Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Traditional style hotel with excellent staff.

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
We chose a weekend when a large wedding was on and access to room was difficult during this period. The plumbing only worked on occasion but the section of the hotel we stayed in was historic so this is probably a general issue. Staff were very good and patient with my almost nonexistent French. The gourmet dinner was excellent albeit unexpected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A boutique hotel with lovely staff.

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Pros: We loved the courtyard area, relaxing ambiance and welcome.
Location: The hotel seemed a little out of the main town, but we explored on our bikes. Might not feel so safe at night.
We were lucky enough to be upgraded and we had a lovely room in the ecological boutique side of the hotel, our own terrace and use of the pool. The staff could not have done enough to help us, they were lovely. I would not say 100% a hotel to take a child, which we did, and think you could gain so much more from the picturesque grounds but they were so accomadting and welcoming to our child. We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend, especially if you have time for spa treatments.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small pool and an unusual arrangement for dinner.

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: The rooms and common areas are softly lit and provide a relaxing ambience. The staff were pleasant.
Cons: Breakfast. Selection of proper teas and a better quality of the food provided for breakfast.
Location: No idea, sorry.
The pool was disappointing due to its size, more like a extremely large bath. There is an escort provided to take you from the accommadation in the spa area of the hotel to the restaurant area. The quality of the food and wine is excellent for dinner. Breakfast however was a total disappointment. The variety of tea on offer is Darjeeling (a weak tea at best) and not a satisfactory tea for the start of the day. Earl Grey, nice if you like it and Green Tea plus a few other tisanes. A an english lady I would of like English Breakfast tea or Assam, both teas with a depth and strength suitable for the start of a day. It is of course appreciated that this is a high class hotel in France where most people drink coffe but a better selection of tea would have made up sor the sparse offerings of cold hard boiled eggs, cheese and ham that were past there best and a very limited selection of breads and pastries.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

A dishonest place!

Posted Sep 15, 2014
On september 1st 2014 we stopped at LeCoq-Gadby for 1 night prior to continue our trip in Brittany. We asked for a quiet room, since we were on a jet lag. The only room available was on a busy street, not quiet at all. Although the hotel was like a ghost place, at 4PM, there were no other room available… We learned, later on, that the cleaning staff did not have the time to clean most of the hotel rooms…. 25 minutes after our arrival, we decided to move to another hotel. The personal of LeCoq-Gadby then decided to retain our full payment. We phoned twice at the hotel trying to get our money back, with no success. We finally had to call VISA to cancel and recover the full amount of the room!
4 out of 5
by Kearney from Uk

Quite hotels

Posted Sep 9, 2013 on Hotels
Only used a room to sleep in very clean . Bit quite and expensive for drinks and not much communication from staff. So as long as you don't mind finding your own way around it is perfect 15 min walk to town if you find your way !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel.

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Nice staff, the facilities are great (try the pool with the waterfall - great massage!), although a bit odd layout with split receptions. Only downside was that on the classical side the rooms didn't have a shower, only the bath with a spray handle. Would definitely stay again though!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2012 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Becky from London, UK

Thoroughly pleasant stay

Posted Jul 27, 2012
Pros: Great looking hotel rooms & service.
Cons: Restaurant is expensive.
Lovely hotel with excellent service from all of the members of staff we met. The hotel is also very close to the town centre (1 mile) so a 15 minute walk. The only slight issue is that the restaurant is fine dining so it's very expensive. We did eat there and the food was very good but the prices are high for just a normal meal (ie. not a special occasion). The staff did offer to suggest external restaurants though so there was no pressure to eat at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CC from London

Definitely recommend

Posted Jun 10, 2012
Pros: Quiet and comfortable
Cons: Expensive restaurant
Location: Bit of walk to town but lovely scenery on the way especially through the park
Very comfortable bed. Very clean and spacious. Bit of a walk to town but beautiful scenery on the way.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel to stay

Posted Jul 16, 2008
Room was a little too small