Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Jersey

Mind the stairs!

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: The helpful and pleasant reception staff.
Cons: Install a lift! Th hotel might be challenging for anyone who is not fit enough to make the stairs or has mobility problems.
Location: Plenty of shops, cafes and restaurants within a short walking distance.
Parking is difficult as the public car park opposite the hotel is very busy and has a maximum stay of 2 hours up to 18.30. It is free from then until 09.00. Check is is not until 16.00 which ties in well with the car park but not if you want to get checked in and then go off for the rest of the day to explore. Reception is up two floors (4 flights of stairs) then the bedrooms are on the next 2 floors. Our room was on the top floor and there is no lift. The room was pretty basic but clean and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was clean and the shower quite powerful. There were heaters in both the bedroom and bathroom so it was nice and warm. There is no hospitality tray but the receptionist was very helpful and made us a tray of tea to take to our room for a small charge.. Breakfast is good value with a nice selection of cereals, fruit, yogurt, cheeses croissants and bread together with fruit juices, fresh coffee and hot chocolate or teas. Perfectly acceptable for a night stopover.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2017 by TONY, Hotel Management
Dear KIM, We thank you for giving us your feeling about our services. Concerning the parking place, it is a public place which is free from 6.30pm to 9.00am the day after. Our guests usually find a parking place and do not need to ask us a paying private place. There is a few number of hotel that can provide a parking place like ours in Old Tours city. As far as the stairs are concerned, the information is given on all our websites and it cannot be a surprise when arriving. None hotel of the old town is equipped with a lift and it is thye same situation for several hotels in French big cities. Installing a lift is not a possibility for us and it would disrespect our building charm. Hoping to see you again, Best Regards Tony
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Walls too thin!

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Location, staffs, breakfast, WiFi. Location is very central to all. Near lots of restaurants. The small square is very nice. Some rooms can have balcony overlooking the square.
Cons: Walls too thin, hear noises from ceiling and neighboring rooms. No lift, so walk up 2 floors to receptionist.
Location: In the heart of city, near good restaurants, walk from tram stop Anatole
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Good location and staff were friendly and helpful.

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Location quiet comfortable and the breakfast was good.
Cons: Nice hotel for a short stay, however air conditioning, tea and coffee making facilities and a small fridge would have made it perfect..
Location: Close to the tramway, shopping and local restaurants and the old part of the city
Nice hotel for a short stay, however air conditioning, tea and coffee making facilities and a small fridge would have made it perfect..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Good Location

Posted May 19, 2016
Pros: Breakfast, location.
Cons: Reception downstairs. Staff to help carry suitcases.
Location: It's in the heart of town two blocks from the river, five blocks from Place Plumereau.
This hotel is located in the heart of Tours and convenient walking distance to all the downtown sights. It is on a little square with lots of parking space. There are many good restaurants nearby. The down side is that you have to go up two floors with luggage to get to the reception and there is no elevator. The manager was helpful. The room was very small as was the bathroom - bed not very comfortable. The breakfast was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stroud, England

Initial view concerning; inside fine

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: Good central location but pretty quiet. The full breakfast option was fine. The room was clean and comfortable. Pretty good value for money.
Cons: Hopefully the stair carpet will be replaced with the other renovation work, No air con.
Location: Close to the old town and river (where there is a nice boat trip). A good area for hiring bikes. A wide range of French and ethnic eating places
As we approached we saw a building in a poor state. The ground floor was being radically renovated and looked almost derelict but entering the building at the side, the parts still in use were fine, including our room and the dining room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location to explore Tours!

Posted May 3, 2015
Pros: Very close to the river which looks amazing at sunset!
Charming hotel that was a perfect home base to see Tours! The rooms and reception are on the 2nd floor (2 flights) without an elevator but the gentleman helped me with my bags. The room was quite big and the shower was great. Breakfast was a nice, standard French selection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Comfort central

Posted May 3, 2010
This hotel is much, much better than an 2 star. Other than the fact that you have to hike up 2 storeys to get to the reception area (not fabulous if you have big suitcases) and then maybe another storey to your room, this place has a great location close to the main shopping strip and very close to the old town where you'll find plenty of restaurants and cafes. Even the square surrounding where it's at has a few decent places to dine. I stayed for 4 nights and didn't have their breakfast, but from others I heard it was decent. The room I had was lovely and I loved the decor and view from my window. The bathroom was always spotless and the lady at the reception desk was friendly and helpful at all times. The train and bus station is only a 5-10 minute walk depending on how fast you are, so it's a great base to explore the chateaux in the region if you're not travelling by car (that's only if there isn't a train strike!). I'd definitely come back again, but next time I'll pack light!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from France

Hôtel accueillant

Posted Oct 18, 2015
Hôtel accueillant, personnel à l'écoute, propre rien à redire
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2015 by Cyril, Hotel Management
Bonjour Madame, Merci pour votre message très agréable. Cordialement, Cyril
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marseille

deplacement professionnel

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Pros: la gentillesse et la disponibilité du personnel. L'emplacement
Cons: l'éuqipement des chambres ( la télé!!).
J'ai séjourné dans cet hôtel 4 nuits. C'était un voayge à titre professionnel. Le soir, avec la fatigue de toute la journée du travail, je souhaitais me reposer en regardant la télé. Malheursement la majorité des chaînes n'étaient pas accessibles. Très decevant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Niederösterreich, Österreich

Angenehmes Hotel in bester Lage

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: zentrale Lage, verkehrsfern, sauber
Cons: für diese Art, diesen Typ Hotel passt eigentlich im Großen und Ganzen alles
Location: zentral, alles erreichbar
Direkt im Stadtzentrum, alles zu Fuß erreichbar, sehr nett und sauber. Jedoch nichts für Menschen mit Mobilitätsproblemen, da im 2. Stock, kein Lift und lediglich über schmales Stiegenhaus zu erreichen. Auch Lärmempfindliche mögen sich am nächtlichen Treiben reiben - die Jugend ist halt in der Stadt unterwegs -, dafür praktisch kein Verkehr. Nettes Team, hilfreich, Rezeption allerdings nur zu bestimmten Zeiten besetzt. Für mich optimal, Menschen, die oben genannte Gegebenheiten nicht wollen, suchen sich eher etwas anderes.