Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Haven, MI

Nice friendly hotel in a convenient location

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: Nice pool, nice hot tub, nice lobby, nice little store with even fishing tackle in lobby.
Cons: Would have liked some scrambled eggs versus only hard boiled eggs, or some fruit options like bananas, apples or oranges for breakfast.
Location: Burt Lake and a few nice shops nearby
Front desk woman was real friendly checking in. Nice little place at a fair price. Would definitely stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Looks can be deceiving!

Posted Nov 1, 2017
BEWARE! If I could give it zero stars I would. The fancy signage outside is a complete lie. Looks can be very deceiving. Everything looks great until you get into your room and find it hasn’t been vacuumed in a month or has had any type of maid service at ALL. Stained carpet, globs of hair on the floor, dust & cobwebs, splatters of unknown substance on the walls, nightstand & computer chair and to top it all off, TOENAIL clippings. Yes. TOENAIL CLIPPINGS on the floor. And the bathroom is a whole other story. Ring around the toilet, the shower had so much soap scum everywhere we were scared to even turn it on, wallpaper peeling, moulding falling off the wall, and the floor was sticky. And 8 moldy smelling towels. All for $100 a night!!! I’m ok with things being dated given the area but it don’t have to be dirty. Complete and utter filth. 3 other family members rooms were the same exact way, if not worse. So it’s not just an isolated incident. And when I confronted the desk, I got “oh I’m sorry, I’ll let management know”. Like really? She didn’t seemed shocked or like she cared very much. I will never ever go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from joliet il

Stay

Posted Oct 24, 2017
The hotel staff was friendly breakfast Was good loved the room jacquiizzi Was great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Nice place, easy on, easy off expressway

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: Location, waffles for breakfast
Location: It is located in Indian River. We were there for an anniversary party, and didn't do any site-seeing. The Cross in the Woods is the biggest tourist
We brought our dog, great place for walking, placed us near the end so we didn't have too much noice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stop

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: Location, breakfast, price.
Location: Right off of the freeway.
I picked this place for its location off of I-75 just south of Mackinaw City. It was very comfortable, clean, and convenient. We ate the free breakfast and were on our way in the morning ready to do up north stuff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Welcoming staff and comfortable stay👍 We checked in late and front desk attendee was pleasant. Checked out early and different front desk attendee was cheerful and culturally responsive. For an area in Michigan that doesn't get as much in diversity opportunities, I was pleased to be on the receiving end of the polite intercultural exchange effort!
4 out of 5
by Nanette

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by TS from Indian River, MI

Underwhelmed

Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
Many stains on hallway carpeting. Room was reasonably clean, but pillows were flat and bedspread had spots on it. Spacious bathroom but tub extremely slow to drain. Most disconcerting was returning to the room on the second night to find the safety latch flipped over and the door ajar, as though housekeeping went to get something and never returned. The room had been partly cleaned--beds made and used towels removed, but no clean towels were left, etc. When I went to the front desk to inquire about it, I was told we had left the 'Do not disturb' sign out (we hadn't); if we had, why would they have entered the room at all and then half-cleaned it? Despite pointing this out, that's what they continued to insist occurred. Probably will not stay again if other options are available.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NO--THERE WILL BE NO NEXT TIME

Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
the 3 patrons in front of me were offered first floor rooms... my request was denied... I was then told my military discount did not apply as I booked through expedia-your parents... tyhen I was told there was NO ELEVATOR... YES, I AM AMBULATORY AND A LIFETIME MEMBER OF THE DAV CHAPTER 12... THEN AFTER GETTING SETTELED THE PHONE RANG***we have 2 rooms down... since I setteled in I was not about to move again. the dirt in the hall and stair landing was there when I came and when I left... the rear door NEVER LOCKED, WIDE OPEN 24-7....SECURE??? THERE WAS ENOUGH DIRT ON THE ROOM CHAIR AND TABLES AND FLOOR TO PLANT A GARDEN... NOT TO MENTION THE CARPET BEING TORN AT THE ENTRY IN THE ROOM. we would not use the pool let alone the jaquizzie
4 out of 5
by Kimberly

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 1, 2017 on Hotels