Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Barham, Australia

Nice country pub close to attractions

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: Good friendly country feel with good accomodation and very good food.
Location: Good quite location for a stopover to break up the journey
Great country atmosphere, a welcome stopover to break up the travel distance.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous quaint setting

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness, staff friendliness and helpfulness. Quaint decoration and attention to detail in rooms. Food was gorgeous.
Cons: Bigger breakfasts - it was yummy!!
Great pub in stunning village. The rooms are perfectly styled in a country cottage theme. The photos definitely do not do them justice. Very warm and cosy. Extremely clean. Staff were lovely and so so helpful. I wish we were able to stay for longer. Cannot recommend enough!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent service

Posted May 3, 2016
A great place with a wonderfully welcoming atmosphere. All of the staff were friendly and very helpful. The food was great too. I'd definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baldock, Herts

Good hotel - but a little out of the way.

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Pros: Location, close to Perry's cider mill. Great breakfast.
Cons: Better bed
Location: Perry's. Chard and Crreewkerne nearby: 30 mins from Yeovil
Stayed here for one night as we had a family gathering to go to. It's a pub and the car park is opposite. Great staff gave us a warm welcome. They were prepared to make us sandwiches as we were going to arrive late. They would have stayed up is we were to arrive after 11pm. They also serve great beer! The pub itself dates from the 16th century and the rooms are in a new build block accessed through the back door. The room was clean and tidy with separate bathroom. Soaps and conditioner are included, which is a nice touch. Shower pressure was excellent :) If I had one niggle, it was the bed. Maybe I'm too used to a tempura mattress, but when one of us moved, the who bed bounced which made a nights sleep slightly disturbed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Guernsey C.I.

QUAINT PUB HOTEL

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: LOVELY AND COSY
Cons: KEEP AS IT IS
Location: IDEAL LOCATION FOR LOVELY WALKS
EXCELLENT SERVICE AND VERY FRIENDLY STAFF FOOD FAB AND REASONABLE PRICES FOR DRINKS AND FOOD.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey UK

The New Inn - Excellent stay

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Pros: Staff and management gave excellent friendly service
Cons: Nothing comes to mind
Location: Near Ilminster
Excellent stay. Staff and management very friendly (even gave me a jump start next day!). Food was lovely, room clean and well appointed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Family friendly stay

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Pros: Everything
Location: Lyme Regis is 30 minutes away Lots of National Trust places to visit.
New Inn at Dowlish Wake is conveniently located for the South coast and for Somerset. The welcome throughout our 2 nights 3 days was always warm. Breakfast was a good selection and tasty. Rooms was very clean and comfortable. Pub food was good value and delicious.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Queensland, Australia

Good value for money

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: The friendliness of the staff. The good value home cooking in the dining room.
Cons: The WiFi if possible in the area. The inn closing for three hours in the afternoon could make it difficult for some travellers on arrival.
Location: New Inn is somewhat off the beaten track. The roads in and out are quite narrow. As we only stayed overnight, we did not explore the surrounding are
Our GPS took us down an extremely narrow road into Dowlish Wake but once there the room was comfortable and very clean. We arrived just before 3pm fortunately as the inn closes for the afternoon from 3 to 6pm. We enjoyed a Monday night special of very good local steak with all the trimmings and wine.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small and friendly B & B

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Room very comfortable and breakfast excellent. Staff extremely accommodating. Shower a bit unpredictable and bathroom a bit damp. Pub good with nice food and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Simple good value B&B in a traditional village pub

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Simple, clean, great staff, good pub food, with a few local specialities.
Cons: Decor and fittings in the rooms are now rather old fashioned but all fully functional. The WiFi was not accessible from the bedroom.
Location: Convenient for Ilminster and Perry's cider mill. Also Gooch and Housego is nearby for business visitors.
Good evening in the bar, quiet comfortable rooms. This is a traditional English pub with a good range of beers and wines. Pub and staff seem popular with the locals.