Ratings based on 406 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Uncomplicated and effective

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: A simple offering but does what it does very well. They have pleasant and efficient staff and clean, modern rooms.
Have used this hotel several times due to its excellent location. It is right opposite the train station, near the ferry and within an easy walk to the town.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by Assistante de Direction, Hotel Management
Many thanks from all the team for our felicitations. It's a pleasure for us to know that the client are happy from the stay. We hope that you come back to St Malo and in our hotel. Best Regards
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from jersey

Eco friendly but not the price

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Terrible pillow, bathroom has nothing, air conditioning is not working, waiting staffs to check in or out, very basic rooms this is not a four star hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by LA DIRECTION, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Saint Malo Balmoral. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, The Direction
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
This the second time we´ve stayed and this time wasn´t as good as the first
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

St Malo Hotel Balmoral (Mercure) reasonable stay

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
The stay was good but with certain points that need to be clarified to future guests. The double bed was very comfortable but is on the small side for people one of whom is over 6 foot tall & weighing over 15 stone (110KG) . There was ample pressure and hot water in the shower. The kettle in the room was a nice surprise for a French hotel but meagre rations of milks and coffee although hotel reception supply more on request. The breakfast spread was OK to fair for continental breakfast although the hot bacon was not crispy and swimming in fat (had it been microwaved?) and the scrambled egg was like yellow set porridge and needed a lot of seasoning to bring it to life. Coffee, juices, pastries and toast bread were good and plentiful. The hotel is across an open windy square from the main train station and convenient for buses going either to the Intra-Muros part of St Malo or to the Madeleine shopping centre. If it is cold or windy or wet, the walk to Intra Muros is a bleak 15 to 20 minutes. On busy weekends (such as 12 and 13 November with the 11 Nov Armistice Day public holiday, parking is not easy. The hotel parking is in a garage below the hotel and worth the EUR 10 per day as 3 hours on a street meter is the same price.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Guernsey

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent central location. Ideal for stay prior to ferry to Guernsey.
4 out of 5
by William

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
Very modern hotel and nice room. Location - walk to old town around 15 minutes and almost opposite the train station. Breakfast reasonable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sittingbourne

Excellent stay in St Malo

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: As above
Great stay in the Mercure hotel, check in was easy ,the room spotless, and very comfortable, all the front desk staff very helpful, and breakfast was very nice. Underground secure parking available. Visit the old town ,which is only a short walk from the hotel, for excellent food ,drinks ,shopping and atmosphere. Will definitely be returning
4 out of 5
by John from Las Vegas

Nice place tpo stay when in St Malo.

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay in St Malo. The location was quite a hike from where you want to be, though (about 1 mile). This would definitely be a problem for people with mobility issues. We were located right by the train station, though, so it would be convenient for train travelers. I don't like paying for parking, but they probably charge for it because space is quite limited.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from plymouth devon

Nice hotel opposite station

Posted Mar 28, 2016
Pros: Beds were comfy in the superior twin room
Cons: Can not say anything as we only used the room as a base for walking
Location: Opposite the station 10mins walk to beach, 25mins walk to old town
Our room was ready in the morning so we could go staite there from the morning ferry,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Friendly helpful staff

Posted Mar 9, 2016 on Wotif
The staff couldn't have been nicer, but the Hotel has no restaurant. Finding a good evening meal was difficult. Little to choose from in the district. Easy walk to St.Malo IntraMuros. Easy drive to car ferry to Jersey. Underground parking at hotel useful.