Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harvey County, KS

Appletree Inn is great.

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: The location and accessibility are excellent. Plenty of parking. The hotel is very clean, quiet, family friendly.
Cons: At almost every hotel the bathroom vent fan rumbles noisily. I turned on the fan and sure enough - rumble. Just a little thing, but annoying. Why?
Location: Location is perfect. Downtown, but so easy to get to. Small town USA. Near intersection of highways 75 and 160.
We stayed overnight at Appletree in Independence, KS, and chose Appletree for its location and rating.
4 out of 5
by Paulette

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Timothy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2016
NO accessible outlets to use as charging station by bed. Bathroom very clean. Although less than average towel quality and only 2. Door to access from outside with key for security did not work, had to go clear through front to get to room. I told the front desk about it. she stated "yeah it works sometimes." Wish I was told that before I drove clear over there and unpack car. Below average hotel for the price of 138.00 for a small town. Way overpriced.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Deteriorating

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Things seem to have deteriorated since I stayed here a year ago. My room had many carpet stains, and the table wasn't clean. No conditioner or lotion. Pool wasn't functioning. Wifi was poor. Breakfast unremarkable except for abundance of styrofoam and plastic used for plates/cups/utensils.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Scott, KS

Room not as described

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Staff. Breakfast.
Cons: Humidity in dining area. Hot tubs not working. Dirty carpets.
Location: The location is absolutely wonderful. We love the park/zoo in Independence.
We took a chance on a locally owned hotel rather than staying in a "chain". We recently stayed at this hotel and booked a "Jr. Suite, 2 Queen Beds". In the description the room is described as having a "Relax - Private spa tub" and a "Bathroom - Private bathroom, deep soaking bathtub". In reality there was 1 small bathtub in a very tiny enclosed bathing room. No jets that would indicate a "spa tub". The coffee cups in the room were dirty with gooey coffee grime around the rim. The walls/art were updated which left the old, very stained carpet looking out of place and made me want to keep my shoes on the entire stay. The hallways reeked of cigarette smoke when all rooms nearby had no smoking signs on the doors. The icing on the cake was the "Hot tub" that this hotel brags about. There are 2 of them, and neither one was hot. Breakfast was uncomfortable due to the humidity from the pool; it is a nice idea but it just does not work. The free hot breakfast was good. The staff was polite and courteous. Overall I would not stay here again nor would I recommend this brand to other travelers.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Hotels
Was disappointed in upkeep of swimming area. We arrived Friday and the indoor pool was dirty. What looked to be French fries in bottom of pool. Also a hair ball and tissue paper. Informed front desk and was told no one could assist the matter until morning. Saturday the pool was cleaned but the water was freezing in pool and the water in the hot tub was cool. It was the temp that the pool should've been. Will not stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wichita, KS

Close to downtown

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Nice hotel with close proximity to downtown, restaurants, and shopping. We have stayed here several times and the rooms are usually clean, this time there was mild on the shower curtain. The pool area is nice and the breakfast is hot with a decent selection.
5 out of 5
by Marsha from Denver suburbs

Very satisified

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
Had a good room and will return again, if need be.