Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotland

lovely 2 night stay

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
Had a lovely stay at the pousada. The staff were very friendly and helpful. we arrived on the Wednesday and struggled to find the hotels parking lot, after a call to the reception a member off staff came out to meet as at the car and help take our luggage to the hotel and parked the car for us. The pousada is in the historic centre of Paraty, which is nice to wander around in the evening. On the Thursday the staff guided us to one of the nucer local beaches which was near by, really enjoyed the break.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Great location and full of character.
Cons: Air con did not work the first day, internet connection unreliable, and bed too hard.
Good characterful place with a few issues. Staff was very helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: GOOD: -location -staff helpful and kind -awesome free breakfast
Cons: BAD -wifi didn't work -AC was not cold -mosquitoes in the room -no pool
Location: Tons of restaurants, boats, shopping, etc
All in all, this was an expensive hotel that was quite overpriced. If you look around you can find some others that are a little further away from the central location for a fraction of the price with comparable amenities and similar breakfasts. The part that really ticked me off: upon checking out they handed me an additional bill for 150 R (after I made the reservation on Expedia). I didn't understand what it was for at first and the hotel attendant explained that this was the "service fee" for the hotel. The staff member again handed me the bill. I got the help of a Brazilian who then spoke to her and.... as it turns out... this was bill was actually "optional" AKA a Grigo ripoff trap. I found this to be kind of insulting and vowed to write a negative review and not come back. I hate this kind of stuff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stunning hotel in the best possible location

Posted Aug 3, 2016
The hotel is in the best location in the centre of the old town. The breakfast was extensive, customer service was acceptable but not up to the standard we have come to expect in Brazil
5 out of 5
by Ulisses from Santa Clara, CA

Luxury and location!

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
Great place, breakfast was epic, hotel was in historical downtown. Service was impeccable. Will stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Excellent place to stay in Paraty

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Bright colors, excellent breakfast buffet, helpful staff, good location within pedestrian zone.
Cons: Directions to parking area.
Location: Museums, multiple restaurants, boating/docks, beaches, historic churches are all located close by.
This is a beautifully maintained historic property in the heart of old Paraty. It's in convenient walking distance of most that would be of interest to a visitor, especially including a number of good restaurants. The bright colors of the hotel make it a great place to wake up. The breakfast buffet was excellent, with lots of fresh fruit, breads, eggs made-to-order, and interesting food options. Wi-fi worked pretty well. Service from staff was excellent, and enough English was spoken that this non-Portuguese speaker had no trouble communicating essential things. The only difficulty was finding the designated parking area when I arrived after dark. It's off of an alley several blocks from the hotel - a necessary setup because the hotel is in a pedestrian-only zone, but a little challenging when you first arrive in an unfamiliar city. You have to turn left at the post office, but I only found the post office by asking people I saw standing near where it was supposed to be - it's not well-marked, at least when closed. All in all, though, my stay here was excellent, and I wish it could have been longer.
4 out of 5
by Nathan

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
It was fine. The hot tub was disappointing at 70 degrees. But otherwise, was fine. Breakfast was superb.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highly Recommended

Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Clean rooms. Delicious breakfast, great location, friendly staff, clean bathroom.
Cons: Towels were a little worn.
Location: Located in the center of the historic center
Great hotel with friendly staff and nice clean room. Great location in the historic center.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming Hotel

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Beautiful hotel in the centre of Paraty, full of character and charm. Hotel staff were very helpful and the facilities were great including an on site restaurant, garden with sunbeds and a jacuzzi. The buffet breakfast was lovely with fresh fruit, cakes, cereals, hams and cheeses and omlettes / eggs available on request. Would definitely stay here again!
3 out of 5
by Scott from Canada

Expected better

Posted Feb 29, 2016 on Hotels
Was expecting more.Breakfast was way below average. Stuck us in room next to the bar. Difficult to sleep with musician playing. Very poor wi-fi in room.