Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad information!

Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
I was told on the phone that queen size beds were available to book, whichI did. Upon arrival there were none!! A VERY uncomfortable night ensued.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
good location great for coast and National trust properties, very friendly welcoming owner, staff and locals made to feel very welcome; breakfast and restaurant had great food.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Never give top marks as leaves no room for improvement but have on this occasion. Will come back for a repeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Quiet English village Pub.

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Quiet, spacious, and friendly staff and locals.
Cons: Not much!
Location: Not far from Yeovilton R.N. Air Station and Museum, and Salisbury. About an hour from Stonehenge.
Excellent Pub in a quiet English village. Clean spacious rooms out the back of the Pub, away from the bar noise. The English breakfast was all one could desire and the pub-dog was friendly as well (even with complete strangers). We would recommend it to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay close to Yeovil but nice a quie

Posted Aug 18, 2016
The room was a nice size and very comfortable Breakfast was good and the menu was varied Beer was also good and the dog was friendly
3 out of 5
by stephen from Chipppenham

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
A lovely area with lots of NT places to visit. The specific requirement of gluten free wasn't seen by the pub so unfortunately no bread or sausages at breakfast. We had the 4 poster room with spa bath. Bedding wasn't as nice as i would have hoped. This room also walked right out into the carpark and a gate next door which meant neighbours nosing in the window. so not a great view, although it was very quiet. Food in the evening was OK but nothing as good as the other reviews had said.
5 out of 5
by Mark from Witney

Loved It!

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed overnight at the Duke of York in order to visit some of the excellent National Trust properties in the area. Shepton Beauchamp is a lovely, peaceful, rural village - just what we were looking for, and the pub itself has retained the atmosphere of the village local. The food, both for dinner and breakfast, had a home cooked feel to it while also being of the very highest standard. Plenty of choice of ale, all excellent, as I can confirm first hand. Staff were friendly - didn't even recognise the landlord at first, as he was on the public side of the bar, where a good landlord should be! All in all an excellent experience, I only wish we could have stayed longer. Plenty of other National Trust properties in the area though, so we'll probably be back!
5 out of 5
by Richard from Sevenoaks

Excellent place to stay

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
Convenient location, rooms are annexes on back of terrific pub. Friendly landlord made us very welcome
5 out of 5
by Maureen from Worcestershire

No traffic only peace

Posted May 21, 2016 on Hotels
Very relaxing
4 out of 5
by ronald from port talbot

the welsh at the duke.

Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
very clean pub breakfast excellent evening meals superb made very welcome by paul,Hayley and all the staff.