Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Cute boutique hotel, well situated

Posted Dec 30, 2016
The staff greeted me warmly upon arrival. The room was spacious and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was well stocked and delicious! The hotel is ideally situated within the ramparts of the old city near several shops and restaurants and a short walk to the beach and the tourist office. I loved my stay and can't wait to return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Hotel in the Walled city

Posted Oct 12, 2016
We only stayed one night. It is nicely located. The lobby and the rooms are clean and nice, but not luxurious. Breakfast was included and there were many things to choose from
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, reasonably priced

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Staff were great, hotel in great location, room quite small and bathroom in need of upgrade. Worth the price we paid though.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lebanon

First ever to cut my stay short at a hotel

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Mattresses, pillows, more varied breakfast, water bottles in rooms.
The hotel is very well located inside the village of Saint-Malo, few steps away from all the boutiques, restaurants, the port. The staff is nice and tries to assist the clients. We also had a welcoming box of chocolate which is a nice touch. A bottle of water in the room would have been appreciated. The room was quite spacious, the bathroom too, there was a forgotten cleaning towel in the bathroom sink. We arrived late at night, the heater was not working, and it's getting cold in Bretagne this time of the year. We called reception and the employee brought us a tiny electric heater, but it definitely didn't do the job. The next morning we informed the reception in order to have the heater fixed and when we were back at night, the heater was still not working. The person at the reception suggested we switch rooms but the room given to us was not the same as the one we booked so we did not accept. We had to leave the next morning cutting our stay short of one night. The single beds are tiny, and the mattresses sink in the middle. The pillows are very soft and low, for someone who has back or neck issues, it is very bad. We had also requested firmer pillows but nothing happened there either. The breakfast is good, not too varied, fresh eggs that one can boil himself, artisanal jams that are very good, croissant, small crepes and fresh juice. The hotel does not have parking but there is a parking at the port, not far from the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old hotel but comfortable

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Lovely bedroom but bathroom needed a deep clean as mould on ceiling It was nice and quiet
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jersey

Parking is an issue

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Lovely chap doing breakfast, so efficient and courteous.
Cons: Don't advertise parking or allow pre booking at time of reservation. I would have chosen an alternative hotel had we known the lack of parking.
Location: Be prepared to carry your luggage from outside the walls all the way to your hotel, no waiting or parking nearby hotel.
Arrived with nowhere to park; thought hotel had parking but they only had a handful of spaces, none of which were vacant. Unable to prebook these. Public parking in and around St Malo is notoriously difficult to find vacant spaces. Eventually hotel agreed to put our bikes in their locked area, but left us to our own devices re car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F

Inside walled city short walk to ferry terminal.

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Walked around all the shops and plenty of eating places to pick from inside walled city.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guernsey Channel Islands

Perfect hotel except for the noise issues

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: I liked everything except the noise from the void between the buildings
Location: It is central in the old walled city of St Malo. Very close to the cathedral and the ferry terminal.
This was my first stay in St Malo although I had been on day trips some years ago. I came by ferry and found the hotel very easily and it was certainly close enough to have no problems walking and pushing my suitcase. It is a typical French hotel and since my room was on the 4th floor the quaint lift was ideal to get me and my belongings up there. I'm on a bit of a keep fit thing so walking up and down at other times was green cardio exercise. My first impression of the room was fantastic. The wall behind the double bed was papered with an enormous photograph of the breakwater. As a photographer I cannot imagine better decor. The room was fairly small but it had everything I needed as bad the tiny shower room. The first real hint of problems was that evening. My room overlooked the space (maybe courtyard, too high up to see the ground) between the block of buildings and next to the hotel are two restaurants and all evening until at least 11 pm was the noise of the busy kitchens. Plates being scraped together and staff chatting. Another problem with noise was the lift; my room was right not to the room and any time that I went back to my room to rest from the heat there was the constant whirr of the lift motor. There was also the cathedral bells which were chimed for two minutes seemingly at 6pm and 10 pm daily. As a bellringer this was a bonus for me but I think others may be less happy. Be sure to ask for a room overlooking the street!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Guernsey

Convenient Hotel.

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Staff. Situation. Beds.
Cons: English breakfast.
Location: Lots to do in St Malo. Could easily spend couple of days here if you like sea, boats, museums, walled towns.
We are from Guernsey and the ferry stops in St Malo. This hotel is literally 3 minutes from the port. Driving into the walled town is interesting as diners are only inches from the car. The hotel is signposted and we found it easily. The hotel lift is quite an experience being narrow and short if two cases send them up and walk. but beds are comfortable and whilst some rooms had shower in the bath ours had walk in shower. All around are places to eat. A very convenient friendly hotel. We had to park outside walls on outward journey but were able to book the garage on way back. You do pay but worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Good standard of hotel in central position

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Nice size room, very clean, good breakfast and central location
Cons: Slight mould problem in our room
Location: We loved St Malo, and also visited some nice places, such as Dinan and Dinard.
We spent a very enjoyable six night break at this hotel.