Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Japanese style hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2017 on Wotif
The hotel is convenient at 10 mins walk to JR Ikebukuro train station. The staff are lovely and very helpful. Good wifi. The room is small but sufficient for 2 people. I enjoyed the experience of sleeping Japanese style. There are many restaurants nearby and a Lawson 100 convenience store. I would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2017 by Changtee, Hotel Management
Dear Customer, Many thanks of your valuable comments and looking forward to serve you again. With our warmest bless for you. Best Regards, Hotel Changtee
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Great location. Quiet area. Great location. Quiet area. Great location. Quiet area. Great location. Quiet area. Great location. Quiet area. Great location. Quiet area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Hotel Changtee, Hotel Management
Dear Customer, Received your feedback with many thanks! If any chance, we will very glad if you would choose our hotel again in the future. Best regards,
4 out of 5
by Carlos

Quiet small hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Hotels
Great location. Staff is very friendly. Room is very small barely big enough for 3 people.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. Thank to and we wish to hear from you again.
4 out of 5
by Sergey

decent hotel for a reasonable price

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
decent hotel for a reasonable price. However, a bit noisy: you can hear your neighbors taking a shower plus quite a lot of noise from the street.
1 out of 5
by WEI TING

Don't be fooled by the pictures!

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Changtee hotel is an old and out-dated hotel, the lobby area looks remodeled but the rest of the hotel is quite beat-up. The room appears to be clean, but the bathroom had a moldy smell, we had to keep the window opened and the air condition on all night to minimize the terrible scent. The hotel is also a bit of a walk from the train station, given that it was 7th day of our 8-day trip, we weren't thrilled of having to carry our luggage for an extra inch to get back to the hotel from the train station vice versa.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stingy room.

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
We had a very bad experience for our 1 night stay with 2 rooms at the end of the ground floor. There's bad smell from drainage but nothing can be done to fix it. As per hotel staff, they are full house, however they can't arrange any air purifier or any solution. In a small room, we have difficulty to sleep with such bad smell with kids. The final suggestion from hotel staff is open the window a bit, while it's around 5 degree outside and the window is facing their machinery corner. Another thing is how their toilet and shower corner being equipped. No matter how small is bathroom in Japan cities, that's the most squeezed one, can hardly sit down to utilize it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HK

Posted Jun 6, 2016
if you only need to stay one night in Ikebukuro, this price is quite reason.
2 out of 5
by Jiradej

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kieran from Otaki, New Zealand

Perfect base for exploring Tokyo!

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Hotel Changtee was the perfect spot for our stay in Tokyo. It's located super close to Ikebukuro station, and has many small restaurants and convenience stores on the same block. The hotel was quiet, the staff were friendly and helpful. The free refrigerator/microwave/hot water/toaster machine and washing machine/dryer (Y200 ea) were all extremely handy, especially if you are on a budget and not wanting to eat out every night - or just wanting to heat up a snack. Unlike some other reviewers, we found the rooms totally adequate in size for a couple with 2 large suitcases. The shower pressure was great and there was plenty of hot water. The internet was speedy. The hotel is easy to find - head towards the West side of Ikebukuro station and take the C6 exit after the pretzel shop. At the top of the stairs head left along the street, then take the second left (as you pass the store with the slot machines). Follow this street, and Hotel Changtee is just past the SECOND 7/11 store.