Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 8, 2018
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2018
Cozy house. Very laid back. Friendly staff. Would definitely recommend to anyone passing through Indianapolis
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us host your stay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Was tired when booked. l didn't know it was hostel

Posted Apr 22, 2018
Pros: quiet
Cons: The steps were a challenge to me.
Breakfast not worth listing. Generic cheerios and fresh mild. Can't eat white bread with peanut butter.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Home away from Home Hostel

Posted Apr 17, 2018
Pros: The quaint, clean, almost at home feeling. Travelers looked out for one another and the staff helped.
Cons: Continental breakfast options (possibly provide some waffles or pre-made muffins & tea and juice) to go along with coffee and dry cereal.
Location: Broad Ripple has a variety of restaurants, shops, and hang-out or club options. 5 miles away; downtown Movies/theaters/shopping nearby-bus accessible
The Indy Hostel was my first time ever at a hostel and although I was leery about staying in a hostel setting, the Indy Hostel left a positive impression on me. Indy hostel felt more like being at a friends house than at a cold, distant hotel. The staff was friendly and warm; the hostel was very clean and comfortable with comfortable bedding. The layout was welcoming and had an family oriented feeling with comfortable lounging, TV, quaint/quiet areas and a kitchen for cooking/storing food with a variety of table setting to dine in the hostel or outdoors. Quiet, peaceful neighborhood with things to do in the area (good walking distance and bus or Uber/Lyft access). I would definitely recommend to friends!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay

Posted Mar 24, 2018 on Orbitz
Respectful really and quiet when sleeping would recommend to anyone coming to Indianapolis IN needs a place to stay for a good price
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2018 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us! Look forward to hosting you next time your in town.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would anyone like to die?

Posted Jan 23, 2018 on Hotels
It started out by no one allowing me to enter without the consent of the manager but he was not around. As I talked to this manager he disclosed that he alone decides how long a person can stay and how many times. I was told I could only stay there 7 times in a calendar year but yet there was a woman that had been there for several weeks. As I looked around I noticed that the stairs had improper handrails to help protect against falling. I noticed that there was a utility room with gas appliances that was connected to sleeping areas, CO anyone? I noticed also that one sleeping area had no permanent heat source. There was also not enough combustion and dilution air for the appliances, CO anyone? it was very noise at nights. I don't remember seeing smoke detectors either. Surprisingly they did have egress for one of the sleeping areas but not the others in basement. Not enough parking was present unless you like street parking.
4 out of 5
by Julie

A different type of experience that was enjoyable

Posted Dec 4, 2017 on Hotels
Staff went out of their way to send me an email with a detailed explanation of how to check in late (I knew we were arriving after check-in ended and called. The person on the phone was friendly and efficient.). The hostel atmosphere was inviting. Price was good. Beds were like mine at home, meaning the mattresses weren't all that firm, but again, everything was clean. The neighborhood appeared safe with small, well-kept houses. Thehostel building, itself was cute, atttractive and had a very nice deck.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 19, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

Posted Nov 9, 2017
The hostel was clean and well kept. There was a locker to store your belongings if desired. You provide your own lock. Parking on the street. A nice back yard. Social activities were held during my stay with a band and costume contest.
5 out of 5
by Elizabeth

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2017 on Hotels