Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheltenham

Good food and a friendly atmosphere.

Posted Aug 30, 2017 on Ebookers
This was my third visit, which is recommendation in itself. Dinner was excellent and staff are friendly. It would probably suit a couple or small group rather than a single traveller as it has a real 'local pub' feel to it, although I think if you stayed for more than one night you would quickly fit in. It took a couple of attempts to log into the wi-fi, but it did work then. The room itself was clean and comfortable and breakfast was really good. The car park is at the back of the building up a small alleyway and is plenty big enough.
5 out of 5
by DAVID

A lovely room, and lovely location

Posted Aug 27, 2017 on Hotels
A lovely room. We stayed in the apartment 4 with the four poster. A lovely spacious bath. A bit dusty with a few cobwebs but otherwise brilliant. Certainly worth a visit
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: meals and staff. absolutely outstanding
Cons: Rooms ok - in annex to pub. Wifi only works in pub aral
The pub and the meals are outstanding. The rooms are average. Wifi only works in the pub or breakfast room, not really in the rooms. Staff are excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad information!

Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
I was told on the phone that queen size beds were available to book, whichI did. Upon arrival there were none!! A VERY uncomfortable night ensued.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
good location great for coast and National trust properties, very friendly welcoming owner, staff and locals made to feel very welcome; breakfast and restaurant had great food.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Never give top marks as leaves no room for improvement but have on this occasion. Will come back for a repeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Quiet English village Pub.

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Quiet, spacious, and friendly staff and locals.
Cons: Not much!
Location: Not far from Yeovilton R.N. Air Station and Museum, and Salisbury. About an hour from Stonehenge.
Excellent Pub in a quiet English village. Clean spacious rooms out the back of the Pub, away from the bar noise. The English breakfast was all one could desire and the pub-dog was friendly as well (even with complete strangers). We would recommend it to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay close to Yeovil but nice a quie

Posted Aug 18, 2016
The room was a nice size and very comfortable Breakfast was good and the menu was varied Beer was also good and the dog was friendly
3 out of 5
by stephen from Chipppenham

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
A lovely area with lots of NT places to visit. The specific requirement of gluten free wasn't seen by the pub so unfortunately no bread or sausages at breakfast. We had the 4 poster room with spa bath. Bedding wasn't as nice as i would have hoped. This room also walked right out into the carpark and a gate next door which meant neighbours nosing in the window. so not a great view, although it was very quiet. Food in the evening was OK but nothing as good as the other reviews had said.
5 out of 5
by Mark from Witney

Loved It!

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed overnight at the Duke of York in order to visit some of the excellent National Trust properties in the area. Shepton Beauchamp is a lovely, peaceful, rural village - just what we were looking for, and the pub itself has retained the atmosphere of the village local. The food, both for dinner and breakfast, had a home cooked feel to it while also being of the very highest standard. Plenty of choice of ale, all excellent, as I can confirm first hand. Staff were friendly - didn't even recognise the landlord at first, as he was on the public side of the bar, where a good landlord should be! All in all an excellent experience, I only wish we could have stayed longer. Plenty of other National Trust properties in the area though, so we'll probably be back!