Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Quaint and classy

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Lovely owner sweetly checked us in and escorted us to our room. Pre-reserved candle-lit dinner was enjoyable, from both the French cuisine and the friendly server. I wish we had had time to wander more of the grounds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

We didn't actually get to stay but. . .

Posted May 3, 2016
We arrived at the Chateau during a rally race where all the streets were blocked. We walked up to the chateau only to find out the owner had emailed Expedia 2 weeks prior to let them know the Chateau would be closed for the race and we wouldn't be staying there that night. The owner was extremely kind of very helpful in finding us a new chateau to stay in and made all the necessary calls and arrangements; we were very sad not to be staying at L'Aubriere but highly recommend from the very helpful staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely old building and grounds food disappointing

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Pros: The building and grounds also the welcome we received
Cons: The standard of food.We are happy to pay the price of a good meal but feel the price charged here is not justified
Location: The Chateaux is just outside a well kept village that we had a pleasant stroll around
Worth staying here for the interesting building and extensive parkland.The owner is very welcoming and I think something of a local character who also does the cooking.After a promise of foi gras as a starter we were very disappointed to see on our plates a small Kilner jar of warm shredded vegetables hidden within was a teaspoonfull of what I think was duck liver together with some small pieces of I think scallops.The main course of roast duck breast was o.k. but hardly sophisticated French cooking.The desert of tart tartin with ice cream and some small pieces of fruit irritatingly served on a roof slate was again o.k. but the meal did not justify the cost of 40Euro plus 10 Euro per person for 2 glasses of local wine.We would certainly not eat here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami ,fl

Nice hotel close to tour and ambroise

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Beautiful place relaxing and pleasant Good location and the lady that in charge of the castle was very nice
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant for overnight stay

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Character
Cons: Qua;ity of dinner
A charming proprietress quickly making us feel at home. The chateau has a faded beauty and far more character than a newer hotel. Evening meal was disappointing but breakfast was fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Great!

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: The grounds, the peacock, the dining room, the countess.
Cons: Well, it has no elevator, but we didn't expect one.
Location: I was there to do research for a novel I am writing about a family from the region. It was a perfect spot.
My experience at the Chateau de l"Aubriere was marred only by the fact that it was not long enough. The countess met us with friendliness and courtesy, make a wonderful recommendation for dinner, and couldn't have been more cordial. The chateau is lovely, though a bit difficult to find. Take a GPS. But we loved the places off-the-beaten track best. A delightful stay and a special experience for my grandson, for whom it was his first time in France.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Lovely chateaux. Convenient location, owner was very friendly and helpful. Fantastic food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lionel from London, UK

Perfect family hotel, or just as a short stay note

Posted Aug 31, 2012
The hotel is a beautiful Chateau with a charming atmosphere. The Comtesse treats all guests as if it was their home for the duration of their stay, with the added enjoyment of the optional 'surprise' supper, personally prepared and served with flair. a most enjoyable stop-over on our way through France, thoroughly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Farnham, Surrey, UK

Quiet and comfortable

Posted Jun 27, 2012
Pros: The peace
Cons: Rather a long way from Tours ( but we knew that already)
Location: Charming littel village
A delightful family-run chateau outside Tours. You would need a car or taxi to get into Tours, but there is plenty of parking. Quiet and peaceful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Mexico City

Wonderful

Posted Aug 11, 2010
Mme Violane not only keeps a place in excellent conditions, but in addiiton will recommend and help in any respect to assure that her guests not only enjoy the Chateau, but also information and brochures in what to do and where to go in the surroundings