Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney australia

Posted Mar 23, 2016
Pros: Peaceful location and staff, great value, freshest food
Cons: More variety at brekkie for people staying more than, say, 3 nights
We stayed here for a week. It's probably exactly the right amount of time to get the 'full experience', and the food (vegetarian) can get a little repetitive esp. breakfast, even though the ingredients are the freshest imaginable and it's all delicious. Most herbs and vegetables are grown just outside the restaurant window! Most people would have 3 meals a day here, though a trip to Munnar is easy enough for some meals or shopping. Part of its great value is that so many activities are included - ie free. Yoga for 1 1/2 hours six mornings a week, plantation/herb tour and many other things. The Yoga was conducted b a true master, and excellently paced (I've taught in the past, so can say this with confidence). The rooms were very spacious, and we had a huge balcony in our upstairs room (recommended!). The staff were professional, but much more than that - so calm yet efficient. We didn't miss having a beer or other drink, as we felt it was a great place to clear out the system. They are building more rooms, a pool, a spa and making the place a 'wellness' centre, which it really already is. They've done enough of the building work so there's virtually no noise. It's totally quiet at night. However, I'm sure their prices MUST rise after all the building's done, about October, as the value is too good now, so go sooner if money is tight. We will go back as soon as we can! Plenty of people brought their young kids, and it seemed ok for this but I'd say better for aduls of any age.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tamilnadu

Memorable place to stay

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Wonderful hotel with nice staffs ... Food and guided spice plantation was excellent... Just wow ....
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paris

Magnifique vue et très beau jardin

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Très chouette hotel au milieu d'un joli jardin bien entretenu. Personnel adorable. Des activités proposées et offertes par l'hôtel (séances de yoga, balade jusqu'à une cascade, découverte des épices dans le jardin...). Très bon repas et petit déjeuner également. Sans oublier la très belle vue depuis la chambre !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Peaceful stay

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: The attention to the details. All very well cured, nothing left unattended. All in a good shape.
Cons: I did not particularly like the restaurant. I think it's a bit "house made" without a proper cook. Particularly gravy curries were water down.
There are very few other places we've been so far that provide such feeling of peace. Overlooking the plantations from the restaurants, the room and walking around the property give a feeling of harmony. This accommodation, in combination with the peaceful Munnar views and the morning yoga that the owner teaches every day makes your stay in Munnar an unforgettable experience. I do particularly recommend this to families and couples, although in our three days of stay we have encountered also solo travelers.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Simply Amazing !!

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Pros: Location, food, service, staff, well maintained.
Cons: access road
Location: munnar town, tea plantations,
We recently stayed at Kaivalayam Retreat over the Valentine's day weekend. The retreat location is amazing, it is nestled away from the noise/traffic in the lap of nature, all you hear is nature, birds and silence. Truly relaxing. The hotel staff was amazing and took care of all the minor details to make our stay comfortable. Trul 5 star service. We ate dinner here and both the days it was exceptional. The rooms were spacious, clean and welcoming. The bathrooms were clean and well kept. Breakfast was good and they served a good variety of food each day. Plantation walk/river walk is highly recommended. Truly unique experience. Great for unwinding and relaxing.
5 out of 5
by francis from france

Le paradis

Posted Feb 6, 2016 on Hotels
Très agréable séjour en pleine nature. L’hôtel propose dans le pack plusieurs activités liées à son environnement. Découverte des diverses variétés de plantes , d'épices. A conseiller absolument.
3 out of 5
by ori

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 5, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Eric from Paris

Quiétude et sérénité en pleine nature

Posted Feb 3, 2016 on Hotels
Un sans faute ! Un personnel discret, chaleureux et aux petits soins. Un environnement luxuriant, un calme profond. Tous les repas sont excellents, et raffinés. Le cours de yoga du matin, (inclus dans la prestation), sous une véranda au cœur de la nature restera pour nous un moment inoubliable. Il se dégage de cet endroit une douce quiétude, une grande sérénité.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Highly recommended place to stay in Munnar.

Posted Dec 5, 2015
Pros: The staff, food, location and the free bird watching walk and the spice garden tour. You can also book a yoga session.
Cons: The shower in the tree house was leaking but otherwise we have absolutely no complaints.
Location: Visit the tea museum and also the centre for special needs young adults where you can buy beautiful hand printed scarves and papers.
Kaivalayam Retreat is in a cardamom plantation. Beautiful location. You get a free guided walk through the slice plantation - really interesting. You can either stay in one of the two tree houses or one of the new larger rooms with big balconies. Comfy beds. What we also really liked about this family run retreat were the friendly, humble staff and the delicious vegetarian food - all cooked very fresh and using many local ingredients. The retreat is down a steep hill but they run you up to the main road or to the starting point for a walk through the tea plantations down to a waterfall in a jeep. Being away from the main road means the hotel makes it nice and quiet. We would definitely recommend Kaivalayam and thought it was good value for money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sub par hotel in remote location with no shuttle

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel has no WiFi in rooms. WiFi in lobby only shuts off at 10pm. They nickel and dime fir stuff. Remote location of hotel away from city or shops or restaurants. Hotel restaurant overpriced. False advertising of hotel stating free shuttle within 30km. Free jeep only from hotel to main road which is a 2min drive and drop off at main road is in remote location away from everything. Staff very nice though.