Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.6 out of 5
29% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Posted Sep 24, 2016
The Room was what I expected but not what I am use to. The hallway carpet could stand to be cleaned.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Aug 24, 2016
Most everything was ok ecvept u have to pay 35 dollars for linen exchange, also the day of check out some girl will bang on ur door until u answer insisting she give you new linens so basically the day u leave they try to get you for that 35$ linen exchange. Also my fiance and i argued one time and everyday after that we were harrased that he need not be there which is outrageous becauae he was listed on the room... We found one employee at check in that was friendly other than that they were very rude, ignorant and seem to feel good harrasing others making our stay misreable. Would not recomend this hotel to my worst enemy... The Value Places in Ohio are nothing close to the treatment we recieved at this hotel during our stay... Also it was very "dark" and there were groups of people hanging around everywhere in the parking lot... Overall we will never stay here again.. Best of Wishes. God Bless this property!!
3 out of 5
by Fode from Raleigh

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
Not good
1 out of 5
by Melvin

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
never got a chance to see the room the lobby smelled like urine
1 out of 5
by Gabriel from Porto

O pior Hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
Talvez o pior hotel em que já fiquei, a nível de conforto muito mau, o tipo de pessoas é do pior. Muito mau.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newyork

I couldn't find a coffee shop close to this places

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Terrible I was traveling with two kids no access to anything and I was afraid to go out my room for this strange people hanging around the lobby door it's was a nightmare for me and my kids
2 out of 5
by Nichole

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
Michael at check in was very rude and was unable to be reached. Do not recommend staying at this hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Collinsvill, Ok

Stay away !!

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: the room was clean and the neighborhood wasn't bad, but the people staying here may be an eye opener.
Cons: don't get me started
Location: there is a starbucks, walmart and panera bread close by
Where should i start. I should have heeded the previous warnings about this place. It's not in a bad neighborhood that was the best part. As for the hotel, I had a $59 rate that was not based on how many days I had to stay, I originally was going to stay 4 days because of my grandpa's funeral. I had to leave a day early but was told I couldn't get a refund because I had a special rate. Once this place has your money it's not coming back if you change plans. This place charges for everything from cleaning the room to pay to use internet service. And lastly the beds are rock hard!! that is an understatement! you have been warned to stay away!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2016 by Heather, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all guest feedback. We are disappointed and sorry that you had the experience you did. We wish you the best and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
1 out of 5
by Anthony from Chicago

Very disappointed. Not worth the savings!!!

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
Horrible. Not woth the 20 dollars a night savings. Will never try to save money on a "value hotel" again. After wrong keys, unable to locate my already paid for reservation, incompetent staff, and over 2 hours to check in while our 2 month old and 2 year old screamed because we were Stuck in this lobby that is the size of a bathroom we finally got info out room. Once in the room, loud noises from other rooms
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2016 by Heather, Hotel Management
We apologize for failing to provide you with a wonderful stay. We will be utilizing your feed back to work towards improving our location. Our goal is to provide our guest with an exceptional stay but it seems we have come up short. Thank you for your feedback and we wish you well on your future travels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Crawfordsville, In

Okay hotel for the price but lots of issues.

Posted Mar 23, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Rooms where very spacious.
Cons: Not charge so much for internet and have staff available after hours.
Location: Not for sure was there for work.
Fire alarm went off almost everyday. Got locked out twice because hotel staff couldn't put the right dates in. Hotel was loud you could hear everybody else. Didn't like walking out the door into smoke. Lots of smokers right out by the doors.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2016 by Heather, Hotel Management
I'm very sorry to hear that our hotel did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your comments as we work to improve our guest experience. I hope you will consider staying with us again the next time your travels bring you to our area.