Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Use any other hotel option in downtown Indy

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: I learned that you can use a hair dryer as a space heater.
Cons: The heat, the hot water, the staff's indifference to guests, the worn out furnishings.
Location: The location is great for anything in downtown Indianapolis, but literally any other hotel choice is better.
Despite paying for this hotel a full year in advance and arriving early on my check in day, I was still given a tiny, oddly shaped room at the end of a long hallway in the corner of the building. The room was small and the shower was a weird triangle shape. After hearing "oh, you booked this room through Expedia", I wondered if my choice of booking online had some influence on the quality of room I was given. When I first entered the room, it was cold and I turned the heat up - the thermostat simply has "warmer or cooler", no actual temperature numbers. I went out to dinner and returned later to find that the temperature was not coming up so I pushed the heat lever to the maximum and went to bed. The next morning the room was colder then before and I also had only a few minutes of hot water before it turned cold. On my way out for the day, I stopped by the front desk to complain, but found nobody to complain to. The second night I returned quite late and found the room extremely cold, but due to the late time I just bundled up and went to bed. If I had not paid for the room in advance I would have found another hotel the next morning. In the morning, the room was uncomfortably cold and the hot water lasted only a couple of minutes - this time I was ready though and didn't get caught off guard. On my way out that day, there was someone at the front desk to complain to and they were finally fixed. There was reported to be free breakfast, but I never found it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indianapolis

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: The hotel is very old and very well done it is truly a historical classic
Location: It is downtown on the circle close to every thing
Bad experience with Expedia not completing our reservation with the club
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Historic building

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Cons: No public parking, only valet which was $30 a night. Could only get hot water for shower one night. Other nights water temperature was just warm.
Location: Wonderful location in Monument Circle. Were attending Bands of America and was less than a mile walk straight down the street.
Great location, in Monument Circle, room was very small but adequate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Welcoming and Helpful

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: Staff assistance was great. Room was clean and comfortable.
Cons: Parking was not provided and too far from the hotel.
Location: Shopping and eateries were close by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location in downtown Indianapolis

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: The location was the main selling point for us. We needed a hotel that was close to the start line for the Monumental Marathon. This was a few blocks away but Indianapolis is such a great city to walk around in. The history and architecture/design of the hotel were amazing to look at. Since we aren't club members, we didn't feel comfortable looking around - but the entrance lobby was pretty neat.
Cons: The only downside was the hallway smelled like a nursing home. But the hotel was quiet (which was weird since it was supposedly sold out - we never saw another guest though) and the room was clean, so no complaints.
Location: Located right on Monument Circle so there are tons of great things to walk to and see, or restaurants to visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Very nice service. Valet followed me to Starbucks.

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Location: Great restaurants and cigar bar within walking distance.
Very nice and relaxing place to stay. The staff were very welcoming and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Eh.

Posted Sep 27, 2016
1) they could not find our reservation and actually looked in a three-ring binder for it. 2) rust came out of the shower faucet and the water got just lukewarm. 3) we hung out the breakfast request on the doorknob at 11 p.m. and it was still there in the morning when we requested our breakfast to arrive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location with well maintained rooms

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Very happy with the staff and the room was very clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to downtown

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: Convenient to conference that I was attending.
Hotel is convenient if visiting downtown Indianapolis. Great, old club feel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extremely disappointed.

Posted Jul 26, 2016
The room pictures online are very deceiving. My first room was cramped, stinky and in a state of disrepair. The room they moved us to was marginally better, but still lousy; at least the carpet didn't have stains everywhere. Do yourself a favor and go somewhere else.