Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Highly recommended place to stay in Munnar.

Posted Dec 5, 2015
Pros: The staff, food, location and the free bird watching walk and the spice garden tour. You can also book a yoga session.
Cons: The shower in the tree house was leaking but otherwise we have absolutely no complaints.
Location: Visit the tea museum and also the centre for special needs young adults where you can buy beautiful hand printed scarves and papers.
Kaivalayam Retreat is in a cardamom plantation. Beautiful location. You get a free guided walk through the slice plantation - really interesting. You can either stay in one of the two tree houses or one of the new larger rooms with big balconies. Comfy beds. What we also really liked about this family run retreat were the friendly, humble staff and the delicious vegetarian food - all cooked very fresh and using many local ingredients. The retreat is down a steep hill but they run you up to the main road or to the starting point for a walk through the tea plantations down to a waterfall in a jeep. Being away from the main road means the hotel makes it nice and quiet. We would definitely recommend Kaivalayam and thought it was good value for money.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Sub par hotel in remote location with no shuttle

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel has no WiFi in rooms. WiFi in lobby only shuts off at 10pm. They nickel and dime fir stuff. Remote location of hotel away from city or shops or restaurants. Hotel restaurant overpriced. False advertising of hotel stating free shuttle within 30km. Free jeep only from hotel to main road which is a 2min drive and drop off at main road is in remote location away from everything. Staff very nice though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to relax in comfort

Posted Oct 12, 2015
We loved this place, great staff & location in a spice garden. Complementary yoga was fantastic, lovely walk through the cardamom garden, great food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Wonderful meals, beautiful scenery, yoga class!

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Pros: it is hidden away and you wonder where you are going until suddenly you are there..and it is perfect.
Location: Nimi's Cooking class can be arranged through Harish.
This is a wonderful place to stay. Start with yoga before breakfast, lovely meals, helpful staff.. Perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dilshan from Bangalore

Posted Sep 18, 2015 on Hotels
Awesome...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mumbai

Nice and cosy hotel, amidst a lot of greenery

Posted Sep 16, 2015
Pros: Location, overall setting, exclusiveness
Cons: may be they can add some non-veg stuff.
Location: not much other than the munnar town and the nearby places including where you can enjoy Kathakali, Kalaripayatu
The hotel, even though not near the town, is pleasant and nice to stay for unwinding and relaxing. Its in midst of greenery and also offers are great view and is a pleasure to walk around. The B/f and Dinner is served in the Dining Hall, and have a limited but very healthy and tasteful menu. The only issue is no non-veg is served.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Akbar

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Isabelle from Montréal

Une note parfaite!

Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Hotels
Un séjour parfait! Un décor enchanteur, des hôtes charmants. Une belle palette d'activités proposée, un service de conduite aux alentour, excellente nourriture végétarienne. Je recommande fortement!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent, wish I stayed longer!

Posted May 7, 2015
Excellent, wish I stayed longer! Owner and staff are super nice. Worth paying a little bit more to stay this beautiful resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kalyanaram from Guntur, Andhrapradesh

our stay at Kaivalyam

Posted May 3, 2015 on Hotels
Had a great time! Excellent facilities, very friendly and caring owner and staff. Highly recommend to our family and friends too :)