Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel close to inner city

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Location: Very close to historic buildings and shopping.
We had a lovely experience. We arrived at the hotel after a long day biking (on the Loire a velo route) and were graciously assisted in getting to a room by a very sympathetic receptionist who showed us the biking garage and upgraded our room because we looked so tired. I have nothing but nice things to say.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
location and breakfast was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good hotel in old town

Posted Mar 4, 2017
The room was great with views over the square and a very comfortable bed with good bedlinen. Perfect location in the old town with the tram 2 minutes away and easy walking distance to the cathedral, musee beaux arts and the station. The staff were excellent - very helpful.
4 out of 5
by John

Convenient and cleab

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was accommodating and clean - price was right - however there was NO elevator and we had to climb 5 flights of stairs every time we went in and out / plus bring luggage up ourselves I was very disapppointed about that and feel for people who are handicapped or disabled as it NOT stated anywhere online or website and I think people should be made aware before hand. As far as A European hotel it is what you would expect and very sweet - even the main desk on the 4th flor
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear JOHN, We thank you for giving us your feeling about our hotel, it is an important point to improve our services. We just would like to correct some informations you give : the fact that our hotel is not equipped of any elevator is written on all of our websites (we pay a special attention to that) and it cannot be a surprise at your arrival. We are in a charming building of the old town of Tours and it is not a possibility to install an elevator. That is the same situation for all the other surrounding hotels and for big cities in general. In contrary to what you write, our reception is on the 2nd floor of the building, not on the 4th. We know that it is not always possible to welcome handicapped people and that is the reason why we inform our guests about it. Hoping to see you again, Best Regards Tony
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Jersey

Mind the stairs!

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: The helpful and pleasant reception staff.
Cons: Install a lift! Th hotel might be challenging for anyone who is not fit enough to make the stairs or has mobility problems.
Location: Plenty of shops, cafes and restaurants within a short walking distance.
Parking is difficult as the public car park opposite the hotel is very busy and has a maximum stay of 2 hours up to 18.30. It is free from then until 09.00. Check is is not until 16.00 which ties in well with the car park but not if you want to get checked in and then go off for the rest of the day to explore. Reception is up two floors (4 flights of stairs) then the bedrooms are on the next 2 floors. Our room was on the top floor and there is no lift. The room was pretty basic but clean and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was clean and the shower quite powerful. There were heaters in both the bedroom and bathroom so it was nice and warm. There is no hospitality tray but the receptionist was very helpful and made us a tray of tea to take to our room for a small charge.. Breakfast is good value with a nice selection of cereals, fruit, yogurt, cheeses croissants and bread together with fruit juices, fresh coffee and hot chocolate or teas. Perfectly acceptable for a night stopover.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2017 by TONY, Hotel Management
Dear KIM, We thank you for giving us your feeling about our services. Concerning the parking place, it is a public place which is free from 6.30pm to 9.00am the day after. Our guests usually find a parking place and do not need to ask us a paying private place. There is a few number of hotel that can provide a parking place like ours in Old Tours city. As far as the stairs are concerned, the information is given on all our websites and it cannot be a surprise when arriving. None hotel of the old town is equipped with a lift and it is thye same situation for several hotels in French big cities. Installing a lift is not a possibility for us and it would disrespect our building charm. Hoping to see you again, Best Regards Tony
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Walls too thin!

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Location, staffs, breakfast, WiFi. Location is very central to all. Near lots of restaurants. The small square is very nice. Some rooms can have balcony overlooking the square.
Cons: Walls too thin, hear noises from ceiling and neighboring rooms. No lift, so walk up 2 floors to receptionist.
Location: In the heart of city, near good restaurants, walk from tram stop Anatole
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No elevator, no free parking

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
The parking is in the streets near the hotel - you have to find one by yourself and post for it! No elevator, had to carry our luggage to the 4th floor by ourselves. Great location though.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect spot in city for tourism!

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was good except for the Wc. We could not close the door when we were in it!! The breakfast was excellent and the car parking perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Good location and staff were friendly and helpful.

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Location quiet comfortable and the breakfast was good.
Cons: Nice hotel for a short stay, however air conditioning, tea and coffee making facilities and a small fridge would have made it perfect..
Location: Close to the tramway, shopping and local restaurants and the old part of the city
Nice hotel for a short stay, however air conditioning, tea and coffee making facilities and a small fridge would have made it perfect..
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Great for night on the town and shopping if ur fit

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel, good for a romantic night on the town. Street is a bit noisy though. Bathroom door wouldn't shut properly, and after thinking there would be free parking outside (unavailable due to street market we weren't warned about) we had to drive to a 12 Euro underground facility and walk back. Reception is 2 floors up and our room was on 2nd floor, so you need to be fit and pack light!