Ratings based on 429 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Union, KY

Historic Beauty for Those With Discerning Taste

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: The rich architecture and historical value The attention of the staff The location The wonderful on-site restaurant open to hotel guests.
Cons: Absolutely the only thing would be to make certain the guests know how to use the second floor entrance from the Chase Towers.
Location: Right on the circle in the heart of downtown there are restaurants all around within walking distance and it's conveniently located to any business.
I can't write enough about the experience of The Columbia Club from the moment you walk in. Let me say up front, if you're looking for something similar to your last Holiday Inn Express or Marriott, please move on. This hotel is truly for those who value the perfect combination of history and class. This was my first visit and I was amused at some of the reviews I read. Upon check in I was not asked to sign anything saying I couldn't bring in my own food although the thought didn't occur to me. I was travelling on business, not to have a party in my hotel room. I am unfamiliar with Indianapolis and the front desk staff gave me ideas for a close-by dinner, but then invited me to enjoy dinner at their own restaurant. Of course, I decided to give it a try and thoroughly enjoyed my evening. I had 2 glasses of wine, fresh bread, Ceasar salad and a wonderful salmon and asparagus dinner - all for just $67. The ambiance and attention from the wait staff was incredible and I thoroughly enjoyed my experience. The rooms are smaller than most hotel rooms, true. This hotel was built approximately 100 years ago and was suitable for its time. I found the rooms quaint, clean and completely comfortable. In the morning I ordered room service and literally got a complete breakfast for $13 delivered right on time and it was impeccable. Hats off to the chef who poached my eggs to perfection. Needless to say, I will be staying here again in the future. It was wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Location. Private club atmosphere
Cons: Dated bathroom
Location: On the circle in downtown Indianapolis. Very convenient for downtown conferences and conventions!
Excellent location. Great private club atmosphere. Excellent customer service.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, OK

Don't come here

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: The valets were very nice, and the morning staff were reasonably pleasant.
Cons: Everything, except the valet service, could be dramatically improved. They should have refrigerators in the rooms.
Location: There is a Starbucks right next door but they "don't allow outside food or drinks" back at the hotel.
We were "greeted" by a very unfriendly front desk clerk in a lobby that was uncomfortably dim. That led us up to our room that was supposed to be "spacious" but was, in reality, cramped. The bathroom looked like it had not been seriously cleaned in years, and the shower did not have any hot water. The carpet and upholstery on the furniture were dusty and worn out, and everything in the room, including the pillows and sheets, smelled like old cigar and cigarette smoke.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced

Posted Aug 17, 2015
With the cost of the room one should be able to take a hot bath in the morning! Totally unaccebtable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location downtown

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Pros: The location and historic style of the hotel were fantastic.
Cons: Our room, like most restaurants and other public spaces we visited in Indy, had an air conditioning system that struggled to keep up with the humidity
The hotel has a dress code but was tolerant of motorcyclists in town for the MotoGP races. Perfect location for enjoying activities related to the races on Monument Circle.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville

Classic, not modern.

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Not bad, great location on the circle. Somewhat pretentious for it's custiness but it was ok. Old, storied bldg, if you like history a good find. If you like amenities, move on.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tamra from Carbondale, Illinois

A disappointment, Higher Expectations

Posted May 31, 2015 on Hotels
The two day stay was a bit pricy for the room we had considering the condition of the room. It was a disappointment. The tile on the bath room floor was very dirty/grimy. We tried calling for room service using the extensions provided only to find out that the numbers were incorrect; after calling the front desk they connected us at which time I asked what the extension I was connected to only to find it wasn't the number on the call list for room service, it was very frustrating. Once we received our breakfast it wasn't prepared as described in the menu. My husband called to have it corrected and was hung up on. On the second day stay we encountered a CockRoach on the wall. We requested robes and were told they were only for sale and but for guest rooms. The water pressure in the shower was poor, very slow and the hot water was not hot, barely warm. The air conditioning was set by a timer and we had to reset it several times to keep the room cool and unstuffy. Needless to say we expected your hotel to be in high quality standard. You're hotel entrance and lobby is very lovely but I'm sorry to say, your rooms and service were a huge disappointment.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice place!

Posted Mar 11, 2015 on Hotels
I was in Indianapolis for a brief period of time for a business showcase. The hotel was beautiful and the staff were fantastic. The only complaint I had was the cleanliness of the bathroom sink. It felt like the previous customer had just washed up. I would certainly stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 9, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B.C.

Historic

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Lots of history happened in this building. Pretty cool to see such a well preserved landmark. Killer location downtown, close to lots of shopping and even the convention center. The restaurant at the Columbia Club is one of the finest I've eaten in awhile.