Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Golf course Good greens but fairways not great

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: Location, comfort and style
This was a revisit after a number of years. The hotel and facilities, dinner and breakfast, most enjoyable. Room spacious , comfortable in quiet surroundings. Only disappointment was the condition of the golf course.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Praha

Few centuries back

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Restaurant, atmosphere, golf course
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Visit the wineries in the Tours region - some 1000 years old cellars. Loire castles do not need any comment.
This is truly a marvelous castle. Of course, you do not expect air conditioning and have to play with the window shadings. It has a charm and atmosphere and that is what counts in such type of a hotel. Dine in the hotel restaurant and do not look for anything else. The chef is a genius, the lady-waiter helps with the wine choice. If you do not have enough, play golf. It is an easy course, but in beautiful countryside. Nothing to really complain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Beautiful grounds and setting

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: The grounds were beautiful! The staff was very nice.
Cons: The rooms did not have air conditioning. Windows do not have screens to keep bugs out. Pool closed at 6 pm.
Location: The hotel is very near the city of Tours, which was fun to visit and also near various other famous Chateau which we toured e.g. Chateau Chambord
Overall, our experience was very good.The outside and setting of the Chateau is beautiful. It was a wonderful experience staying in the old Chateau building. The rooms/carpets are a little worn but still very comfortable. The restaurant was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal which was delicious and reasonably priced. The staff were very friendly.The only disappointment was that the rooms do not have air conditioning, however, a fan was provided in the room. Fortunately, the evenings were cooler and the fan helped keep the room temperature at a comfortable level but the windows do not have screens so, we kept the lights off as much as possible to prevent attracting bugs. We were also disappointed that the pool closed so early (6 pm). Overall though, it was a wonderful experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jersey

Chateau stay

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
Was a good stay but to far away from anything else near that was open to have casual restaurant meal for second night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Loughborough, UK

Beautiful location and initial impression

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Initial chateau impression and the "round room" in the tower.
Cons: Car parking Internet signal strength Pathways tidied Rooms upgraded Price quite steep particularly as food expensive
Location: Golf at hand but had no time to enjoy the location
Looked impressive but go a little deeper and see the need for attention to detail. The parking was away from the hotel with no disabled parking space. the fact that I had a flat tyre within minutes of leaving indicated the surface of the car park was not good for cars - pebbly. stoney etc. Pathways around the hotel need cleaning up if the beautiful chateau image is to be maintained. Rooms adequate but not brilliant - no shutting out of light or even curtain at the bathroom window. Food very good but expensive. Pool and outside sunbathing excellent Internet reception poor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON

Unique!

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: Loved the old 'chateau' feel! The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was modern. Food was good. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Cons: Our room decor (i.e. carpet) was a little worn-looking. Could be up-dated.
Location: Lots of interesting places to visit (withing driving distance). Definitely need own mode of transportation (and a gps is very helpful).
We loved staying in this chateau! It was an adventure to find it, as it is situated in the countryside, but once we arrived, we really enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

excellent

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
Everything was excellent except there was no mobile signal and the free wifi offered by the hotel was unreliable and mostly absent. Perfect for a run away but if you need contact with the tech world you can forget about it.
5 out of 5
by Mark from Chicago

A Loire Chateau at its best!

Posted Jul 9, 2015 on Hotels
A two day stopover in the Loire region and so glad we did! Excellent location and a beautiful chateau. The children loved the whole experience from the rooms in the turret to the superb pool. Food was excellent as was the service. The golf course was huge and had one of the longest par 5's I've ever played!! If travelling across France then this hotel should be on the "must stay" list.