Ratings based on 996 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wollongong

Nice hotel, bad service.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
The hotel was very nice and spacious however our hotel was never serviced. Although I had spoken to the cleaner and staff serveral times and they had confirmed that it will be done, they still failed to clean our room properly and remove old towels. Further to this, our items were thrown out for no particlar reason. I have requested the hotel staff on a few occasions to chase this up, however they have not responded. The hotel service was poor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel close to everything close to trans

Posted Apr 18, 2017
The hotel and room were clean friendly spacious and comfortable. Our only problem was the noisy neighbors above us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very dirty carpet throughout the 2 BR.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Not clean; very dirty carpet throughout. Worst of all, we were charged for items from the mini-bar that we did NOT use!! Notified the hotel about this immediately upon receiving the invoice by e-mail but have not received a response. We checked out a day early and the frontline staff would not print up a receipt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Handy location near Wollongong CBD

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: Large, modern and clean room in a and very good location (near the railway line but noise was not a problem), and friendly staff.
Location: Walking distance to Wollongong CBD and nearby restaurants (breakfast is available at the hotel).
We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room, which included a well equipped kitchen, large bathroom and extra living area. Very clean, comfortable and modern. Very comfortable bed. Under cover parking available, close to restaurants and shops. Good location in the western end of Wollongong CBD.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired, dated, dirty, one elevator

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Wotif
Waited 5min for lift to reception from car park, gave up walked out gate to street. Same for lift to 7th floor, ended up taking 7 flights of stairs. Stained carpet in room 702, bathroom fittings tired, grotty, old. Would not go back for what we paid.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. We're sorry to hear your experience was affected by our elevator. We are aware of the speed of the elevator and we have spoken to our professional technicians who have confirmed with us that unfortunately there is nothing we can do about it. We do know it can be very inconvenient during busy periods of the day. Thank you for your feedback about the presentation of the room. You have taken note of things that we can improve on and we appreciate it. Kind Regards.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Shocking Condition for a Mantra Hotel. 4.5 Star?

Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Wotif
Room was ridiculously run down for a hotel room advertised as "deluxe". Massive unattractive stains on carpets in ALL rooms, bed and majority of dining room chairs. I felt very uncomfortable sleeping in the room and would most definitely not recommend staying here. Carpet in lift was a state and not vacuumed in the 3 days I stayed here. No understanding how this hotel is rated 4.5 star. Very overpriced. Avoid.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. I'm sorry to hear you did not find your stay with us ideal. We are currently under the process of having the hotel updated and have slowly had new paint and carpets and furniture put into the rooms, however it is, unforunately, a long process. Our reception staff would have been more than happy to discuss the matter with you in person and we do also have management on site to assist in anyway or to have addressed the concerns you had directly. Sorry again, that you were unsatisfied with your stay, hopefully we can welcome you again in the future and giev you the positive experience you hoped for. Thank you again for your review. Kind Regards.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run down and poorly looked after

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Wotif
The cleanliness of the room I stayed in resembled a formula1 hotel. I stayed in a room with three people and in the cupboards was only two bowls and two spoons so we couldn't even eat together. House keeper didn't even make my beds properly. When we had one bottle of wine from the shelve there was a stained circle under the bottle on the shelve and the next day instead of the house keeper wiping the stain, another bottle was placed on top. When I arrived to my room someone else's business card was stuffed in the electricity slot at the door already.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that your visit was not ideal. All the issues you've addressed are definitely areas that we should not be missing, however things we can definitely improve on, so I appreciate you letting us know so we can recifty this immediately. Thank you again for the review. Kind Regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NSW

Ideal accommodation close to Wollongong hospital

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Self contained accommodation with parking and close to hospitals.
Accommodation is in an excellent position for appointments, etc at the Wollongong hospitals...approximately 5-10 minute walk. Room was excellent with full kitchen, lounge/dining area and separate bedrooms with a bathroom and an ensuite in double bedroom. Unfortunately curtains were pretty grubby and kitchen floor had crumbs behind the kitchen tidy bin. Apart from that it was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for giving us your review. We're so glad you found the accommodation comfortable and convenient. We will be addressing the issues you've mentioned with the housekeeping department and have taken note of your comment about the curtains. Thank you for your feedback. Kind Regards
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Dirty and needs to be upgraded and refurnished.

Posted Jan 5, 2017
This is an apartment that young teenages would stay in. Not a 4 1/2 star. Was old and dirty. We stayed in the deluxe Apartment. The 3 pieces of furniture in living room were old and chipped. No lamps in living areas or bedroooms just 1 large light fitting. Kitchen dirty and washing machine filthy. Hallways lift and car park filthy. Old dity torn mattresses in hall amd carpark and old chairs stacked up. Could not wait to get out of there. Position is bad also and views terrible fr our apartment with the area surrounded by graffiti.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We're very sorry to hear you were so unsatisfied with your stay and will take all of your comments into consideration when analysing changes needed for the property. Again, thank you for your review. Kind Regards.