Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Sandeep

Good comfortable villa & superlative views

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Overall quite good. Arrived around 1 am due to there being just one person at the airport to check passports for the whole flight!! But night manager very cordial & professional and helped us well. The villa is a little away from the main hotel. There are steep steps going down first and then steep climb to get to the villa (not for the ones with weak knees) but the view more than makes up for the effort. Best view in Santorini - the entire caldera & lovely sunset. Clean villa with all facilities (no microwave) & good quality toiletries. Breakfast very upmarket (not the usual buffet) with dishes made to order from a select menu. Good quality ingredients and top notch service. The only slight complaint was that we asked for a bottle of white wine on the night of arrival and unknown to us were given to most expensive one on the menu & were charged 65 Euros for that bottle on checkout. Would be happier if somebody would have let us know!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pictures online e don't even look like the hotel color wise. Room was small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hobart Australia

Perfect hotel with stunning views

Posted Apr 6, 2017
From the moment we arrived until our departure our stay was simply magnificent. The staff were warm friendly and helpful to the point we were made to feel as though we were the most important people in the world. The accommodation was homely, spotless and extremely comfortable to stay in. The views from the accommodation were unbelievable and even after 3 days walking out onto the balcony took our breath away. We cannot wait to go back and will definitely be staying here again.
1 out of 5
by Sarah

Don't go in winter months

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
I complete disappointment. The entire hotel was under construction. They wouldn't allow us to check in early even though no one was staying there. The pools, bars, restaurants, and hotel lobby were all closed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Great location,breakfast to be improved

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: Great location, being the highest point of the island offering fantastic view
Cons: Breakfast choice very limited and quality not up to 5 star hotel level Reception area very beautiful, but facility is worn in the room
Location: Lots of nice restaurant around
Great location, being the highest point of the island offering fantastic view Breakfast choice very limited and quality not up to 5 star hotel level Staffs do their job but not passionate Reception area very beautiful, but facility is worn in the room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

The view at the Maltese is exceptional!

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: The lady on reception was extremely helpful and friendly and the hotel was clean and well presented.
Cons: The ladder in the room was a bit hard work after knackering our legs out walking all day but still gave the room character.
Location: Fab walk to Fira along the coast that took 30mins and a 2 hour walk to Oia over the mountains that we would strongly recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location perfect being out of main towns but still walkable distance. Nice local restaurants. Hotel staff helpful although a few end of season hiccups. Honeymoon room was nice albeit small room but always clean with private balcony. Definitely go for the sea view rooms. Local surroundings we're stunning!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hk

Honeymoon trip

Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels
Good breakfast, excellent sunset view. friendly staff upgraded our room(junior suite) to master suite which is v spacious with 2 queenie bed and 2 storey. however , the beds were short. besides, there was mouldy smell in the room which make us not willing to stay long inside the room. no telephone inside room until request. no bathtub in bathroom and temperature of water was not stable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Moldy rooms, NOT luxury - avoid

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
This is not a luxury hotel. We booked a junior suite (with a balcony with caldera view) and when we arrived they put us into a tiny room covered in mold, with a shared balcony that had its view completely blocked by a staircase. The room also had no water, which they did not tell us about. we complained because it was obviously uninhabitable - and they did move us but it took almost 8 hours. unfortunately, we prepaid so we couldnt just leave without losing the full cost of our 3 nights. The hotel lost power, wifi and water several times in our 3 days there. The manager and staff were friendly but not truthful, and we saw several new guests who tried to check in be turned away because the hotel was overbooked. Our last night, they hosted a wedding without telling any of the guests and the dance floor was right over our room which kept us up with blasting music and pounding all night. This hotel was in no way comfortable - it's maybe worth $60 a night, DEFINITELY NOT the exhorbitant prices they charge. The picture is the chair in our first room covered in mold.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels