to hear that you were unable to occupy a room in the time frame you had been given. With redirection it is our hope to create fewer concerns such as your own, and greater guest satisfaction. This becomes possible when we receive feedback such as your own. That being said, we thank you for the time you have taken to let us in on your experience during the check-in process. We look forward to having you again in the future, and will work towards a smoother entry for you and all other future guest(s).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the falls

Posted Jul 4, 2017
The jacuzzi was way to hot the sauna was broken . The room was ok ended up in a smoking room wow the smell of the smoke was very powerful .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

economical hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Good location, easy to leave and run around town and get back to. Several eating establishments within walking distance.
Cons: Cable TV could have worked a little better but it did work.
Hotel is a little old and dated but staff was great and room was clean. Can't see spending 125 to 200 dollars just to rent a bed for a night. Would rather spend the money saved on a good meal or a fun activity.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boise

Not a bad budget option, but

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: They only charged $10 per night for pet.
Cons: More complete breakfast with some fresh fruit
This was a day of reservation and we were looking for less expensive partly because it was a quick trip and a short night. Our room wasn't ready at 5:30 and said it would be another 30-45 minutes before we could access the room. Room was clean but very basic. No iron or iron board, the front desk did bring an iron and I used the bed to press my dress shirt. Breakfast was basic hotel breakfast, with the waffle cooker and biscuits and gravy and yogurt. Hind site I would have spent the $20-$30 for nicer place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hermiston, Oregon

Better than average Super 8

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: Close to freeway, yet a quiet area.
Hotel was nicer than other Super 8's I have stayed in. Free Breakfast was okay, no fruit. Rooms & bathrooms were quite clean. Motel is priced higher than it should be, but because this town sells out most nights during summer, they can do that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Very nice comfortable place to stay

Posted Jun 5, 2017
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2017 by Tanya, Front Desk, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!