Ratings based on 288 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Quiet hotel close to the town square

Posted Oct 31, 2017
We were very happy with this hotel. Super clean! We were able to walk downtown to restaurants and attractions as well as to the Truman Home. It was quiet, the staff friendly and helpful. It has a beautiful patio garden. Would return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Missoula - MT

Unique hotel close to the Truman Home

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Location: It is literally right across the street from the Truman Home (see picture - the Truman Home taken from the HGH front porch).
The hotel is a repurposed building, more like a B&B, with nicely furnished rooms. It is right across the street from the Truman Home, in the middle of the Historic Truman District, an easy walk or drive to the Truman Library and other sites in the area. There are newer, fancier hotels out on the I-70 strip, but the HGH offers a very nice, peaceful contrast to those.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice overall

Posted Sep 10, 2017
The room was definitely okay. The door seal was gone on our room. You couldnt see into the hall but it made noise a concern. Though it wasnt noisy at all. Outside isnt super nice. But everything else was very pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by mo, Hotel Management
thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the future.
3 out of 5
by Jerry

Creatures in the attic

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is a renovated office building. The room was small but clean and accommodating. The toilet was clogged upon arrival...not sure if that caused me to be over critical or not...but they fixed it right away and apologized profusely. The thing is...there is a suspended ceiling in the room and air ducts connect the rooms. I was up all night listening to my neighbor peeing every 40 minutes and snoring like a 300 pound drunk (he was). Since I was up all night... I spent my time staring at the ugly ceiling and trying to ignore the bright light coming under the door...weird door adjustment without a door sweep...also did not help the noise pollution. Finally, I am absolutely certain that at about 2am I could hear mice running back and forth on the ceiling tiles until about 7am. I saw no signs of rodent infestation, but we did not stick around to find out. We checked out at 7:30 and hit the road...nobody asked about if we enjoyed our stay and we did not offer any unsolicited comments. I travel 15-20 times a year worldwide and I have NEVER left a poor review. I would not stay here again unless I had no other options.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017
Sorry that your neighbor disturbed your sleep. Most of the hotel was filled with Concert goers that night. On the issue of creature noise, it could have come from the room above yours, as you were on the second floor of the hotel and there is a room directly above the one you were in. We have no evidence of mice in our hotel, on any level. Thank you for trying us.
5 out of 5
by Carl

Posted Aug 30, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017
Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2017 on Orbitz
Location is perfect for historical square. Right across the street from Truman's home. Everything is walking distance. Breakfast was okay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by mo, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are located 3 blocks from Historic Independence Square with its restaurants and shops. You can walk to several Historic Sites from the hotel, including Harry Truman's Library. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Higher Ground Hotel...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Clean and comfortable. Good location near the Truman home and Presidential Library.
4 out of 5
by Bart

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We hope to see you again at Higher Ground Hotel...