Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from France

Beyond our fondest dreams

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Kindness of staff, setting, location (near by all the attractions), cooking class and dance program every evening.
Location: Greenwoods is located in Kumily, 10 minutes walk from the entrance of the Tiger reserve.
We were thinking that our stay in this hotel would be wonderful but it was beyond our expectations. We stayed 5 nights there and everything was perfect. First of all, staff is very caring for the guests but never intrusive. They make sure that you have all what you need and offer many special touches that make your stay unforgettable. This hotel provides all the comforts in a warm, charming and natural setting. Rooms are spacious, neat, comfortable and functional, the common areas are well decorated and offer a warm feeling. And the last but not the least, the restaurant is excellent. The chief and his team offer a varied and savory cuisine. Buffet for breakfast and diner gave us opportunity to taste many different dishes and we have never been desappointed: North Indian, South Indian, Continental or from Kerala, everything was absolutely delicious.
2 out of 5
by Lawrence

Outdated facility, good location

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel was quite outdated. We have requested ahead to make sure to have 2 regular beds and ended up having foldable bed that was very uncomfortable. Staff was not helpful and even for the second night they have not changed despite our complaints and our willingness to downgrade from Deluxe to regular. Restaurant breakfast was terrible so we opted to eat outside hotel for reminder of the stay. Location was convenient. Also staff didn't help to arrange excursion to Peryiary wild reserve, had to arrange it ourselves. WHat thye had excellent was - "Tree Coffee House": very friendly man, cooked one of the best masala tea I had during my stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A clean and green resort in Thekkady

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
The resort was the best and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Great staying experience!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

An oasis

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Additional entertainments- a kids club.
Location: Tea plantations and the Periyar wild life reserve is a must.
Fantastic, attentive, friendly staff- made me feel like a royalty. This included the cleaners, gardner and waiters. The manager was friendly and keen to get feedbacks to improve. Highly recommended- would visit again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Eco friendly hotel with great staff

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: The staff were the best ever, always smiling and consistently good. It was a pleasure staying at Greenwoods and i would gladly go back there.
Cons: The internet connection could be improved.
Location: The location of the hotel is good, just on the edge of town and easy to get to all the shops. There is a spice village 10 minutes away by tut-tut.
From the moment we steped into the hotel we were greeted by the Hotel manager and staff with a garland of cardamon and welcome juice and towel. The hotel is on the edge of town and has an impressive avenue of palm trees at it's gated entrance, leading through to undulating woodland with turkeys and geese roaming freely. Our premium suite was spacious with a cosy balcony over looking palm trees and swimming pool. I found the staff enchanting and friendly, lead by an ever present hotel manager, ready to lend a helping hand. We felt amongst friends and family and can't rate this hotel highly enough. The Keralan food is the best ever, with nightly cooking demonstrations.
3 out of 5
by Stephen from Ottawa

Fine but overpriced

Posted Nov 24, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was pleasantly situated in a nice private well-tended garden. The room was big and the bed comfortable but we had trouble getting the AC to work consistently, especially the first night. It was convenient for visiting the national park by car. Service in the restaurant was friendly, but service was slow if you didn't want the buffet. Gym was oddly and uninvitingly located in a hallway. Although fine overall, in the end it seemed more ordinary than it should have and overpriced for the location and actual facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mumbai

Nice hotel, very near to the town

Posted Sep 16, 2015
Pros: Location, Rooms, Friendly staff
Cons: Bathrooms are not upto the mark, can be modernized
Location: Katahkali and Kalaripayatu show Boating Museum Market Sightseeing
The hotel even though is in the Thekkady town, is in the midst of greens, and each room provides quite a view, especially in the mornings, to relax sipping a hot cup of tea. The rooms are done is typical Kerala style and one enjoys the stay. Nice food, and welcome service They have a cookery show and a dance show, which is thoroughly enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from shukla

Grt property with excellent staff n food..

Posted Jun 11, 2015
Very pleasant stay for 2 days , nice property with all amenities ..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TRIVANDRUM INDIA

Excellent Hotel!!!

Posted May 11, 2015
We enjoyed the stay in this resort. Resort is nice and clean and very good ambiance. Staff are very friendly. enjoyed this vacation.