Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Christine from Bayers, France

No title

Posted May 24, 2015 on Hotels
Nice stay, bed not comfortable . Food overpriced otherwise not bad.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A quiet and restful spa break

Posted Jan 27, 2015 on Hotels
Marvellous spa stay to cure any January blues! Friendly personel ready to please and help (extra pillows). Excellent restaurant with fine French haute cuisine, catering for all tastes in a smart décor. Superb breakfast. Warm swimming pool and lovely spa facilities. We recommend you book your massages and spa appointments in advance as very popular. Beautiful walks from the hotel to nearby beach and quaint Ars en Ré village. We'll definitely go back there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Hard beds, great restaurant, didn't try the spa

Posted Sep 21, 2014
We chose this hotel for its location only. Four nights on their hard beds were tough. I think Europeans prefer harder beds than Americans. No shower curtain, so it was a big precarious getting out of the shower with water on the floor. We ate lunch at their restaurant, prix fixe. The food was wonderful. Fresh, delicious, sophisticated. Breakfast was OK. The weird part was people coming to breakfast in their robes, which was encouraged. I didn't have a chance to try the spa, but I will try to the next time I'm in the area. I just wouldn't sleep there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels
I like this hotel for inside and outside swimming pools and the SPA access. It is the second time I choose this hotel but this time I was disappointed by a noise of water in the pipings every night. It seems to be the restart of the air conditioning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Hotel near family staying In house in vicinity

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Being on my own, I felt very comfortable and welcomed.
Cons: The paving stones around the swimming pool really need attention. Many are unsafe.
Location: Loved the beach, the cycle tracks, the wonderful market, and such attractive streets, houses and flowers. Wonderful.
My son booked a week for me, he was renting a house with his family near my . I was very pleasantly surprised, I had a very large comfortable room. As I ate with family apart from the pool I didn't use any of the hotel facilities. Full marks must go to the reception staff, my queries were all answered quickly and in superb English.
4 out of 5
by Holly

Beautiful stay in Ile de Re

Posted Aug 7, 2012 on Hotels
The hotel was great, very friendly, a lovely pool and they were very accommodating of our requests for heating food etc for our 18month old. The are is beautiful and Ars en Re a really lovely town with a great market, Perfect for a long weekend or longer, we want to go back and explore the beaches and other towns on the market and wouldn't hesitate to stay at Thalacap or recommend it to it to others.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Faded Grand Dame

Posted Jan 6, 2012 on Hotels
This hotel was probably once luxurious but today is faded and out of date. It reminded me of a holiday camp for middle aged people! Pluses: great sauna/pool/steam room facilities, friendly staff Minuses: room decor (very 80s with a random cupboard featuring a non-functioning kitchenette, smell of damp in the bathroom) Probably much nicer during main tourism season, we stayed during winter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by jess from Rutland, England

Beyond all expectations

Posted Aug 27, 2011
As we approached the hotel we didn't quite know what to expect. But as soon as we walked through the entrance, from the warm friendly greeting and the pleasant surroundings, we knew we had made a great choice, to stay there. The room was comfortable and clean with doors opening to the outside area which gave access to an outside pool and a short cut to the reception and bar/restaurant. The Thalassotherapy area was equipped with every treatment imaginable and a heated indoor sea water pool and Saunas / steam rooms. For 20 euros each we had a 2 course meal and glass of wine in the restaurant which was nicely served, fresh and tasty. The breakfast buffet was also fresh, well presented and plenty of choice. Can't wait to go back again, hopefully for more than one night next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Too much dog poo and pee on grounds. Too much smoking going on.

Posted Aug 19, 2010
The staff cannot be faulted. The room was a bit grubby but not so bad as to warrant a complaint while on holiday. The room had everything you would need. The bed was extremely comfy and she sheets were crisp and cotton. Fellow guests were friendly. Although we think it is delightful that people bring their pets, it is extremely off putting to watch them all peeing and pooing on the grass whilst we were having our breakfast. One aged dark labrador came out every morning from his ground floor room and peed and pooed on the lawn, where it all remained throughout our breakfast. Not pretty. Maybe guests could take their pets outside the grounds or to a certain 'lavatory' area??
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey,UK

Blend in the neighbourhood

Posted Aug 11, 2010 on Hotels
The hotel fits perfectly with what this island is all about: Healthy sunny environment. The atmosphere is relaxed, the service is friendly and unpretentious. we'll come again!