Ratings based on 518 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extremely disappointed.

Posted Jul 26, 2016
The room pictures online are very deceiving. My first room was cramped, stinky and in a state of disrepair. The room they moved us to was marginally better, but still lousy; at least the carpet didn't have stains everywhere. Do yourself a favor and go somewhere else.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH, USA

Classy, comfortable hotel

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: N?A
Location: Sits on the central Monument Circloe of the capital.
Has a mini-museum to the U.S. Presidents Harrison (both Wm. Henry & Benjamin). The Harrison Bistro has a terrific double porkchop. Great, classy, comfortable establishment.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Central location downtown

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Location, character of the hotel, workout room and price.
Cons: Had to crawl under desk to plug in the coffee maker.
Location: We just watched the American Ninja Warrior competition, would have liked to go up in the monument but it was closed. Plenty of restaurants nearby.
Stayed here while watching American Ninja Warrior competition. Awesome location, the course was set up right outside the hotel. The staff were very friendly and accommodating even with the volume of people in front of the hotel. They even had the competitors come inside the hotel lobby while there was a two hour rain delay. Our room was clean, beds were comfortable. The only problem we had was with the parking because it looked like the street was blocked off for the competition, but you had to go around the barricade. Once there we had a wonderful experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 46002

First room was disgusting.

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Orbitz
The "very nice king club" room we were first place in was disgusting. Old, dirty, stuffy, would never shower in there. If you're not a member, customer service is not a real thing. There ARE nicer rooms. Don't settle.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Excellent location

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Pros: Location, price, old-world charm, staff.
Cons: soundproofing, water pipes.
Location: It's downtown. The beautiful war memorial is right in front of the hotel. It's an easy walk to most conferences, the canal walk is nearby.
Location is great, right on Memorial Circle. The bed was very comfortable. The room was hot, so I had to keep the window open at night, which really wasn't a problem, since my room faced the back. My room could be joined with the room next door to make a suite, so there was a door connecting the two rooms. Unfortunately, it's only a single door separating the two rooms, and I could hear everything the neighbor next door was doing. I could see the neighbor room's light coming underneath the door and around the door frame, I could hear every word of his phone conversation and I could even hear the voice of the person he was talking to on the phone! So I felt like I had limited privacy. I felt I shouldn't turn on the TV because I knew it would probably bother my next door neighbor (the guy on the cell phone). Rust in the bath water, but it cleared out quickly. It's a charming old hotel. The staff was great, but it does need a little updating.
3 out of 5
by Doug from Chicago

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
The Hotel had excellent old charm but, as can be expected with such an old building, it could benefit from updates. The shower drain was very slow and there was usually 3 inches of water standing in the bottom after a quick morning shower. The water temperature was very temperamental and would scald when the toilet was flushed or people in surrounding rooms used their water. The neighborhood is excellent and the hotel staff was all friendly and courteous.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

A hotel with character

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Pros: The building oozes character with the dark wood panelling, historic feel and a general ambience you only get with properties with genuine history.
Cons: Room cleanliness a little more notice to hoovering was needed. Carpet edges were dusty and I found some nail clippings in one spot.
Location: On Monument Circle, which is a great central location and easy to find on a map. Close to major attractions, one is directly opposite. The monument!
I loved this hotel, though more correctly it is a club with guest rooms and not a hotel. This is a key distinction and possibly the reason for the mixed reviews. The staff were incredibly helpful and polite despite batting an uncooperative IT system. I loved the stay and would definitely return if I were to stay in Indianapolis again. The location itself is great, directly on Monument Circle, which is a great central location and easy to find on a map. Good views can be had from the room overlooking the circle, if you pay the extra. I had only one minor niggle with the accommodation but overall it didn't detract too much from my experience. I can image this being the sort of place a single traveller or couple would enjoy, but a family with young children might not. It isn't a party place, so those looking for a lively bar may be disappointed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Jack A from Riverdale, NY

Old charm in need of a fix

Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
Doorman (first impression)showed very little interest and hospitality sense throughout my stay. Interior has enormous possibilities but lacks warmth (poor lighting)and attention to guests. Hotel feels like being operated on cost saving low budget mode.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Great location, beautiful building! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The beds were smaller than what we're used to (double instead of queen or king), but we knew that ahead of time and made do.