Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely quiet hotel

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is well situated in Chinon. You can walk anywhere from there. Plenty of restaurants, cafés, shops Parking is on the town main square just opposite the hotel.
4 out of 5
by Weldon from Montana, USA

Golden Lion has a warm glow.

Posted Jul 17, 2015 on Hotels
Six of us stayed at Le Lion d'Or. We had two rooms both of which were spacious and comfortable. One room was recently renovated while the other looked tired and in need of renovation. So it was quite a difference between the two in appearance. Yet both had comfortable beds. There was also a large free parking lot in front of the hotel which was convenient unlike some other properties. This is in France and unfortunately our French was minimal though so was most of the staff's English. However, they were all friendly and extremely accommodating. This is a nice little hotel and would recommend it to friends. My only complaint is there was no elevator and one of our party could have used one. Be aware if your party has mobility issues.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great price for a large room

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Nice hotel, nice breakfast at a good price. Great choice for families.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2015 on Hotels
We booked this place at the last minute upon arrival in town. Hotel is 134 years old. Rooms are tiny but clean. Front desk personnel was friendly and helpful (translated a phone call in French for us with another hotel.). Breakfast was included and very good. Close to all the attractions and restaurants.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great overnight in Chinon

Posted Jul 1, 2015 on Hotels
Perfect stop for an overnight stay in Chinon.Great location very near to the river and free parking just outside. Very good value and would definitely stay again. Late checkin and check out til midday also useful.
4 out of 5
by john tromans from west midlands

great one night stay

Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels
rooms ok stayed one night easy for parking car rooms clean and tidy good location and easy to find overall good hotel food fairly well priced
4 out of 5
by Col from Nantwich

Great location in lovely town

Posted Sep 15, 2014 on Hotels
The location of the hotel was excellent for exploring Chinon. There is a large free carpark directly opposite the hotel, so no problem with car-parking. Our room was lovely and clean, with a comfy bed which was all we required as we were out every day and evening. We were in room 8 which we believe was located above the kitchen area. The hotel 'woke up' at approx 6.30 am and there was plenty of noise from this time onwards. As most rooms appeared to surround a courtyard area, we suspect that most occupants would be aware of any noise, especially as there was no air conditioning and it was warm, so necessary to sleep with the window open. The hotel information suggests that there is soundproofing between rooms, but the occupant next door was fairly audible on the odd occasion. We did however thoroughly enjoy our stay and we would return as we like a clean functional room which this was. We just wouldn't attempt to have a sleep in!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Lie-in in Chinon

Posted Sep 11, 2014 on Hotels
A nice hotel in a slightly seedy neighborhood with free parking across the street in a public Cinon city lot. Internet is terrible but the breakfast is a good value The place definitely needs an elevator. If you are there for the Chinon Castle, you can save yourself some uphill climbing by walking to the free elevator that takes people from the "medieval" part of the city to the castle in a few seconds.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Two flights of stairs with luggage is too much.

Posted Jun 17, 2014
It was a big climb with no assistance. This hotel needs a lift.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Fits the bill

Posted Oct 2, 2011 on Hotels
Cycling holiday stop over, great location and everything needed to hand. Friendly helpful staff-happy to recommend