Ratings based on 144 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dayton, Ohio

Cute clean place, off the beaten path

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Location: Near fairgrounds,shopping district and bike/hiking trail.
Liked that this place was close to many areas of interest. Was able to cook in a full clean kitchen. Very fun eclectic experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ozark, AL

It was OK but then :(

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Cons: Have AC & more explanations of things not "it will cost ___ here's your bed"
Location: Guess if you consider Several blocks to entertainment within walking distance there are restaurants, night life, a few stores & BlueIndy cars to rent.
The place was as expected by the pictures except No Air-condition, didn't expect that in this day & age. The mattress was WAY too firm, which I've had to deal with at some hotels but then add the heat & no AC & didn't sleep well. Granted I wasn't expecting a GREAT stay, but I wasn't expecting to have my Prescription Glasses taken. Why would someone take Prescription glasses its not like they could use them, no 2 people have the same prescription, they can't sale them. I am BEYOND upset & the employees didn't seem too concerned therefore I'm EXTREMELY upset, expected more concern for my missing/stolen Prescription Glasses. . My first experience with a Hostel was a BAD one. Oh I should also mention what they consider breakfast, 1 kind of cereal & toast. I'm lactose intolerant so no cereal for me & couldn't find the bread or the coffee. So no breakfast :(
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Excellent hostel

Posted Aug 3, 2017
I stayed at the Indy Hostel one night, while passing through Indianapolis. It's as nice a hostel as any I've visited. The hostel is in what was once a private residence. They have some private rooms, but I was in a large dormitory room. The hostel was neat and clean, and the staff very friendly and helpful. It's a little distant from downtown, but within reasonable driving distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2017 by Indy Hostel, Hotel Management
Thank you so much Rob! The Indy Hostel team definitely appreciates your feedback :) If you are ever back in the area please be sure to stop in and see us again!
5 out of 5
by Hans Peter

An amazing gem in Indianapolis!

Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
DO NOT MISS THIS PLACE! I have stayed at numerous hotels throughout the world, but this hostel is a true gem in the middle of Indianapolis!! On arrival I was met by two smiling young hosts that quickly checked me in and showed me around the "house". As a guest you have access to a shared kitchen, bathroom, two living/family rooms and a porch. Downstairs are the shared sleeping rooms. Next to my bed the hosts had written my name on a chalk board and left me a welcome note on the pillow - WOW!The bunk beds were a bit squeaky but new and clean. I asked if the hosts could recommend a place to eat and they referred me to this amazing restaurant with likeminded friendly and welcoming servers and excellent (yet very affordable) food. All in all a fantastic stay that I will recommend anyone to try.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2017
Thank you so much Peter! We seriously appreciate the kind words more than you can understand. We have so much going on this upcoming fall so please be sure to stop in and see us again! We would be more than happy to host you :)
5 out of 5
by Matthew

Great Place!

Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels
This is an awesome place. The staff is great. It's close to walk to around to places.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If you just need a bed. Its ok!

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
Was not what I had expected based on the pictures you had on your site.
4 out of 5
by Jacqueline

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Joan

Happy night

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
II had never stayed in a hostel before, it was a great experience. I was alone and there one night, but it was so great to have people to talk with, rather than to be in a room all by myself. and I enjoyed the neighborhood.The location was in a most convenient spot to all I had to do I would definitely do it again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by DEANA

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels