Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 2, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Quaint and classy

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Lovely owner sweetly checked us in and escorted us to our room. Pre-reserved candle-lit dinner was enjoyable, from both the French cuisine and the friendly server. I wish we had had time to wander more of the grounds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

We didn't actually get to stay but. . .

Posted May 3, 2016
We arrived at the Chateau during a rally race where all the streets were blocked. We walked up to the chateau only to find out the owner had emailed Expedia 2 weeks prior to let them know the Chateau would be closed for the race and we wouldn't be staying there that night. The owner was extremely kind of very helpful in finding us a new chateau to stay in and made all the necessary calls and arrangements; we were very sad not to be staying at L'Aubriere but highly recommend from the very helpful staff.
5 out of 5
by Takayuki from Osaka

The real Manderley

Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful chateau in a spacious garden. The decoration is excellent. Feels like you are staying in a palace. The hostess was a very social, kind lady (we loved her peacock). Too bad we didn't know about the candle light dinner which had to be ordered two days in advance. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
by james from Naples,Florida

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
Enjoyed our stay very much! The owner was very helpful and cooked a nice 5 course meal served by a very good waiter. Conversation with the owner added our special evening. Only drawback was a broken toilet seat in our room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely old building and grounds food disappointing

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Pros: The building and grounds also the welcome we received
Cons: The standard of food.We are happy to pay the price of a good meal but feel the price charged here is not justified
Location: The Chateaux is just outside a well kept village that we had a pleasant stroll around
Worth staying here for the interesting building and extensive parkland.The owner is very welcoming and I think something of a local character who also does the cooking.After a promise of foi gras as a starter we were very disappointed to see on our plates a small Kilner jar of warm shredded vegetables hidden within was a teaspoonfull of what I think was duck liver together with some small pieces of I think scallops.The main course of roast duck breast was o.k. but hardly sophisticated French cooking.The desert of tart tartin with ice cream and some small pieces of fruit irritatingly served on a roof slate was again o.k. but the meal did not justify the cost of 40Euro plus 10 Euro per person for 2 glasses of local wine.We would certainly not eat here again
4 out of 5
by Jean from Laval

Nice chateau.

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
Chateau was very quite. It is away for the main city of Tours. The owener is a very sweet lady she catered to our every needs. As well she is the chef. And boy can this lady cook well. The pool was a great plus and free parking. She is in a good spot to visit all the near by castles. This region has 72 castles to see. Would recoment to stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami ,fl

Nice hotel close to tour and ambroise

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Beautiful place relaxing and pleasant Good location and the lady that in charge of the castle was very nice
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant for overnight stay

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Character
Cons: Qua;ity of dinner
A charming proprietress quickly making us feel at home. The chateau has a faded beauty and far more character than a newer hotel. Evening meal was disappointing but breakfast was fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Great!

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: The grounds, the peacock, the dining room, the countess.
Cons: Well, it has no elevator, but we didn't expect one.
Location: I was there to do research for a novel I am writing about a family from the region. It was a perfect spot.
My experience at the Chateau de l"Aubriere was marred only by the fact that it was not long enough. The countess met us with friendliness and courtesy, make a wonderful recommendation for dinner, and couldn't have been more cordial. The chateau is lovely, though a bit difficult to find. Take a GPS. But we loved the places off-the-beaten track best. A delightful stay and a special experience for my grandson, for whom it was his first time in France.