Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
49% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location - very close to Ilkley centre

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Stayed here a couple of times now and my overall feedback is that the rooms need updating. From the outside the hotel looks lovely but inside the rooms and dining area lack atmosphere and quality. The shower pressure was really poor. The staff on reception were very friendly however did not ask on departure how everything was. I would stay again but only as a last resort which is a shame.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Disappointing

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Nice size room but in need of refurb and on the cold side. Ceiling in need of paint and repair. Soft mattress which collapsed at the edges. One bath towel for 2 people. No hair dryer. Ordered newspaper which didnt arrive. Telly in wrong position so you could not watch it from bed. Completely average and could be so much better with a little love and attention.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

creeky floorboards, freezing cold, broken shower!

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: staff
Cons: heating, flooring throughout
Location: n/a
give it a miss.give it a miss.give it a miss.give it a miss.give it a miss. nothing else to say nothing else to say nothing else to say nothing else to say nothing else to say give it a miss. nothing else to say give it a miss. nothing else to say
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Dated bathroom and disgusting breakfast

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Pros: It did the job. Bed, water, TV and internet. Ample parking was nice and not to far walk from hotel. Staff were polite.
Cons: Fresh produce for breakfast, eggs/meat locally sourced where possible Warm pastries & loaves of bread Tear out bathrooms and update
Location: Nice location on Cowpasture Road - not far from the Cow & Calf which has an incredible restaurant, and an easy hike nearby. Also visited Bolton Abbey
Bathroom hugely dated - shower head wouldn't point downwards and couldn't be adjusted, the water from the shower was tepid (barely warm) for both nights we stayed, despite being on the highest temperature setting. There was a shower curtain, which I can't emphasis enough how disgusting and unhygienic I find this. The duvet was lumpy and thin, and the pillows were cheap - with no spare pillows or blankets in the wardrobe. There was no temperature control in the room, so we couldn't adjust the heating nor did the bathroom radiator work, so we were freezing during the night. We had breakfast on the first morning to try it out - glad we hadn't booked in for a second, because it isn't worth the £10 per head fee. The breakfast was inedible and used cheaply bought products. There were watery, colourless eggs, a fatty sausage, one tough overcooked bacon rasher, watery baked beans, and half a piece of dry black pudding. and I found the continental selection of food equally poor. Additionally, other hotel guests arrived and ate breakfast still wearing pyjamas and with bare feet which is entirely inappropriate. Nothing seemed fresh, and it was like they'd tried to purchase a morning's worth of breakfast for all hotel guests for less than a fiver.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Suitable for overnight stay

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: Convenience for attending a dinner
Cons: Hotel needs complete re-vamp and update
Location: Good location
We stayed overnight as we were attending a dinner in the hotel. No signs for car park. Bedroom clean but very dated. Lift out of action and fire doors on landing very noisy as guests moved upstairs. Breakfast was poor, scrambled eggs only but we were not told other eggs were available on request, only knew this after we had eaten when we saw staff delivering to other diners. Coffee was weak, tasted like instant served in thermos flasks. Having stayed overnight the previous week at another chain hotel for a much lower price and with great room and super breakfast we were very disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northern ireland

Booked short notice

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Booked short notice due to circumstances beyond our control but had a very comfortable evening and splendid breakfast
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Be aware.

Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
The description of the hotel stated all rooms have air conditioning and climate control. This is not the case. Unless you count windows as aircon. Our 'executive' room was very small and the bathroom tiny. What also annoyed me was being told my credit card was required on the off-chance that I'd charge something to the room. This was a charge of £120 which would be reimbursed to my account within a week. The couple who checked in after us were given the option to make this credit card deposit. Considering I had prepaid the room in full, this felt like discrimination. Why is there one rule for one guest and another rule for others? In addition, the wifi was non-existent and the hot water in the shower lasted about 2 minutes. The information in the hotel guide DOES actually state there might be an issue with hot water but come on... what year is this? That's a basic function of a hotel. We had a more comfortable stay in a Premier Inn the previous night. And that's considered a 'budget' hotel. If you can't make that standard, how can you justify charging around £100 per night for a room before twisting your guests arms into stumping up another charge on their credit cards? It was a shame. Ilkley is a lovely town and the hotel looks great from the outside. The stay at the hotel just left a bad taste in my mouth and I certainly wouldn't consider returning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Convenient economical hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Cons: Bathroom needs updating
Location: Very attractive town with interesting shops and restaurants. The town has interesting architecture and walks nearby.
Pleasant staff, small comfortable room but the bathroom needs updating. This is a convenient, economical hotel in a town not well served for hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Pleasant

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Pros: Nice setting, nice building, good breakfast, modern bathroom, comfortable room, good cleanliness.
Cons: Could do with having a fridge in the room.
Location: Beautiful town of Ilkley has lots to offer - shops, restaurants, bars, river walk, large children's playground, and gateway to walking in the Dales
My fiancé and I stayed here for one night to celebrate our engagement. Receptionist was very friendly, yet when she asked if we wanted to join the Best Western club and we said no thanks, her immediate response was 'Why not?', which found a bit confrontational. Check-in was 2pm, we arrived well after this time at 3.15pm and the receptionist sent us up to our room, but when we got there the cleaners told us it was not ready, which was disappointing. We didn't raise it because we couldn't be bothered with the faff of it and didn't want to get anybody in to trouble. So we left our luggage in the 'yet to be cleaned' room and went straight out to explore Ilkley, which is a lovely town. Another annoyance was unbeknown to us somebody had set the room's alarm clock for 6am, which woke us up, very annoying as we had been looking forward to a lie in as we don't get many at home with a 1 year old! Other than these minor points, the hotel was very nice, surroundings lovely, room was lovely, and the breakfast was delicious and with a good choice of options. Could do with having a fridge in the room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced & in need of refurbishment

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
We were first offered a tiny room with dirty windows & a stained carpet - having been moved into a better room the quality was still below what we would expect for this price (wall sockets old & faded, toilet roll holder fell off its mounting