Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Gabriel

Posted Jan 20, 2016 on Hotels
This cozy house turned hostel is staffed by warm and welcoming hosts. Nothing fancy, but decorated with charm and cleaned with thought.
5 out of 5
by Elizabeth from Indianapolis

Like Home

Posted Jan 14, 2016 on Hotels
I strummed the unplugged electric guitar. I watched the origami mobile. I went to the Shipwreck.
5 out of 5
by Teresa from Claypool, IN

meet people from many countries

Posted Jan 12, 2016 on Hotels
The hostel was clean. There were quite a few young people, from several countries. Everyone was friendly and polite.
4 out of 5
by James from GR, MI

What is the Indy Hostel?

Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Hotels
The Indy Hostel was clean and the staff were friendly. It seems to be primarily a crash pad for twenty-somethings.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Ellison

thumbs up

Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels
i would stay here again, never for an extended stay but for a weekend certainly. the hostel has quiet hours from 10pm - 10am, which is appreciated. unfortunately i was here over the big ten championship weekend and a group of raucous guests came back at 4 or 5am and they clearly had no courtesy for the rest of the guests who were already sleeping. so if you're staying on a game day weekend, be prepared guests who may not observe the quiet hours. other than that one mishap (which i'm sure would not happen on the average weekend), i have no complaints about the Indy Hostel. cute venue and pleasant staff, and you have access to a full kitchen so you can certainly bring some of your own food to make there.
3 out of 5
by Lori from Mom traveler

Homey & Clean

Posted Dec 8, 2015 on Hotels
A Well Run, Clean Hostel With A Welcoming Atmosphere. In One Direction Was Industry That Didn't Belong In The Residential Area. Let's Hope The Town Cleans That Up
5 out of 5
by Not Provided from Dallas, TX

Indy Hostel---Great Place!

Posted Nov 23, 2015 on Hotels
I enjoyed being at the Indy Hostel!!! It was light on my budget and I had great roommates so I never had an issue there. The first 2 nights I was there, they didn't have the heat on and I froze my butt off but then that next night they had the heat on and kept it on. My only con to staying here was that they didn't have cable--which can be a deal breaker for some people. Other than that, it was fine staying here. I would recommend Indy Hostel to anyone I know.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great place to chill

Posted Nov 18, 2015
Warm friendly people and a very cool indie atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

More than just a place to stay!

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Pros: Clean, friendly, hospitable, comfortable. I felt like I was right at home.
Location: Butler University, Broad Ripple area, great restaurants, Monon Trail. It's ideal.
This is the best hostel I have ever stayed in and I will definitely be back. Convenient location, super friendly staff, lively decor, very nice outdoor space and very accommodating. Check in was easy and staff will give you a little tour and get you situated. Many resources available on site to help you plan your visit to Indy and the guests I met there were so nice. We had a campfire the first night and talked. For a solo traveler, it's nice to have company to compare notes with. This place is extremely clean and well cared for. I love their brightly painted walls and wild artwork that give it a great vibe. It's close to some great places to visit and a shopping, dining neighborhood as well.