Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as expected

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Swimming pool under renovation,intercom not working was very frustating
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2016 by CRS MANAGER, Hotel Management
We are regretful to learn that you are disappointed with your stay at Ooty - Elk Hill. We have forwarded your feedback about swimming pool and intercom service to the Resort Management team at our corporate office to improve the resort maintenance. We request you to give us another opportunity to serve you at any of our resorts in India.
4 out of 5
by Joyce from Saumur

Posted Mar 27, 2016 on Hotels
Cuisine excellente
1 out of 5
by Jennifer from Australia

Worst 3 star resort ever. very poor DONT STAY HERE

Posted Feb 7, 2016 on Hotels
Worst 3 star resort EVER. Filthy pool with a glowing film, whole pool booked out for private party, no alcohol served anywhere in resort, bad service, rude manager, dirty sheets didnt even get changed. we were so tired from driving that we just got there and passed out. restaurant is ok / average. breakfast was average. Wifi only works in reception. DONT STAY HERE unless your desperate. Security guard yelled at my husband for no reason as he is indian and I am australian he assumed he was my driver. No consideration or hospitality skills at all. everyone is rude.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2016 on Hotels
Very basic hotel with poor service and lazy staff. Food was rather average. Room service was very poor. Phone in the room wasn't working. No ac in room only a fan.
1 out of 5
by Laura from Plymouth

Avoid!!

Posted Nov 20, 2015 on Hotels
Awful! Overpriced, everything was old damp damaged and tired. The pool was disgusting. We had to wait 30 minutes to get our room despite arriving well after check in. The sheets were stained. Blinds broken. We changed rooms, the bedding was damp again, bedding still stained. Terrible arrive and experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mumbai

Resort close to nature

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Opportunity to stay close to nature. Good breakfast .Overall good value for money. Only issue was cost off bottled water is 3 times of MRP.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pune, India

Awesome place - woods n spice

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Pros: staff and cleanliness of rooms, arrangements in the room
Cons: AC should be there, sometime it gets little bit hot in the rooms
Location: - Periyar tiger serve forest - Jeep Safari (Rs. 3000 for a jeep) - Periyar tiger serve forest - Boat Safari (Rs. 225 per person), - Elephant Ride
Very nice place, very near to Periyar Tiger Reserve, few monkeys were entering into hotel as its on border of forest, very clean and clam, everything natural, overall pleasant stay :)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NEW DELHI

A nice resort close to the forest in Thekkady

Posted Jan 16, 2015
The location is excellent. We would've enjoyed our stay at the resort etter if we could stay in Thekkady for one more day.
3 out of 5
by Andrew from London

Faded glory

Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels
Faded glory. Great setting but desperately needs cleaning. Could be something really special especially if the hop on hop off ferry service was organised and advertised at the various jetties.
4 out of 5
by Ananth from Chennai

Good Property with Friendly Staff

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Pros: Helpful and supportive staff, nice feel to cottages Rates offered directly by hotel were better than Expedia
Cons: - Car parking is highly constrained, - The road markers to the hotel seem to give up half-way - Pool needs more frequent cleaning
Location: Hotel staff are fairly well informed & provide good support. Half-day visit to Periyar Forest Reserve and boating on Periyar River, Spice buying.
Was assigned room 305 towards the back of the property (this shares a boundary with Periyar Reserve). This room small and kind of difficult to reach as there is plenty of stairs to tackle. Bird calls (eerie at times) float across and can be a tad disconcerting. All wood paneled room and cozy in appearance. Housekeeping forgot to refurbish room supplies and this was "promptly" done the next day....guess one could blame it on the weekend rush. Property has a pool with hammocks and seating around it and plenty of entertainment for families with kids, though some are pay-and-use options (archery, motor toy cars etc).